Ironmuskrat does most of the heavy lifting in this Capsule Reviews post while I just pretty much throw in a quick two cents worth in an attempt to get back on the review wagon.

Rating System:
**** : Excellent
*** : Good
** : Fair
* : Poor
Zero : Horseshit

Avengers vs. Atlas #4 (of 4)

I have been really enjoying this mini from Jeff Parker and Gabriel Hardman. Nonstop action and lots of clever dialog from Parker, It was just a good old fashion, fun comic. However, I hate to say it, but the last issue was by far the weakest for me, not to say it wasn’t good, it just wasn’t as fun as the previous books. The big problem was Parker reached the end of the mini series and found himself having to explain just what the hell was going on in last four books. That lead to a lot of talking and not much action, with the brains of the Avengers and Atlas (Giant-Man, Marvel Boy) talking about the nature of the Temporal Virus and how to stop it, with everyone else just standing around looking on. It doesn’t help that our heroes are dealing with alternate time-lines and time travel, all things that don’t lend themselves to quick or easy explanations. I almost wish Parker had not made such an effort to tie the plot lines up and just left things to our imagination. Still, I enjoyed the series overall and I am looking forward the Atlas relaunch next month.

Rating: ** for this issue, **** for the series overall – IM

REBELS #15

This issue deals with the aftermath of the Staro invasion and finds Despero being hailed as a hero who stopped Staro. On the other, hand Vril Dox is vilified as the cause of the invasion in the first place. A pretty good issue that is mostly set up for future story lines. Dox has to find a new place to call home due to the fact everyone in that part of the galaxy wants to kill him, Staro finds that he still has allies loyal to him without being mind controlled and Starfire shows up to visit the Vega system and ends up making an amazing discovery. Tony Bedard writes some good moments here. One being where Dox is almost speechless that he isn’t being recognized as the hero he feels he is. And another where we see Starfire’s sadness at what happened to her home world and how much things have changed in Vega system. I guess the only part of the book I didn’t like was Staro’s fate, I sort of had to roll my eyes at that one, but I guess you can’t let a good villain go to waste. Oh! and I know how much you like redheads Jose and there is a very nice cheesecake shot of Starfire in this one from St. Aubin.

Rating: ** – IM

Brave and the Bold #33

I know I criticized JMS on the last issue of B & B for moving away from examining the inner thinking and personal conflicts of the heroes and sticking to a more impersonal storyline. I wanted to see into the minds of our heroes as they struggled to make tough choices about fighting crime and even about their own mortality. Well, all I can say is J. Michael Straczynski hits this one out of the park, he creates a powerful story about fate, love and trying to do the best thing you can to help someone even though you are helpless to really help them in the ways you wish you could. The story seems like a simple one, Zatanna convinces Wonder Woman and Batgirl (Barbara Gordon) to head out on the town for a girls night out. Zatanna has a secret motive for this night on the town however that will affect the life of one of our heroes forever. I won’t spoil the story if you haven’t read it yet, but JMS writes a story that is funny, sexy and terribly sad at the same time. This is by far my favorite Brave and the Bold story by JMS so far. Straczynski does in this issue what he has been excelling so far on his run on the Brave and the Bold, taking heroes and putting them in tough spots and letting the readers follow along as our heroes agonize over life changing decisions. No Jesus Saiz this week, but Cliff Chiang has a somewhat similar style and does a good job bringing this story to life. I don’t know what else to say about this book, it really knocked my socks off.

Rating: **** -IM

Joe the Barbarian #4

Well, we are at the halfway point here on Grant Morrison mini and I can honestly say I am still not sure what is going on… well, that is not entirely true. This issue actually explains pretty much everything that is going on with Joe and the two worlds he finds himself bouncing between. I guess I should say I don’t care about the overall plot right now because I am so fascinated by the world that Morrison has created here and the very cool characters that inhabit it. Sean Murphy does such an amazing job on the art I find myself getting lost in the beauty of his artwork. I think this a case where the fantasy world Joe finds himself swallows the storyline whole and makes it take a backseat to the visuals. I don’t want to sell Morrison short on his storytelling, but right now I find myself appreciating the artwork more than what is going on with Joe’s personal life or the whole forces of good battling a rising evil that threatens the land storyline. I know I will go back and reread the whole series after all eight issues come out and pay more attention to the story. For now I will be content with visions of aerial battles with flying stingrays and a Leonardo Di Vinici flying machine.

Rating: *** – IM

American Vampire #2

I told myself ‘No more vampires!’ I am so tired of them and all the Emo crap that seems to be attached to them these days. Pop culture in the past 20 years have cut the nuts off of the once proud creatures of darkness and turned them into fodder for silly teenager dramas. But I can admit that American Vampire comes out of the gate firing on all cylinders. I like the way Scott Snyder and Stephen King are taking a genre that I thought was played out and breathing new life into it. Vampires are back to being brutal killing machines that not only want to drink your blood, but they want to take your money too while they’re at it. Most of the vampires so far appear to be of European origin and want to forge a business empire in the United States. The star of this book so far is Skinner Sweet, he appears to be the first American born vampire created by accident and is very different from his European counterparts. For one thing they hate each other with a passion and Skinner appears to working against their interests in America. That is not to say he is a hero, Sweet is a murdering, amoral outlaw at heart and his motives for his actions are not clear at this time, but I doubt he is acting out of any kindness in his heart.

Once again the book is split into two parts, that take place about 40 years apart. The first story is written by Scott Snyder. Snyder’s story once again deals with a young actress named Pearl, who finds herself surviving (or not surviving) a feeding frenzy from our European Vamps. She is helped by Skinner Sweet, for reasons that are unknown at this time. The second story is by Stephen King and deals with the early days of Skinner Sweet life as a new created vampire. Scott Snyder again has the better of the two stories this time around, but in King’s defense he is left with mostly the background story of Skinner to write and I get the feeling King’s half of the story will start to get better as he fills in more details of Sweet’s life. Rafael Albuquerque does a very job as the artist on this book, bring the story to life and making the vampires (especially Skinner) savage creatures that jump out at you from the page. I will be certainly be picking this book in the future to see just what that evil little shit Skinner is up to.

Rating: *** -IM

Brightest Day #0

Not a very good start. The Hawkman and Hawkgirl dialogue alone almost killed this issue for me. Maxwell Lord making (almost) everyone on the planet forget about him and what he did? Really? Didn’t DC already do a mind wipe story this decade? And Hawk is now DC’s version of Wolverine?

I did like the Martian Manhunter scene as well as the Jade/Kyle Rayner bit. I am really interested in knowing who wrote what in this issue between Geoff Johns and Peter Tomasi. The art was decent enough.

Rating: ** -J.

Doc Savage #1

How this comic got the “OK” to be published mystifies me. This is the first issue to a new series for a character that most new readers aren’t familiar with so it should be solid right from the get go. At times it felt that the dialog presented on certain pages didn’t really correspond with anything that was going on and it really was just a jumbled, unreadable mess. And what the hell happened to Howard Porter’s art? He is much better than this. I think I’ll just stick with the main First Wave book for now.

Rating: ½* – J.

Flash #1

Now this was a surprise. After not being very impressed with the cliché ridden Flash: Rebirth and not being a very big fan of Francis Manpul’s art I was expecting to completely dislike this book. That did not happen. This issue was a fun read and Manapul’s art suited it very well. Johns does a good job of (re)introducing the supporting characters for this title as well as keeping a good pace to the story. And the 25th century’s version of the Rogues? Did not see that coming and I thought it was pretty cool.

How can this be? I enjoyed a Geoff Johns book? I thought I was supposed to hate him (according to some CCW viewers)?

Rating: *** – J.

Ultimate Comics Avengers #6

For fuck’s sake. After five and half issues of nonstop killing, implied sexual assault and a baby getting thrown out a window Mark Millar expects readers to sympathize with the Red Skull? Yes, apparently the Red Skull just wanted the Cosmic Cube so he could use it to go back into time and make sure Steve Rogers (his daddy) came back home from World War II so he could have a family and a happy childhood.

This has got to be the most ridiculous, lazy ass storytelling I have seen in quite some time. At no point in the entire series did the Skull come off as being conflicted about what he was doing. At no point did the reader want to feel sympathy for this character. But on his death bed he lays out what his true intention was all along and the reader is supposed to just fucking buy it? And then if the reader does sympathize with the Skull and believes “Gee, I guess me wasn’t a bad guy after all” Millar has the Red Wasp shoot him in the head, killing him. “But he just misunderstood this whole time! You didn’t have to kill him, you bitch!“ might think said reader. WTF.

Again, tragedy is being forced into a story to get the reader to empathize (right before smacking them in the face mind you) without any substance or context. The decent (if not at times just painfully boring) art of Carlos Pacheco helps this comic gain a half star.

Rating: 1/2* – J.

Comments
  1. Deemar says:

    I gotta differ on AvsA it was a really enjoyable read, mind you I’ve followed Agents of Atlas from day one so I’m biased.

    But Musky your more right than wrong. Still reading rest of reviews

  2. Friedmiester says:

    Tony Bedard didn’t write Brightest Day #0, that would be Peter Tomasi. Bedard wrote Countdown though.

  3. Mike F says:

    Flash #1 = More Cliche shit from Johns. Jesus, it’s never gonna end. In his mind, comics are one way “I’m good your evil, lets do business!” Sorry but I have no interest in Geoff Johns anymore, or any ridiculous 25th century rogues nonsense. Thank God for D-Gray man, otherwise I’d have nothing left in my life right now.

    Other than that disagreement, I’d say these reviews were spot on guys. Funny how Blair Butler went on about how Millar’s best work is with these Avenger comics. I had to laugh out loud when she said it.

    • Venom829 says:

      Ouch!

    • Ya, her reviews have been getting more suspect with each passing day. Any bets on whether or not she’ll be writing a book for Marvel by year’s end?

      J.

      • Venom829 says:

        If she keeps that up, than she probably will be co-writing books with Bendis.

      • Mike F says:

        I wouldn’t be surprised. She Loves Bendis, loves Millar, loves Loeb, Loves just about anything Marvel puts out. She said Firestar (?) was the best Woman Marvel comic. But CBR said it was bad so… I’m starting to wonder if she’s even reading them or just praising them for Marvel’s sake…

        (I actually didn’t think the Flash was awful, but I expected A LOT more to be clear.)

      • Deemar says:

        Girl Comics part 2

        It seems to be the nature of the beast with review shows, get a exclusive interview with a creator and they own you.

        I listen to Wordballoon sometimes you can just feel John Suintres wanting to call bullshit on Bendis or Loeb. Yet he’s beholden to them if he wants those interviews.

        John Suintres “Dying on the Inside since 2005”

      • SMARTASS8 says:

        There is no critic that I agree with all the time. I usually only keep coming back if they are knowledgable, don’t have some hidden agenda, and their reviews are intelligently written/voiced & entertaining. I don’t find that with G4’s resident member of the Booster Gold Fan Club.

        • “I usually only keep coming back if they are knowledgeable, don’t have some hidden agenda, and their reviews are intelligently written/voiced & entertaining.”

          This actually makes me feel pretty good since you do comment on here quite a bit. I was going to make some self deprecating joke like “Then why are you on this site?” but thought I would voice my appreciation instead.

          J.

          • SMARTASS8 says:

            J, I know you don’t think so, but I actually agree with you more often than not. I just find it more fun to vent on things I dislike than say, “you’re right, that’s a great book”. Now Elliott, on the other hand, I vehemently disagree with. Dammit, man! MEN ARE SUPPOSED TO WEAR PANTS IN PUBLIC!!!

    • TheGateJester says:

      Ya the way she talks about Bendis would make you think she likes more than just his writing.

  4. Venom829 says:

    I thnk that Francis Manuapal just knocked the ball out of the park on Flash. Most artists make hot comic chicks look hot, but with FM, the way he dreww Iris, she just looked naturally beautiful, which is what you don’t see much of, and it was just amazing art. (This comment was based just on the preview)

  5. TheGateJester says:

    Pretty much feel the same on the reviews except I probably would have rated AvsAA 1 star higher as well as REBELS, but just like Deemar I have been reading both series since day one so I am biased as well.

  6. Deemar says:

    J Howard Porter was in a accident that damaged his drawing hand, that’s why he walked away from comics for awhile to recover and learn to draw again. Pretty amazing story, I feel for that guy.

    • I know about that but since his comeback he has done much better work then this issue of Doc Savage.

      J.

      • Deemar says:

        Maybe he’s still not at 100%

      • SMARTASS8 says:

        I was so excited for the First Wave books but I’m one book away from dropping the line. So cool an idea but such a failure so far. I was hoping a Shadow book might happen but I wouldn’t be surprised if this line dies quicker than the Red Circle books.

        • Locusmortis says:

          The art on Doc Savage was horrible. I’m sorry for what happened to him before but this just wasn’t good at all. DC are paying for the Doc Savage licence so I don’t know why they’d put out a disappointing first issue like this.

        • Deemar says:

          Red Circle Epic failure and Milestone ain’t faring well either.

          Why buy all these properties and not develope them properly with top talent?

          • SMARTASS8 says:

            While I still feel Red Circle was a failure more due to lack of sales than quality(they weren’t the best books DC was putting out, but they weren’t awful either imho), what happened with Milestone fills me with a level of anger usually reserved for JoeyQ’s Marvel. I loved Milestone as a kid(although, since I’m white I probably shouldn’t have been reading them. LOL!) and was so excited that the line was coming back. From what I understand, the only reason DC bought it was so they could have Static. While I like Static, I’m a bigger fan of Icon & Rocket, Hardware, and Xombi. Seeing what DC did to the covers and editing of the Milestone Forever miniseries makes it seem like they wanted the line to fail before it even started again.

            • Deemar says:

              Dude comics regardless of the color of the hero is for everybody, I wouldn’t read comics at all if that was the case.

              I know you said it in jest but that kinda bothered me, especially with the failure of Brother voodoo, Blue Beetle II and any number of minority and ethnic characters.

              On to your point, it did seem DC didn’t think Milestone was a priority, but I also have to ask the question. Do name talent in the industry in general shy away from minority characters?

              Love of hate Bendis he’s the only top tier writer I can name who really put time and energy into a black character to make him at least viable if not A level.

              Just think what say Grant Morrison or Millar (lord forgive me) could do with Blade, White TigerI or Living Lighting? Yet you don’t see attention brought to those heroes with the urgency of a Daredevil or Ironfist.

              If DC really wanted Milestone to succeed Jim Lee would have done covers, Johns would be writing, and Gary Frank would be drawing.

              • SMARTASS8 says:

                I wasn’t trying to get your dander up. The only reason I even made my sarcastic comment about Milestone is due to the fact that so many people laughed that line off as substitute heroes for minority readers(black Iron Man, black Superman with a black female Robin, black Spider-Man, and black X-Men). Obviously if I was buying them, I disagreed.

                Other than thinking he has a cooler name & look to him than Doctor Strange(I’ve never liked Strange & his LSD-tinged adventures), I don’t know much about Brother Voodoo. I do feel the lack of popularity for Blue Beetle 3, Firestorm 2(or 3 if you include the time when Prof. Stein was a Fire Elemental), and Atom 4 had as much to do with the fact that they were replacing cult favorites as well as the fact that they were minorites. Aquaman 2 and Flash 4 didn’t fare much better and they were white guys. It’s sort of a catch 22. New characters rarely fare well in superhero comics these days, but when you put a new character in the costume of an already popular hero, you just piss off the fans of the previous suit wearer. Look at what’s happening with a lot of the fans who grew up in the 1980’s & 1990’s with Wally West refusing to give Barry Allen a chance.

                • Deemar says:

                  Point taken, I just feel for example Black Panther (Maberry from what I hear is doing a good job) had a top tier creative team if Brubaker and say David Aja, Coipel etc.. decided fuckall I’m doing a BP epic. It would probaly do well, it would last longer than Brother Voodoo at least.

                  As far as new heroes taking on the mantel of an existing hero, yeah I agree completely I still feel the pain of Wally’s downgrade.

                  So my thing is I want to be proven wrong, let’s see a real push for minority heroes with top talent. Let’s see Olivier Coipel on Black Panther, Johns on Steel, Grant Morrison on Blue Beetle.

                  • SMARTASS8 says:

                    Well in DC’s defense, while the replacements for Flash, Aquaman, and the Atom have gone away(or back to their previous form in Bart’s case), they still haven’t gotten rid of Jason or Jaime. That doesn’t mean they won’t eventually(or at least give us multiple heroes by the same name ala Green Lantern and Flash), but they seem to be trying all they can. They even used them both in the Batman:Brave And the Bold cartoon.

                    I also think putting JRjr on Black Panther(even though some dislike him, this is the same guy they’re using on the main Avengers book for its relaunch) and continuing that title for so long showed they tried(that’s about as kind a word as you’re going to hear from me about Marvel). It’s hard to tell why a character isn’t popular. I love Blue Devil and Warlord but neither of those character seem to last. While it may be race related at times, sometimes it’s as simple as the characters not connecting with a large number of comic book buyers.

                    • Deemar says:

                      Yo’ gotta cut and run (Heh!)

                      we chatting tonight 4hrs from now be there or be square.

                      I gotta get to drawing more funnies.

                      4hrs time chat pass the word ltr

                  • littlekingryan* says:

                    Roger that, CHAT TONIGHT AT 10 PM/9 PM CENTRAL TIME. I will be at the drawing table until then (as indeed I already am)occasionally hitting refresh on this page to read the new comments. Hopefully a few of you will want to join us.

    • SMARTASS8 says:

      Now I feel guilty for hating his work. Although, to be fair, while it was better than his recent work on Magog, I wasn’t a huge fan of his JLA work with Morrison either.

  7. IronMuskrat says:

    Looks like I’m going to take a beating on the AoA review=) I really did enjoy the series overall, I just thought the last issue didn’t have that fun, fast paced quality the first three issued had. The final issue just seemed to have gotten bogged down a little bit in the details of what was happening.

    I would stick around to talk about it more, but I am getting a rare, massive headache and looking at my computer screen right now is torture.

  8. Edward2962 says:

    About UA #6,I know I babbled about it a few days ago,but one other thing…SPOILER (for anyone who cares) How about the reveal that Fury may have been behind it all? So,you indirectly put thousands of ppl at risk,cause millions of $ in property damage and risk the lives of your team cuz you want a promotion? This makes you still a good guy how?
    On a more positive note,been hearing good things about REBELS.I might finally check it out.

    • Ya, I should have mentioned that Fury thing but I was just so fed up with talking about that issue I just wanted to end the review.

      REBELS is one of the best books you aren’t reading. Pick up the first trade if you get a chance.

      J.

  9. Deemar says:

    Pacheco art is boring, I’ve been trying to figure out why I don’t enjoy his stuff. Pacheco is a serviceable artist and he kicked ass back in the day, but yeah dude lost his spark.

    • SMARTASS8 says:

      He’s one of those artists who doesn’t seem to have a distinct style. He’s not a bad artist, but when he left DC for Marvel, I couldn’t have been more indifferent to the news. Now when Liefeld left Teen Titans for his bi-annual work at Marvel, it was Niagra Falls!!!

      • Deemar says:

        🙂

        Oh smartass…

        Before he was at DC Pacheco made his name at Marvel on the X-men, his art was energetic and lively it’s when he went to DC his stuff became boring.

        Same as Bagley his art does not meld well with DC.

        • SMARTASS8 says:

          Did he do any X-Men work when Morrison & Austen were on it? If not, I missed his X-Men work. I’m a rare superhero fan who doesn’t find the X-Men & Batman to be the best franchises from each respective company.

          • I believe he did X-Men when Waid was writing it. It was before Morrison’s run, I know that much.

            J.

          • Edward2962 says:

            It was on the late 90’s no adjective X-men title with Joe Kelly.Not ground breaking but decent comics.There was a good issue with Logan vs Marrow about anger and responsibility and another one with the Angel vs Abomination that I liked.

            • Hmmm….yes. You’re right. It was Joe Kelly. Waid must have been writing Uncanny at the time and neither of their runs lasted very long. I do get which books they were on mixed up.

              J.

              • Edward2962 says:

                There was a story in Wizard way back about how they left because of editorial interference.They would have ideas and be told “No,do this story instead and just put the script on top of it.”

        • Venom829 says:

          I actually don’t mind Mark Bagley. His worst I think was early Ult. Spidey, his best was easily his 90’s run on ASM.

          • Deemar says:

            I generally like Bagley (Provided he’s not allowed to design characters.) and respect the guy’s work ethic, other than JrJr you couldn’t find a harder working artist.

            My main gripe is his design work, my man is stuck in the 90s style-wise.

            • SMARTASS8 says:

              “I generally like Bagley (Provided he’s not allowed to design characters.)”

              ^^ That’s how I feel about JG Jones & Olivier Coipel.

              I grew to like Bagley as well. He brought a fresh take to the DCU. Although, his last issue of JLA definitely made me less unhappy about the rumors of him going back to Marvel.

              • Deemar says:

                See I feel the opposite about Coipel, he’s the first guy to make Thor look cool.

                The current Thor costume is a vast improvement over his original.

                Blasphemy I know (Kirby forgive me)

                • Venom829 says:

                  I’m really digging Thor’s revammped look, alot better than the original. And Copiel can make ANYTHING look awesome!

                  • SMARTASS8 says:

                    I’m definitely in the minority here. I stongly dislike Coipel’s tinfoil Thor(I like Thunderstrike’s costume better) and I absolutely hate his designs on Ant-Man & Warbird back when Johns was writing Avengers. Oh well. It’s not like someone is forcing me to buy his books. I really have nothing to complain about.

        • Edward2962 says:

          Carlo’s art on Avengers Forever was good too. I’m way disappointed w/Marc on JLA.His Mighty Avengers stuff was better than this.I totally think it’s the inkers they put him with.

    • YES! He did kick major ass back in the day. Avi and I were talking about this last week. His art was so energetic and dynamic. He is now just a shadow of his former self. It’s kinda sad actually.

      J.

  10. Luiz de Mello says:

    When I read UA #6 I had only one thought… two actually: one I was entirely happy because I didn’t invest a cent on the series (don’t need to pay extra for paper with shit on it, that i can make my own, and it even stinks a bit less), and glad I didn’t have a weapon nearby cause I would probably have killed someone out of rage if I did. Man v1 of v2 of Ultimates I enjoyed so much, back then I actually thought Mark was a good writer, I dunno what piss me more if it is to see how things crapped out or to see people actually liking and buying/supporting this stuff.

    • Deemar says:

      Ok that is awesome.

      • Mike F says:

        I know rite? I didn’t read it was Jim Carrey and was kinda shocked to see him take off the kick-ass mask.

        • Deemar says:

          Maybe Jim is one of us?

          I know Conan is a comic geek, he puts enough comicbook references in his work to figure that out.

          • SMARTASS8 says:

            Considering Carrey is wearing a Kick-Ass costume, he’s not one of me.

            I’d like to thing Conan is a comic guy, but I’m not sure. They put a few comic references in sitcoms like Friends or Simpsons and a ton in Big Bang Theory. That’s usually due to the writers either being fans themselves or using the references to take cheap shots at the stereotypical “comic nerd”. It rarely has anything to do with the performer(s).

  11. SMARTASS8 says:

    Are we getting a new Open Thread soon? I wanted to throw out a few subjects but it seems like last weekend’s Open Thread is pretty quiet.

    • Open Threads go up every Tuesday and Friday at midnight. If you don’t want to wait till tomorrow night just throw it in here.

      J.

      • SMARTASS8 says:

        Sorry. I probably should know the schedule by now.

        What does everyone think about Superman pulling a Civil War Spidey(better than a Boston Steamer, though)?

        http://www.bleedingcool.com/forums/showthread.php?t=16305

        Even though I’m not a Mark Millar fan, a small part of me has always wanted to see what he’d do on one of the main Superman books due to his lifelong love for the character. I guess this is probably as close as we’ll get to that happening. I just hope Superman doesn’t end up regaining his secret identity by making a deal with Etrigan.

        • Edward2962 says:

          On the one hand the idea of Superman helping ppl w/o just beating up villians and monsters is good,but on the other…Haven’t seen non-super or not unique Superman before?”Secret Indentity” etc?

  12. phil says:

    B & B.. One of the few comics that has been enjoyable to me ever since JmS has been doing his thig. Each issue is like a 1st issue…with no cliffhanger. This will be the 1st one that I’ll pick up w?o Jesus’ artwork though.
    Joe the Barbarian… I think I saw this the last time I was at my shop. If I’m right, I thought the art was alright, but the colors were kinda murky, I’m gonna have to check again to be sure.
    Brightest Day…No go on the ressurection show
    Geoff Johns hate…Don’t worry, Jose. I’ve got an ample amount of contemt built up for Mr. Johns. My contempt for him could light up a small village

    • tomstewdevine says:

      I know I’m late to the party but I just read Brave and the Bold, and it hit me really hard emotionally, god damn that is great writing.

Leave a Reply

