Here Are Your Top 25 Comics for March 2010

Posted: April 15, 2010 in Top 25 Comics, Top 300 Comics
Tags:

What a sad month for comic sales, huh? The Top 25 consists of 5 Amazing Spider-Man books (5!!!!!), 3 Brian Bendis, 2 Mark Millar, 2 Jeph Loeb and 1 from Tony Daniel. Now, I’m not having a go at Amazing Spider-Man but come on. 5 spots taken up by one book? It’s a bit much.

The bright spot of the month? Dynamite’s Green Hornet book landing at #20. It’s always good to see an independent publisher up that high. The shit spot of the month? Nemesis cracking the Top 25. What the fuck is wrong with people?

Have any thoughts on the list?

J.

1. Blackest Night #8
2. Siege #3
3. Green Lantern #52
4. Batman and Robin #10
5. Green Lantern Corps #46
6. New Avengers #63
7. Dark Avengers #15
8, Ultimate Comics New Ultimates #1
9. Uncanny X-Men #522
10. Amazing Spider-Man #623
11.X-Men Second Coming #1
12.Thor #608 SIEGE
13. Batman #697
14. Amazing Spider-Man #624
15. Ultimate Comics Avengers #5
16. Captain America #604
17. Justice League of America #43
18. Amazing Spider-Man #627
19. Amazing Spider-Man #625
20. Kevin Smith’s Green Hornet #1
21. Amazing Spider-Man #626
22. Nemesis #1
23. Mighty Avengers #34
24. Hulk #21
25. Justice League Rise & Fall Special #1

Top 300 Comics Actual-March 2010/ICv2

Comments
  1. tomstewdevine says:

    DC holding 4 of the top 5 spots.

  2. Dan Griffin says:

    Green Hornet: Year One #1 at 99, now that’s some bullshit. That comic was amazing.

  3. Matthew Guy (mguy1977) says:

    Of the top 25 I bought, Blackest Night 8, GL/GLC & the lackluster JLA (giving it to issue 50 since a JLA/JSA crossover is upcoming) & back on Batman starting w/ this issue to see who was the Black Mask. From Marvel, all 5 Amazing Spider-Man (lowers my head down waiting for Jose to hit me w/ a newspaper (or worse)), X-Men Second Coming One-Shot & Uncanny X-Men.

    Matthew

  4. cballsack says:

    Poor Wizards Of Mickey #2.

  5. cballsack says:

    Who’s that guy in the yellow in the upper left hand corner? Looks kinda like Ron Jeremy.

  6. Venom829 says:

    At least Siege was blown out of the water by Blackest Night (like it or not).

  7. Iqy says:

    There’s a lot marvel books but spiderman has been usually good in quality and if there’s an arc you don’t like you can just a week or two rather than wait for three months

  8. TheMSpot says:

    Like the fact that Batman and Robin #10 is in the top five whereas Tony Daniel Batman did not even made the top ten. I think it reinforces the idea that (I will say) 80% of the industry is flooded with shit, 10% good or solid, and another 10% great and award-winning (you decide what goes where). Also, for some ungodly reason event books sell.

    • tomstewdevine says:

      They sell because if you like reading superhero comics, and want to know what important stuff will be affecting your particular superhero, you have to buy the event, or else you would be lost. That’s why I do it at least, but I’m not happy with it, I wish I could say I will never buy another event book, but that would be a lie.

      • TheMSpot says:

        Granted, I will probably pick up Brightest Day #1 just to pick up a #1 to satisfy the collector side of my brain which I hate but feel conpelled to do so. If it was important to my particular superhero then they would put the story in the regular series not a six issue mini with a one shot that tells you the ending before issue six comes out. And that mini series event doesn’t stand on it’s own unless you have read the previous issues in the regular series that lead up to the event in order to understand certain plot points that are exposed in the mini came from in the first place (now I’m ranting, and now I’ve gone cross eyed).

        • Morlock50 says:

          No fucking way I’m getting Brighest Day, though. I’m completely burnt on Geoff John’s shit except for Secret Origin at this point. I mean, that’s $8 a month in addition to my regular pull list? I don’t care what’s going down in BD, I’m done.

      • ...dj...sweet says:

        You are completely wrong! You can find out EVERYTHING that happens in an Event online and skip spending money on shit you are only getting to “be connected” to your particular universe. Take heed from everyones favorite crackhead Flava Flav “Don’t believe the hype!”

  9. Pobra says:

    I really don’t mind seeing ASM take up that many spots. The Joe Kelly issues were fucking awesome and the Waid and Stern issues were really good too. The only low points in ASM lately have been the Van Lente and Guggenheim stuff. I really don’t care for either of those lads, especially Guggenheim. The majority of his superhero stuff is just garbage. Take them out of the equation and Amazing Spider-Man is an extremely solid book at the moment.

    • TheMSpot says:

      I enjoyed Kelly’s issues as well especially the two Rhino stories.

    • Don’t forget about Dan Slott! He’s the best ASM writer currently IMO. How has the Roger Stern issues been? I’ve read his ASM stuff and I really enjoyed it.

      • littlekingryan* says:

        I thought his first issue with the Juggernaut story was pretty cool. Kind of a throwback in tone. The Lee Weeks art was solid. I give it a B- personally.

      • Iqy says:

        Really? I find him the most boring writer on ASM, Kelly and van lente are the best writers on spiderman by a long mile

        • littlekingryan* says:

          well fine then be that way 😉

          • Locusmortis says:

            Stern is a great writer, a lot of guys in the industry now could learn a thing or two about pacing from him.

            • Morlock50 says:

              Definately. Stern is one of the best. Put him next to Len Wein, Roy Thomas, Gerry Conway, Steve Englehart, and Chris Claremont before he fell the fuck off.

        • ...dj...sweet says:

          There were old school tones from a man trained to make a book accessible for someone picking up their very first comic. The pacing was great, and the ending was a great one! I didn’t see it coming and it works perfectly. The art was some of the best I’ve ever seen on the book. I like his Spidey better than the way JRjr draws him currently. Try it!

      • Pobra says:

        Sorry, thought I had Slott in there. He’s actually my favorite Spidey scribe right now. But those Joe Kelly Rhino issues were absolutely fantastic.

  10. Rob F says:

    The only sour thing about Green Hornet is that Dynamite seems to be relying too much on the Kevin Smith name…

    • generaldark says:

      i dont see what the big deal is bout kevin smith

      • littlekingryan* says:

        Me neither…i always found his movies entertaining, if not great. But I’ve never been a fan of his comic work. I still find that first Daredevil arc he did with Quesada (Guardian Devil or something like that) all but unreadable. And The Evil That Men Do was lopsided and self-important, among other issues. I did give his new Green Hornet a try, though, and I thought it was pretty good. Nothing spectacular, but a generally entertaining read.

        • tomstewdevine says:

          I actually love his movies, but his comics, not so much. I feel like (on batman anyway) if it were any other writer handing in these scripts there is no way they would be approved by any editor, but since it smith, its no problem.

          • kurumais says:

            i really liked KS’s green arrow i thought his daredevil was an atrocious rip off/retelling of frank millars born again
            the first batman mini was ok passed on 2nd one i was cutting back and art didnt do it for me

            dogma is one of my all time favorite movies

            • littlekingryan* says:

              Sounds like we agree on his DD… I might have to check out his Green Arrow, though, I have heard good things and this has piqued my interest.
              Couldn’t do the Batman minis myself, art was amateurish but it was Smith’s buddy Walt Flanagan so what do you expect, i guess.

          • littlekingryan* says:

            He gets the “Hollywood treatment” in other words… I feel ya.

        • Deemar says:

          His Green Arrow is good until the end at least

  11. Youtube is being a butthead… AGAIN. SURPRISE!!!

    Apparently I have to download a new Flash player and every time I try to go to the website it never takes me there…

  12. kurumais says:

    im not a top guy i only read 6 of the top 25

  13. DidioForever says:

    Speaking as someone who hasn’t missed a single issue since OMD, ASM finally selling consistently well again SHOULD be good news for me, but as you can see this is what happens when something sells well at Marvel – they just squeeze out more of the same product as much as they think they can get away with.

    March hurt the wallet A LOT, especially as it followed 3 consecutive weeks in Feb – That’s 8 issues of ASM in a row – with random issues occasionally getting the £3.99 price tag. Now although the Rhino and Morbius issues were brilliant, and I love the title in general, I don’t love it THAT much.

    I’m looking forward to O.M.I.T. now, just because it’ll act as a nice ‘bookend’ for my collection enabling me to take a well-earned vacation from the Spiderman family of books, and Marvel in general.

    I’ve had enough of Quesada constantly treating my fandom/loyalty like a pinata stuffed with cash

  14. aidan mc irish says:

    6 out of ten marvel for the win

Leave a Reply

