The Blog Post in Which I Talk About C2E2

Posted: April 19, 2010 in Blogging, Boom! Studios, CCW Nation, Dark Horse, Geek Culture, Image, Life, Marvel, Oni Press, Photos
Tags:

I really do hate conventions. Ok, maybe “hate” is too strong of a word. Hmmm…how about “don’t really care for”? Ya, that sounds a bit better. I don’t really care for conventions. There was a time where I used to count down the days but not so much anymore. I think a lot of that has to do with the fact the ever since Wizard bought the Chicago Comic-Con it has been shit. For almost a decade now that convention has indeed been shit and has gotten worse and worse every year. Last year was the first time in over 20 years that I didn’t go to the Chicago Comic-Con as a fan or a retailer. Wizard has killed any excitement that I once had for comic conventions. After attending the C2E2 con last weekend I can now change “has killed any excitement” to “had killed any excitement”. Why? Because C2E2 has brought back those feelings of excitement I once had for comic conventions.

I have to stress that this was a COMIC convention. Not one of those multimedia affairs that Wizard cons have turned into. Ya, there were some movie people there (from Carrie Fisher to the cast of Kick Ass) but the amount of industry professionals that were at the show was astounding. I couldn’t walk 10 feet in Artist Alley without seeing an artist whose work I have not enjoyed. Artists like Tony Harris, Michael Golden, Adam Hughes, Eric Canete, Jimmy Cheung, Amanda Conner, Jimmy Palmiotti, Terry and Rachel Dodson, Ron Garney, Jonathan Hickman, Mike Mignola, Art Baltazar, Geof Darrow, Jill Thompson, Gail Simone, Doug Mahnke, Patrick Gleason, Stephane Roux and too many more too name. Serouisly, I don’t remember the last time I saw these many great artists at a Chicago convention.

The convention hall itself was quite nice. The entire floor was covered in nice, plush carpet. There were also windows going all the was a round the top of the room letting in sunlight as well as showing off the great Chicago city skyline. This is is stark contrast to where Wizard holds it’s conventions here. The exhibit hall at Wizorld World has no natural light coming in what so ever and it feels and smells like your in somebody’s basement. One other noticeable difference the C2E2 exhibit hall had was the the aisles were nice and wide. I can not tell you how fucking nice it was not to be literally bumping into people every 2 seconds like at Wizard World.

There were not as many dealers there as previous conventions I’ve been too but I rarely buy anything at cons anymore so that didn’t bother me. I do wish there had been some more import (Japanese toys mainly) dealers there but that’s just me. As for the comic company booths I took some pictures which you can find down below. Most of you who get out to conventions will find the pics a little boring but I did want to give our readers who don’t get to cons often a sense of what they can expect to find there.

On a personal note I would like to thank all the people who came up to me to tell me they enjoy CCW TV. I truly wasn’t expecting to get recognized but it really was nice talking to you guys. The highlight of the convention for me was when I went over to the Image booth to meet Ryan Ottley and found out that he watches our little show and he had some nice things to say about it. If you guys ever get a chance to pick up Ottley’s sketchbook at a con I recommend you do so. It is quite amazing.

So, ya, overall I would have to say that C2E2 was a very, very pleasant experience and really can’t wait for to come back next year.

J.

Comments
  1. Mike F says:

    Great pics! Man I wish I could of been there. Looks like a great time πŸ™‚

  2. Pobra says:

    Glad to hear you had a good time J. I honestly wasn’t expecting that!

  3. Venom829 says:

    The one that stood out the most was probably the ’66 batmobile.

  4. SMARTASS8 says:

    Now I kinda wish I had gone. I was thinking about it since it would have been cool to have been at the ground floor of a possible big Con for Chicagoland, but of the few friends I have that like comics, they either didn’t want to go or were helping out at a booth.

    I love the picture of “sunburned Mario” with Avi. Now everytime I see Sinestro in a comic, I’m going to hear “It’sa me, Mario!” in my head. LOL!

  5. littlekingryan* says:

    Man, I’m so envious! Especially your comments about Artist Alley. I would have severed my pinkie (on the left hand of course, I need my right hand, it’s my bread and butter–and not for that so get your mind out of the gutter) to have been able to go see and speak to those guys and hit them up for critiques and generally just meet these people with which I aspire to be colleagues… Hopefully you’ll see me there next year. This sounds like a great one to attend.

  6. cballsack says:

    That Mojo costume is a trip.

  7. Deemar says:

    Freaking awesome pic J

    That Mojo guy is sweet, how the hell did he walk in that thing?

  8. Deemar says:

    Heh..

    I figured, so you had Avi there with ya, always good too see the big guy

  9. IronMuskrat says:

    Looks like you had a good time there Jose, I wish I could have made it down there, perhaps next year I can make the time. I want to make it to a big comic con in the next few years outside of my state and think c2e2 is the place to go.

    I will try to make it to the Motor City Comic Con this year in Michigan, but it doesn’t get the big players there(DC and Marvel) like c2e2 does.

    Although I see that John Layman and Rob Gillory are scheduled to be there, So at least two of my favorite comic guys will be there.

    I would go to Youmacon 2010 in Detroit this year, but I think I would get strange looks form the Cosplayers =)

    IM

  10. tomstewdevine says:

    Sick, I wish I could have been there.

  11. JMenjivar says:

    wow, ryan ottley recognized you!

    jose ‘hollywood’ melendez has made it.

  12. kurumais says:

    thats a great picture of aviand sinestro he looks like he is having a blast
    i really like the cosplayers they make a con visit more fun
    glad you guys had a good time and ccw got some love
    what sketch did you get from ryan ottley?

  13. Mattcd42 says:

    Man that looks awesome. I was busy at Comicfest down in Denver. But good times.

Leave a Reply

