Who’s Getting What This Week?

Posted: May 11, 2010 in DC Comics, Image, Marvel, Vertigo

Yet another meh week. A lot of Siege stuff coming out this week so if you are a fan of crappy comics (and Bendis) you will be like a pig in shit this Wednesday. Here’s what I’ll be buying:

Birds of Prey #1
Black Widow #2 (Daniel Acuna)
Daytripper #6
REBELS #16
Sword #24 -Last Issue
Unwritten #13

If you have been meaning to check out Agent of Atlas but have never gotten around to doing so Marvel is releasing a reprint of the first issue this week for $1. Do yourselves a favor and check it out if you can. Also, the last issue of The Sword comes out this week. Kinda sad to see it end but I am kinda excited to see what the Luna Brothers will do next.

What are you getting this week?

J.

Comments
  1. generaldark says:

    Batman Return of Bruce Wayne #1
    Birds of Prey #1
    First Wave #2
    Justice League Generation Lost #1
    Rebels #16
    Superman War of the Supermen #2
    The Flash #2
    Titans Villains for Hire Special #1 (maby)

    then maby black widow…..maby

  2. cballsack says:

    Can that cover get any more phallic?

  3. SMARTASS8 says:

    Woohoo! Heroic Age is coming a week from this Wednesday. We get to see the heroes be good guys again. I guess that’s why Captain America/Steve Rogers is carrying a gun on the cover of his latest mini-series. How can anyone be a hero in a “world” where publically known supervillains/murderers/psychopaths can get a government job in charge of American defense if they shoot one alien in the head. Makes the fact that George W was voted in as president 2 times in a row seem actually reasonable.

  4. IronMuskrat says:

    A very light week for me, after spending money on books of questionable quality last week, I need to step back and cleanse my palate.

    Daytripper #6 – We are at the halfway point on this amazing little series. Always a joy to read it, even if I am still not sure exactly what is going on =)

    REBELS #16 – Poor Vril Dox, he is now the Rodney Dangerfield of the Vega sector, no respect from anyone. I almost feel sorry for him, almost =)

    Maybe…

    Birds of Prey #1 – Only cause Jose is getting it =D

    IM

  5. hackslash2020 says:

    Birds of Prey 1
    Daytripper 6

    Siege 4
    Siege Embbeded 4
    Dark Avengers 16
    New Avengers Finale

    amazing spider-man 631
    ultimate spider-man 10

    black widow 2
    iron man legacy 2
    iron man noir 2

    incredible hulk 609
    hulk 22
    (I am gonna drop these last 2 series soon..but i still wanna know who the red hulk is..wtf)

  6. Chris says:

    Why’s the last Sword $5! I’m not too bothered because my immediate assumption is that it must be a massive issue, but going up from $2.99 quite a leap. Regardless of this slight complaint I’ll be buying this issue for sure!

    I might get these:
    American Vampire #1 (Second Print) – Everyone said that it was brilliant.
    Batman Return of Bruce Wayne #1 – I really want to buy this.
    Birds of Prey #1 – I’m not sure if I want to get invested in this series again. It broke my heart when it was cancelled last time.
    DMZ #53 – I have every issue of this but it’s been slipping recently. Also I’m skint!

  7. kurumais says:

    May 12th 2010
    Batgirl 10
    Birds of prey 1
    Ultimate comics spidey
    Maybe
    Dark avengers
    Black widow 2
    New avengers

  8. Matthew Guy (mguy1977) says:

    ADVENTURE COMICS #11
    BATGIRL #10
    BATMAN #699
    BIRDS OF PREY #1 (BRIGHTEST DAY)
    SUPERMAN WAR OF THE SUPERMEN #2 (OF 4)
    AMAZING SPIDER-MAN #631
    X-MEN FOREVER #23

    Matthew

  9. tomstewdevine says:

    A very heavy week for me.

    Batman:R.O.B.W #1
    First Wave #2 (The colorist of this book was at my LCS for free comic book day,Nei Ruffino. She was very cool, very sweet, and quite cute as well.)
    R.E.B.E.L.S. #16
    Daytripper #6
    Fables #95 (The series that I have consistently collected the longest.)
    Unwritten #13
    Heroic Age Prince of Power #1
    Marvel Project #8
    New Mutants #13 (Cypher, fuck ya!)
    PuniserMax #7 (Let’s see if Aaron can top the over-the-topness of the last ish.)
    Siege #4 (I bought the first 3, why stop now.)
    Wolverine #900
    BPRD King of Fear #5

    I am most looking forward to the three Vertigo gem’s this week.

  10. SMARTASS8 says:

    Adventure Comics #11
    Batgirl #10
    Batman Return of Bruce Wayne #1
    Birds of Prey #1
    Booster Gold #32
    Doc Savage #2
    First Wave #2
    Human Target #4
    Justice League Generation Lost #1
    Magog #9
    Rebels #16
    Superman War of the Supermen #2
    The Flash #2
    The Shield #9
    Titans Villains for Hire Special #1
    Hellblazer #1 New Edition ($1.00)
    GI Joe Operation Hiss #4

  11. Pobra says:

    Amazing Spider-Man #631
    Batman: Return of Bruce Wayne #1
    Birds of Prey #1
    Flash #2
    REBELS #16
    Siege #4 (why do i get the feeling I’m going to regret this one?)
    Sword #24

    I wish i was reading The Unwritten in singles, I feel like i’m missing out while i’m waiting for the trade. Does anyone know when the second trade comes out?

  12. Deemar says:

    I gotta start dropping some books

    Rebels #16
    The Flash #2
    Daytripper #6
    Dantes Inferno #6
    Agents of Atlas MGC #1
    Daredevil Cage Match #1
    Heroic Age Prince of Power #1
    Lockjaw and the Pet Avengers Unleashed #3
    Marvels Project #8
    Savage Dragon #160
    Sword #24

    • littlekingryan* says:

      Nice to see you picking up Savage Dragon, Deemar! I used to love that book, but I haven’t read it for a while. The quality definitely suffered when Larsen was publisher, and thank goodness he found some great colorists and stopped lettering the thing himself. Some of that stuff was painful.

      • Deemar says:

        Yeah I stray away from Larsen, but I find myself being drawn back too ol’Dragon. It’s the one character from the 90s I have a soft spot for.

  13. Mike F says:

    Thank god for Black Widow, otherwise my money would be wasted on The Flash. I’m always so tempted to buy any comic with the Flash in it, even utter shit issues like the one Johns is writing 🙂

  14. Mike F says:

    I was curious about the DD: Cage Match, since I am on board for SHADOWLAND…

  15. vegedge says:

    jose what are you getting this week?

    flash still interesting you?

  16. vegedge says:

    sorry i ment what will you be reading and not buying.

    you said before you read comics off the shelves sometimes

  17. Stamps says:

    good week for me:

    Batgirl #10
    Batman #699
    Batman Return of Bruce Wayne #1
    Birds of Prey #1
    Unwritten #13
    Iron Man Legacy #2
    and the Underground TPB

  18. megamanx4ever says:

    Amazing Spider-Man #631
    Dark Avengers #16
    Savage Dragon #160 (really digging this book)
    Siege #4

  19. TheMSpot says:

    I think this will be a skip week for me I’m getting kind of tired of the DCU according to Geoff Johns (I wasn’t to impressed with Brightest Day #1 or Flash #1)and Marvel U according to Brian “rape my childhood” Bendis (I have never been impressed with his Marvel work). I would pickup Return of Bruce Wayne if it was 2.99 but since it’s 3.99 I’ll pass. So, I think this week I just may pickup Birds of Prey #1 because I really don’t have anything by Gail Simone where I started reading at issue one.

  20. ullar says:

    Batman Return of Bruce Wayne #1
    Birds of Prey #1
    Rebels #16
    The Flash #2
    Amazing Spider-Man #631
    Dark Avengers #16
    Fallen Siege
    Heroic Age Prince of Power #1
    New Avengers Finale
    Siege #4
    Web of Spider-Man #8

  21. mbell028 says:

    hey what’s up guys?
    This week I’ll be getting:
    Daytripper 6
    Punishermax 7

    This may be my last issue of Punishermax the first issue of the Bullseye arc was terrible if this issue isn’t any better I’ll definately drop this book. It’s a shame because I have really enjoyed Jason Aaron’s run on Wolverine Weapon X and this book started really well, but has seemed to go downhill quickly.

    • tomstewdevine says:

      I liked this run of Punisher Max, Aaron is one of my favorite writers because of scalped, so I picked this book up. I was not disappointed, it gave me exactly what I want from a book that is called “MAX”, over-the-top ridiculous fighting, blood, killing, and hiding small guns far far up villains asses, even anal cavity searches can’t locate them. So what I’m saying is I’m sorry to hear you don’t like the way the book is going, I for one love it.

  22. Friedmiester says:

    YES!!!

  23. Friedmiester says:

    YESS!! This cover rules

  24. Superman: War of the Supermen #2
    The Flash #2

    • I was trying to avoid the new FLASH series, since I own the entire Bart Allen series (which wasn’t all that bad IMO) and part of the terrible “Wally & kids” series. So, being a Flash fan, I’ve been burned by recent stories. Still, I really loved the art on the first issue and I like Barry (regardless of how utterly ridiculous it is that he’s back).

  25. The Amazing Mike says:

    Hmmm unless I make a random impulse buy..
    Amazing Spider-Man
    Ultimate Spider-Man
    and Batman. An “Ok” sized week. (Well for still being unemployed)

  26. Constantanius says:

    DC

    Batgirl #10
    Batman #699
    Batman The Return Of Bruce Wayne #1
    Birds Of Prey #1
    Flash #2
    Justice League Generation Lost #1 (Maybe, Maybe not)
    Superman War Of The Supermen #2
    First Wave #2

    Marvel

    Black Widow #2
    New Mutants #13
    Siege #4

Leave a Reply

