CCW Open Thread

Posted: May 12, 2010 in CCW Nation, CCW Open Thread

Comments
    • littlekingryan* says:

      Is Lauren Ambrose one of your redhead faves, J?

      • Ya, I guess. I really couldn’t stand her character on Six Feet Under until the final season. She kinda grew on me.

        J.

        • kurumais says:

          i liked her when she was trapped in the bathroom with seth green

        • SMARTASS8 says:

          How does “Six Feet Under” compare to “True Blood” with you? I thought Alan Ball was great after “Six Feet Under”, but after watching “Towelhead” & a couple episodes of “True Blood” before I bailed, I think he might be a one hit wonder(or two hit if you include American Beauty; I don’t like that movie as much as I once did). He also seems to be as oversexed as Larry Clark.

          • There is no comparison between Six Feet Under and True Blood for me. I enjoy True Blood for what it but Six Feet Under is my favorite drama show of all time. Though I must admit to having a very unhealthy fascination with SFU. That show resonated with me more than anything I have ever seen. In Treatment is a close second.

            I did also like American Beauty quite a lot. The film doesn’t really hold up for me as much either as it did the first time I saw it but I still love it.

            I saw American Beauty and Magnolia in the theater on the same week at a rough time in my life. Seeing both of those films so close together during that time meant a lot to me. They helped me get through some bleak shit.

            J.

    • SMARTASS8 says:

      I didn’t initially watch the Six Feet Under clip since I knew it would depress me all over again but I finally gave in. While everyone’s life ended up pretty happy, Keith getting gunned down still bothers me. It’s funny how when this show first started, I hated the David character so much, but by the end of the show, he & Keith were probably my favorite characters.

      • I always…always related to the Nate character. He was my favorite. But ya, toward the end of the last season I really wanted things to work out between David and Keith. They were perfect for each other and I loved the bit in the last episode where they got married. That was great.

        J.

  1. generaldark says:

    i wrote a short story bout auaman and the flash if anyone is interested. 🙂

    • littlekingryan* says:

      I’m interested. You can email it to me at yodaluke4@hotmail.com if you like.

    • tomstewdevine says:

      I will definitely give it a read, tomstewdevine@hotmail.com

      I assume you mean aquaman, but if auaman is some new crazy character you thought up I’m down with that too.

      • generaldark says:

        Hey guys i amde a blog and posted my story on there since your emails are being stupid :p lol heres the link http://generaldark.wordpress.com/ Criticism is MUCH appreciated. basically the story is my attempt to give aquaman new powers and just having fun with a short story. hope you enjoy it.

        • generaldark says:

          BTW my spelling is much better in the story so dont let my typos now discourage you XD

          • phil says:

            Well General, I read your story and I must say… I found it quite entertainig. Where I’m lost a bit, however is Aquaman seems to be very glib in your story. Were you trying to redefine his character?

            On a seperate note; will you be putting forth any of your own characters for original stories?

            • generaldark says:

              i was trying to make him into my own vision and attitude. i might try to work on that version more in the future. as for original stories, i do have one im writting. its kind of my attempt to destroy the super hero genre of comics and bring in more variety into the main stream. i have it were the killer is in a rainbow hood and cape in a way to mock heroes and villians and is on a mission to destroy all metas not related to other books. its coming along slowely but im working on more shorter stories atm.

  2. Did anyone else enjoy this flick as much as I did? I thought it was a far better comedy than The Hangover…

  3. cballsack says:

    So I watched the first five minutes of Dr. Who, since everyone on here raves about it. Some milf in high heels blows herself into space and then Dr. Who shows up to bring her inside his little thingamabob. WTF? How is he reaching outside like that? How does she not suffer from decompression sickness? Go watch the Battlestar Galactica episode “A Day In The Life” to find out what a few seconds of vacuum exposure will do to you.

    • After reading the words “Battlestar Galactica” I just couldn’t take your comment seriously anymore.

      J.

      • cballsack says:

        Best show ever, son. Don’t hate.

      • SMARTASS8 says:

        I’m just happy I’m not the only one with a brain who doesn’t find the Battlestar Galactica remake “sci-fi perfection” like so many others do. I saw every TV movie/episode/webisode of it(except for the last few episodes; although I did hear what happened) and I just don’t get it. It was good every once in awhile, but most of the time it vacillated from depressing melodrama full of cliched relationships & staggered character developments to pretentious science fiction that used as many thinly veiled analogies as a modern day Marvel comic.

        • I enjoy “V” more than BSG. Sure it’s corny, but it’s FUN corny.

          • SMARTASS8 says:

            I’m only up to episode 7 of the current “V”, but I enjoy it much more than “BSG” as well. In fact, even though it was cancelled when I was still in diapers, based on the reruns I watched years ago on the Sci-Fi Channel, I prefer the original “BSG” over the new one. It may have been cheesy and pretty light hearted considering most of the population had just been wiped out by lizard robots, but it was fun. You can’t say that about its remake.

            • cballsack says:

              The new BSG may not have been light hearted, but it was definitely fun to watch. The space battles were the best ever depicted, whether on tv or any movie. The special effects were phenomenal.

              I do agree that it was quite depressing at times, mostly in how many characters they killed off (my main criticism of the show), but to say that character development was staggered is simply unfair. Every character went through tremendous growth from the very beginning. No one was quite the same by the time the show ended.

              • SMARTASS8 says:

                Considering one character was made an “angel” out of nowhere, they didn’t earn a lot of the “no one was quite the same by the time the show ended”. I’m not going to start citing all my specific reasons for ultimately disliking this show since you liked it & that’s fine, but there were a lot of relationships and character “beats” that rang false with me. They were either pulled out of the air with no building to or they came off as lame repeats of other dramas.

                • cballsack says:

                  What happened to Starbuck was completely bogus. I 100% agree. I despised the last 20 minutes of the final episode. They did such a shit job.

                  And I agree with you that some of the relationships did seem a little forced. The show definitely had its share of flaws. But what it got right, it did sooooo well.

          • cballsack says:

            I enjoy V as well. It started off terribly slowly and I almost gave up on it, but it’s gotten so good in the past few weeks. Can’t wait til next week’s season finale. Looks all hell’s gonna break loose. The armada’s just about made it to Earth and Anna’s soldiers are about to hatch.

        • djsweet says:

          It’s no surprise that the mindless marvel monarchs are big fans of BSG. Bendis and Q have mentioned the show many times.

  4. I just saw the trailer for the Jonah Hex film and I smell shit. Real shit. Looks fucking awful.

  5. kurumais says:

    this is a continuation of the manga adaption thread and a HUGE WTF??
    this is live acction tv series in japan called princess princess D

    In all-boys school with a tradition of Princesses (boys chosen to attend school functions dressed up as girls to alleviate the tension between the students), Yutaka Mikoto, Shihoudani Yuujirou and Kouno Tooru are this year’s chosen Princess team. Dissatisfied with the half-hearted efforts of the current Princesses, Hanazono Otoya creates his own team of Dark Princesses to rival for the students’ attention.
    Based on the shoujo manga Princess Princess, by Mikiyo Tsuda.

    just had to share that sucker with you folks

  6. ullar says:

    So, what’s everybody excited to get today? I can’t wait for Return of Bruce Wayne and will try to discuss it here later. I’m also pretty excited for Birds of Prey. DC is just pumping out quality books while Marvel is canceling theirs. For the first time of my life my pull list has an almost 50/50 split between DC and Marvel. Oh yea, the end of Siege comes out today, Siege has actually been fairly good and my favorite Marvel event in a long time.

    • kurumais says:

      im excited about birds of prey
      the return of bruce wayne looks like a train wreck in the making to me the worst excesses of grant morrison being used in a story/character that should be kept far away from them
      and it makes the whole new batman seem a gimmick seems like dick hadnteven settled into the role when morrison started building up to this so what was the point of a 3 issue mini with tie ins(BFTC) if dick grayson was only going to feel like batman for a few issues?
      dont get me wrong i like morrison his wacky over the top stuff like seaguy and all star superman worked great there but i think he needs to get back i touch with JLA days for batman
      btw
      and has any writer explained why tim drake thought bruce was still alive from the getgo despite overwhelming evidence to the contrary?

      thanks

      • Ullar says:

        On the whole topic of Return of Bruce Wayne, I feel like it will be amazing. Then again I loved Final Crisis and RIP so I’ve probably had too much kool-aid. BTF was editorially mandated and just like countdown had little to no baring on Morrison’s story. And I don’t see Dick being used as a gimmick because Morrison has explored the notion of Damien wanting to continue being Robin with Dick. I think it will be deeper than “Bruce is back!!! I’ll be Nightwing again and Damien can sod off!!!”
        I can’t comment on Tim because I haven’t been keeping up with that book. This is just an educated guess, and I’ll comment more after I’ve read the book.

        -Ullar

      • Stamps says:

        I am SOOO excited for BoP to return. I missed that title so much. Oracle is my favorite DC character, and no one writes her better than Gail Simone. I can’t wait to read it tonight

        • ullar says:

          So I read RoBW and here are my thoughts

          -I love that we’re revisiting the cavemen from FC
          -I love that cavemen can’t understand Bruce
          -I love that Bruce owned Vandal Savage
          -I love the look Batman had this issue
          -I love seeing Bruce back in action
          -I the last page setting up the next issue

          Overall, I loved this issue and can’t wait for the rest.

          • littlekingryan* says:

            I’m with you, Ullar. I would like to add that I loved Chris Sprouse’s work in this issue as well. He has a way of keeping the storytelling simple, though his rendering can be quite detailed. I loved the panel where Bruce is aiming his Batarang thingee at Savage.

          • Stamps says:

            See I thought that the cavemen were more than a little annoying and the first couple of pages were pretty useless. Mid way through is where the book started to win me back.

            Bruce did look cool in the book. That was the high point of the art for me. I’m going to grab the next one. I just found it a bit slow overall personally.

      • SMARTASS8 says:

        Tim could have thought Bruce Wayne was still alive since he was in denial after losing a second “father”. He also could have felt Bruce was still alive since he lives in a world where people in tights, both good & evil, come back all the time.

        • tomstewdevine says:

          Those are all valid reasons, but in red robin they never do explore why he feels this way, just lets the reader speculate. Was that a good writing choice? I don’t think so. I feel like Chris Yost is really hit or miss.

          • SMARTASS8 says:

            I’m not sure. I’ve never liked Tim Drake so I don’t read Red Robin. The only good thing, imo, to come out of his being Robin is Stephanie Brown.

            • kurumais says:

              thanks for all the replies i have a stacked of red robins i need to get through but of the ones i read yost never even gives the reader a clue to tim’s reasoning which is always bad for a detective story

  7. kurumais says:

    here is a manga movie i think a lot of us would like i saw the opening scene looks good and reviews compared it favorably to buffy

  8. kurumais says:

    casting wonder woman
    what about sarah lancaster from CHUCK? i was watching chuck a couple of weeks ago i it popped into my head not because she struck me as wonder woman but she smiled a certain way that reminded me of lynda carter

    • cballsack says:

      Can we just go back in time and get Monica Bellucci from 15 years ago?

      • kurumais says:

        she would be too perfect

      • SMARTASS8 says:

        Fuck 15 years ago, Bellucci is still one of the hottest women on the planet.

        Even though I liked Lancaster as a blonde better, she might be the best suggestion I’ve yet to read for Wonder Woman(in terms of build, age, and looks).

  9. NoEmoDaredevil says:

    *SPOILER ALERT*

    I’ve watched most of the CCW videos and particularly enjoyed your conversations about the treatment of women in the Marvel-U. That being said, have you guys read the latest Spider-Man which, as far as I know, implies that The Lizard raped someone?

    I quit reading ASM a while ago. Why? I can’t stand it anymore. The writing is juvenille and whether Quesada wants to admit it or not, the deal with Mephisto has perpetually damaged the Spider-Man AND Peter Parker characters. This is my opinion, so if you’re still an ASM fan…more power to you. Anyway, just wondered how you guys felt about this issue and ASM in general.

    Always looking forward to the vids guys!

  10. generaldark says:

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K3QGAJgjJWI one of the best movies iv seen in forever.

  11. Adam727 says:

    Well, Siege #4 came out. I can’t wait to hear what Jose has to say about it. I know he’s a big fan of Bendis. wink, wink 🙂

    • tomstewdevine says:

      I just read it, and thought it was by far the best book out of the 4 seige books, but still nothing to write home about. I have seen Bendis do much worse.

  12. cballsack says:

    Explain.

  13. TheMSpot says:

    If they didn’t want the Sentry then they shouldn’t of created him in the first place tragedy for the sake of tragedy. Stupid Superman analog. LOL

    • littlekingryan* says:

      “coconut…and metal…” I loved that, too. It’s funny, but it’s also vivid. You can imagine the ozone-like smell the thing would probably give off. Does anyone remember record players?

  14. So, I really do try to stay in sync with the pulse of pop culture but what the fuck is this “Woof!” shit that Bendis has been using lately in his terrible fucking comics?

    J.

  15. assfax says:

    First Wave has completely lost me as a reader. I get what it is but it just isn’t good.

    Stone age Batman was okay. But this ain’t going to be some amazing JLA Rock of Ages story. Or will it?

    All Siege seemed to do was turn Steve Rogers into Matt Trakker. Loki turning good was about as dumb as that fucking Ultimate Red Skull shit. SHIT

    For the love of god, DO NOT read that shitty Sentry funeral comic. Here’s the idea: Superheroes telling fake stories that never really happened about the fake ass Sentry. “Oh yeah, remember when we went bowling with the Sentry?” GOD DAMN

    At least Sword 24 came out. If you haven’t been reading it, you missed out.

    It’s more fun to rant about shit I hated though.

  16. Friedmiester says:

    Spider man definitely told a girl to shut the fuck up in the end

    • Yes, he did. I can’t wait to review this piece of shit.

      J.

      • littlekingryan* says:

        Sigh…I just hope you can keep in mind that you’re talking about the hard work of fellow human beings who have feelings. Making comics is not easy, and of course it’s cool to not like the end result, but I (for one) don’t want to see CCW devolve into a bitter-fest. Default Hatey Smurf activity is not a good substitute for reasoned analysis. All this hatred gets pretty one-note, guys. (And I’m not just aiming this at you, J, so please don’t take offense!)

        • When have I ever reviewed something without giving a somewhat reasoned analysis?

          J.

        • “I just hope you can keep in mind that you’re talking about the hard work of fellow human beings who have feelings.”

          I can’t tell if you are joking or not. So in other words “If you have something negative to say about somebody’s work don’t say anything at all.”

          Wow…

          J.

          • littlekingryan* says:

            Don’t put words in my mouth (or my posts). I’m just calling for a little temperance.

            • I am not putting words in your mouth. I am explaining to you how I interpreted your statement in MY mind.

              J.

              • littlekingryan* says:

                Really? Saying “creators are people, too” is the same as saying, “don’t criticize anyone ever?” That’s kind of a kneejerk reaction, don’t you think? Let’s not go into semantics. I mean to say that I hope empathy can play a small role in your reviews of things. I can see that you don’t like it when someone criticizes you, so take that feeling and translate it onto others.

                • I ask you again:

                  When have I ever reviewed something without giving a somewhat reasoned analysis?

                  Are you now also implying that I can’t handle criticism or is that me having another kneejerk reaction?

                  J.

                  • littlekingryan* says:

                    I’m not accusing you of anything, man! And I’m not going to pore through old reviews and try to cite specific instances where I think you’re unreasonable or whatever. That’s very much not my intention. I even added a caveat in parentheses in my original comment to try and pre-empt this kind of debate. I mean you no harm.

                    • Well, I have to be completely honest with you now. You know what really set me off? This:

                      “I just hope you can keep in mind that you’re talking about the hard work of fellow human beings who have feelings.”

                      Do you remember why I initially banned you from these boards back in February? I really hope that you do because then you will know why I am a bit miffed.

                      J.

                    • littlekingryan* says:

                      Banned me? I think you’re confusing me with someone else…

                    • I most certainly am not.

                      J.

                    • littlekingryan* says:

                      Yeah, I was ribbing Deemar and Jose thought I was serious. I honestly didn’t know I was banned. I even changed my username and tried to draw a couple things for the site to get back in the good graces of CCW Nation. I felt really bad about it. Deemar wrote something about drawing people, and I very insensitively wrote “who fucking cares?” back. It was supposed to be a joke, albeit a very lame one. I think every artist has felt unappreciated at one point or another. It was a stupid thing to type, but the internet and beer sometimes leads to that with me. Honestly, I still feel bad about it, because Deemar and I are good buds, now. I’m glad we’ve cleared the air, though. And I’m sorry if my comments led to this type of thing.

                    • djsweet says:

                      I’m not sure I would call Bendis a human being. I think the only comment that might be out of line would be insulting him as a man and not his crappy writing. If I said something like; ‘Bendis writes like a greedy jew because he decompresses his comics and never ends story lines so he can keep milking stupid people out of more money.’ I think anything shy of that is more than fair game.

        • TheMSpot says:

          Yeah, I hear you that’s why I left out most of the negative in my thoughts of Iron Man 2 on my blog. It is getting kind of tiresome for me to always talk about the negative so I choose to ignore it. But, I think that is why I keep returning to the CCW blog so I can avoid the negative in comics and on forms of entertainment. I may not always agree with the reviews or opinions of those that are frequent commenter’s, but I do take them into consideration when making a decision. I do not take offence to your comment just to be clear I just like giving my two cents just like everyone else on this blog, you may or may not agree with it but I just like putting it out there, I think people are entitled to their opinion. (Hay, that’s just me though)

          • littlekingryan* says:

            Right on. I’m definitely not trying to suppress anyone’s opinion.

            • TheMSpot says:

              Thats cool, now go hug Jose before he Hulk’s out from nerd rage. (Oh, and I’m digging the comic strip you, Deemar, and E are doing)

              • littlekingryan* says:

                Thanks, man. I really am just trying to be constructive, not controversial. There’s certainly nothing wrong with negative reviews (I am as guilty as anyone else in that regard!), but I think being positive can be cool, too.

        • SMARTASS8 says:

          I HATE hate!

  17. Mike F says:

    (SPOILERS)

    WHY! WHY! WHY! THE ONLY VILLAIN IN SIEGE I THOUGHT WAS REMOTELY COOL AND YOU KILLED HIM???????

    I AM NEVER BUYING ANOTHER MARVEL COMICS. NEVER. NEVER. NEVER. NEVER. NEVER. NEVER. NEVER. NEVER. NEVER. NEVER. NEVER. NEVER. NEVER. NEVER. NEVER. NEVER. NEVER. NEVER. NEVER. NEVER. NEVER. NEVER. NEVER. NEVER. NEVER. NEVER. NEVER. NEVER. NEVER. NEVER. NEVER. NEVER. NEVER. NEVER.

    Black Widow number two was good tho.,,

    • So I guess you won’t be buying #3 now, huh? 🙂

      J.

    • Mike F says:

      I’ll wait til Shadowland ends then just focus on manga. I’m sick of Marvel’s continutity fuck ups, and even if I wanna support good writers like Hickman and Marjorie Liu, SOME of that money will end up going to Bendis. So after Shadowland, I’ll probably only buy JMS’ WW, and just find good mangas that took a fucking writing class (rather than demanding you teach one since your fucking a marvel superstar)

  18. phil says:

    Hey LKR, I was listening to a podcast the other day called 2 people talking and a name sounding very much like yours came up though sleightly altered…….. Are you familiar with Derek and Angela from 2 ppl talking, by any chance?

  19. Mike F says:

    http://www.comicbookresources.com/?page=article&id=26185

    Oh yeah, Shadowland is definitely still worth it…

    • Pobra says:

      Other than Billy Tan’s uninspired, lack luster art. Why couldn’t De La Torre just draw the damn thing?
      Fuck, we really are a negative bunch here, aren’t we? 🙂

  20. vegedge says:

    i am done now with bendis. every year they talk you into a event say its gonna be great, you really want it to be and its fails me. bendis is 0-4 now.

    why do jose and elliot review them still? i figured they would have stopped reading his trash way before i did.

    no more avengers junk for me. academy looks interesting but i really dont know if its just gonna lead into another horrible over hyped bendis jerk off fest.

    spoiler. sentry dies. gets thrown into a sun. what kind of horrible, trying to be poetic justice ending is that.

    i wish i could go back intime terminator style and end it before anymore people get hurt.

    • Not only am I getting stick now for HOW I do my reviews but now I’m getting stick for WHAT I review.

      Fucking classic.

      J.

      • vegedge says:

        i think you review just fine, but what i am saying is you guys hate it to. do you buy it like someone going to see a b movie , its gonna be a fun train wreck or do you buy it because you think their could be hope in it.

        i am guessing you review them because thats what most of the followers on here wanna see, that i get.

        • I work in a comic shop. I can read books without buying them. That’s part of my job.

          J.

          • vegedge says:

            i get that! and think thats awesome. what i was just saying was i dont understand how you guys havnt given up on bendis yet. completely that is. i only recently started hating his guts. while you two have been right this whole time for years now, he is trash

            • There is a small part of me that hopes that the “old” Bendis will come back at some point. I know it’s dumb to think that but I do. I really enjoyed his early works. But now as every year passes by it looks more certain that “old” Bendis is pretty much gone forever.

              J.

              • vegedge says:

                i liked powers 1 and 2. even if all he did was write a marvel universe cop book but change the hero names.

                i kinda refuse to check out the new run of it.

              • SMARTASS8 says:

                Bendis has gotten so bad, imo, that he’s retconned out of existence the Bendis I used to enjoy reading. Bendis’ good writing is nowhere to be found in my reality.

                As long as we’re talking Siege #4, here’s what I don’t get. A lot of Marvel Zombies say DC sucks because their heroes are too powerful. Marvel, even though it contradicts past stories & power levels, has Wolverine able to reform his entire body from a skeleton, Hulk is practically “nigh-invulnerable”, and now Thor, a hero who has been killed off many times before, is able to destroy the “angel of death”/power of God? What’s up with that?

      • Stamps says:

        Hey Jose, speaking of reviews, do you think that you and Eliott are going to possibly do a video review the new Birds of Prey title?
        I thought it was great, beautifully drawn and well written. (Gail Simone once again prove how bad ass of a writer she is) I’d be curious to what you two thought about it.

        • We may. Variant Girl wrote a review for it that I will be posting on here a bit later. I will also probably do a capsule review of it myself tomorrow. I am very glad that that series is back. I was pissed when they canceled it initially.

          J.

  21. kurumais says:

    i miss the weekly doctor who thread
    amy ” …i got my boys…”
    rory “we are so not your boys”
    the doctor ” yes we are ”
    rory “yeah we are ^sigh”
    cant get more owned then that
    lol
    not that i feel bad for either of them

  22. TheMSpot says:

    I was in my local comic book store today looking at a copy of Fortune and Glory, and I had on one shoulder E telling me it is a good book, and on the other I had J screaming in my ear FUCK BENDIS, what has he done lately to impress you, and deserve your hard earned dollar. I thought to myself WWJD so I put it back on the shelf and bought a Ellis book.

  23. mitiators says:

    Did anyone check out Batman: The Return of Bruce Wayne yet?
    It kind of started out slow, but I dig it.

    • Stamps says:

      I agree. The first few pages were really slow. It picked up pretty good around the fight scene. I just expected a little more for Grant Morrison’ level of talent.

      • tomstewdevine says:

        I haven’t read the book yet but I did pick it up. I didn’t know Chris Sprouse was doing art, I loved his stuff in Tom Strong, so I am excited to see how the book looks.

        • Sprouse is only doing the art for the first issue. He is doing a new Tom Strong series that starts next month though.

          J.

          • tomstewdevine says:

            Cool, are they changing the artist on each issue? I could see that if they are doing different times, different artist could be cool.

            I saw the cover for one of the new Tom Strong issues on JHW3 blog. I has it as my desktop picture, but my girlfriend was offended by the swastikas so I had to change it (I thought it was beautiful).
            http://www.jhwilliams3.com/archives/245

      • tomstewdevine says:

        I just opened the book, I love how the 1st page is an ad for Iron Man 2.

  24. Edward2962 says:

    Hi.This is way off topic,but I won’t get to the comics shop or see IM2 until this weekend,but I wanted to contribute something positive.I believe Tina’s is the original but the record went with Michelle Branch for sales reasons.I like Michelle’s version but I LOVE Tina’s.

    Mom and Dad stop fighting!

  25. TheMSpot says:

    I’m a firing my laser! (I got that stuck in my head, that stupid video)

  26. AvS says:

    My favorite part of The Open Thread this issue was the secret origin of LKR; that reveal at the end? Damn! I mean it’s your basic story of redemption, nothing ground breaking, but you really get invested in the characters by the end. And to be honest, they really seem to be on an origin kick lately. Didn’t we get an TheMSpot origin just last issue? Hopefully next issue we can get back to some current storylines and figure out who the real big bad is going to be.

  27. tomstewdevine says:

    Frank Frazetta died 2 days ago!!!! How did I not find out about this sooner? What a horrible loss, he was truly a living legend, oh how he will be missed.

    • littlekingryan* says:

      That guy was truly awesome. Somehow I missed the announcement at first, too. There’s an excellent documentary about Frazetta called “Painting With Fire” I believe. It’s pretty good.

    • phil says:

      No painter holds a candle to Frazetta. Best fantasy painter ever. Best “good girl artist” ever The man could capture the female form like no ones business. His figure work was able to convey motion and emotion at the same time. His Death Dealer painting is my favorite work of his.
      DaVincci, Michaelangelo,and Rembrandt have to open the gates because one of their pupils have come to join them.

  28. SmokeyClocks says:

    didn’t get a chance to go to the comic shop today. im heading over there tomorrow and was thinking of picking up Daredevil Cage Match. Did anyone read it? if so is it worth it?

  29. littlekingryan* says:

    Well, I can see how it was hard to interpret. But my motives were not truly dickish, just mostly dickish. I actually thought it would be kind of funny at the time to create a villain known as Bendisfan, but it was just stupid. I’ve since stopped drinking and commenting.

  30. cballsack says:

    I just watched the movie version of Land Of The Lost on HBO. My gods. It was so awful. There are no words. The Spirit was a work of brilliance compared to this. The writers should be banned from ever doing another project. It might very well have been the unfunniest movie I’ve seen. Every joke was super lame. And yet I watched the whole thing cuz it was still a kick seeing the Sleestaks again.

  31. Deemar says:

    Seems I missed quite a bit in my absense

    • IronMuskrat says:

      Nice one Jose!

      but allow me to lowbrow things a bit here =)

    • cballsack says:

      Okay, I’m gonna try to guess all these movies.

      1) I think it’s A Few Good Men
      2) The Matrix
      3) Dunno.
      4) Dunno.
      5) Dunno.
      6) Hollow Man
      7) Dunno.
      8) The Fifth Element
      9) Dunno.
      10) Dunno.
      11) The Matrix
      12) Dunno.
      13) Saving Private Ryan? Or possibly Band Of Brothers.
      14) Back To The Future II
      15) Dunno.
      16) Die Hard With A Vengeance
      17) Star Trek II: The Wrath Of Khan
      18) Black Rain
      19) Dunno.
      20) One of the Lord Of The Rings movies
      21) Dunno.
      22) The Abyss
      23) I’m guessing Arachnophobia?
      24) Dunno.
      25) One of those Honey I Shrunk The Kids movies
      26) X-Files
      27) Dunno.
      28) I’m guessing the Abyss again
      29) Antz
      30) Rambo III
      31) Lost In Space
      32) Dunno.
      33) Dunno.
      34) Alien
      35) War Of The Worlds
      36) Blue Velvet
      37) Dunno.
      38) Apocalypse Now
      39) Incredible Hulk
      40) Saving Private Ryan
      41) South Park
      42) Dunno.
      43) Dunno.
      44) Dunno.
      45) GI Joe
      46) Airplane
      47) Dunno.
      48) Spirited Away
      49) Indiana Jones & The Last Crusade
      50) Dunno.
      51) Dunno.
      52) Dunno.
      53) One of the Lethal Weapon movies
      54) Dunno.
      55) Again with the Lethal Weapon
      56) Dunno.
      57) Dunno.
      58) Dunno.
      59) Dunno.
      60) Dunno.
      61) Hunt For Red October
      62) Sky Captain & The World Of Tomorrow
      63) Dunno.
      64) Dunno.
      65) Dunno.
      66) X-Men 3
      67) Aqua Team Hunger Force
      68) Dunno.
      69) Dunno.
      70) Dunno.
      71) Dunno.
      72) Dunno.
      73) Dunno.
      74) Dunno.
      75) Dunno.
      76) Dunno.
      77) One of the James Bond films
      78) Dunno.
      79) Dunno.
      80) Dunno.
      81) South Park
      82) Independence Day
      83) Aliens
      84) Do The Right Thing
      85) Dunno.
      86) Dunno.
      87) Dunno.
      88) Avatar
      89) I’m guessing The Dirty Dozen
      90) Saving Private Ryan or Band Of Brothers again
      91) Dunno.
      92) Dunno.
      93) Dunno.
      94) Dunno.
      95) Dunno.
      96) Dunno.
      97) Dunno.
      98) Dunno.
      99) Top Gun
      100) Air Force One
      101) Independence Day
      102) Dunno.
      103) Dunno.
      104) Dune
      105) Dunno.

      Well, that was a colossal waste of time. But it kept me out of trouble for a good 15 minutes.

    • Smallmaniac says:

      Kinda surprised that I’ve watched so many movies with the same line.

  32. Regardless of the fact that I watch and like CSI, the name Sara Sidle is still pretty bad ass.

    J.

    • SMARTASS8 says:

      Funny. I never took you for a CSI guy.

    • IronMuskrat says:

      The first five or so seasons of CSI were pretty solid.

    • cballsack says:

      I’ve never seen an episode of CSI. Or Law & Order. Or any other cop show. Not since Hill Street Blues.

      • Deemar says:

        Hill Street Blues? Damn you from the way back.

        Law & Order SVU

        Mariska Haggarty = MILF

        • phil says:

          You know Mariska is Jane Mansfield daughter or ganddauughter or something, and she was quite the milf back in her day.

          • She’s her daughter.

            J.

          • SMARTASS8 says:

            She was a milf and she died at my current age. Damn do I feel old.

            I watched most of the first season of the original CSI the summer after its first season and found it entertaining. I just couldn’t wrap my head around the fantasy that the show had for real CSI’s(arresting people and get confessions out of criminals?). Even though I came to it late(I started with SVU in the early 00’s), Law & Order is where it’s at in my book. I one day plan to watch every single English speaking show in the L&O universe(if I live that long). That would include…

            * Law & Order
            * Exiled: A Law & Order Movie
            * Law & Order: Special Victim’s Unit
            * Law & Order: Criminal Intent
            * Crime & Punishment
            * Law & Order: Trial By Jury
            * Conviction
            * Law & Order: UK
            * Law & Order: Los Angeles(coming soon)
            * Homicide: Life On The Street
            * New York Undercover
            * Deadline
            * In Plain Sight
            * The Wire
            * The Beat
            * Arrested Development
            * The X-Files(which would then include The X-Files movie, The X-Files: I Want To Believe, Millenium, and The Lone Gunmen)
            * Sesame Street

      • Not even Cop Rock ballsack?

        J.

        • Deemar says:

          lol

          Cop Rock! what a epic failure,If only GLEE died on the vine just like Cop Rock and Viva Laughlin

          TV musicals suck

          • Except for the Buffy musical. That was EPIC!

            J.

            • Deemar says:

              Whedon gets a pass

              It was a one off

            • SMARTASS8 says:

              I remember they reran episodes of Cop Rock on some cable channel during the summer years ago and I didn’t mind the show if you took out the singing. I know that’s like saying I liked Baywatch if you took out the lifeguards but what can I tell you?

              I saw the first 3 or 4 episodes of Glee and, even though I’m straight & I don’t like musicals, it’s not a bad show.

              The only pass Whedon gets from me is when I see one of his comics on the stands. He reminds me of Bendis(although when he was good, he was a lot better than Bendis). He produced quality work for a brief period and then just coasted on his prior works & his obsessively devoted fans all the way to the bank. Except for “Serenity”, I haven’t liked any of his work since Buffy season 4 and Angel seasons 2 through 4. I also hate both of their non-stop attempts to provide “drama” by killing their characters off.

              • phil says:

                Whedon got me when he started writng Astonishing X men and then he lost me when he brought Collosus back. I have not purchased an issue of Astonishing since.

                • SMARTASS8 says:

                  I must be the only regular poster on this blog who doesn’t mind the resurrection of characters. I can understand it if you don’t like the character(for me, that would be Ra’s al Ghul and Bart Allen), but why is bringing back a good character a bad thing?

                  • Stamps says:

                    I’m not opposed to it much myself that probably why I like “Brightest Day” fairly well.

                    I guessing that for many people they don’t like it because they are really invested in the story. And when they bring characters back it makes them feel like all that time they spent reading the story up-to, and after a character dies means nothing in the long run.

                    • SMARTASS8 says:

                      I guess, but considering superhero comics will still be going, in some form, long after we’re dead(God willing), it’s not like resurrecting a character killed a great story. These “stories” have been going since before most of out parents were born and have new installments come out every week. I also find it a little arrogant to feel that a character that we grew up with shouldn’t be able to return from the dead. That means later generation are going to be stuck with only shitty characters like Sentry, Captain Boomerang Jr, Wolverine Jr, etc.

                  • Stamps says:

                    I meant “I’m Guessing”

                  • phil says:

                    To the contrary, Smart….you’re one of many on here that either are in favor or are indifferent to the resurrecting deal.
                    Stamps pretty much has me down pat on how I feel about that kinda stuff.
                    Specifically addressing your Collosus question….Its because he was a good character…that’s where my frustration lays. Peter gives up his life for what he hopes will be a greater good and then what happens, Joss has a jones for Collosus, takes a crap on what a previous writer has done and decides to arbitrarily bring him back At that point I no longer cared when a character died in a comic, it became pointless.
                    BN, I shoulda known better, I knew there was only one way for this story to end up, but I went along for the ride anyway, so that’s my bad.
                    I’ll end this by saying…a few months ago I switched my preference from Marvel to DC….. at this rate it might be a miracle if by years end that I’m buying anything from the big two.
                    Apologies for being so long winded on this, I guess the more I was typing, the more I needed to type 🙂

                • cballsack says:

                  I was a fan of Colossus coming back because I didn’t want him to die in the first place.

                  • phil says:

                    I did not want him to die as well, however once it was done I accepted that he was gone. Hell, most of the deaths…I thought were unneccisary, but when the scythe has been swung,, that shoulda been it. When they come back, it cheapens the medium………………….but thats just me.

        • cballsack says:

          I think I saw one episode of Cop Rock.

  33. Deemar says:

    Watching Doctor Who season 3, the whole thing just bought it figured I need to brush up on my Who

  34. I wonder if James Cameron made this…

  35. Rob F says:

    In other news, I actually picked up Invincible Jose and I have to say it was a pretty good read. The art was jarring at times but the writing was very solid.

    • Was this the first trade Rob?

      J.

      • Rob F says:

        Actually it was the Invincible Returns issue you guys reviewed a while back. I guess I was kinda thrown from the main story to the back up artistically.

        • You liked Ryan Ottley’s art in the first story though, right? The second story was done by Cory Walker who was the original artist on Invincible when it started.

          J.

          • Rob F says:

            Yeah Ottley’s seems a much better fit for the story. The only other thing that was slightly weird was while reading about the Viltrumites I couldn’t help but get a Saiyan vibe off of them. Oh well, that could just be me.

            • Ottely is the regular artist on Invincible so if you liked his stuff more then you’ll enjoy Invincible now. I’m glad to hear you liked the issue. Are you going to start buying the new issues? Invincible #71 came out a few weeks ago and is the first part to the Viltrumite War.

              The Viltrumites do kinda have a Saiyan vibe to them. I can see that. But they also have those really cool mustaches.

              J.

              • Rob F says:

                Yeah those are definitely sweet upper lip sweaters. And yes, I do think I’ll jump on board for at least the next few issues. The dialogue about wheter or not to kill enemies was really compelling and I’m sure it will be plenty entertaining.

  36. TheMSpot says:

    Just saw the top selling graphic novel for April, and JESUS FUCKING CHRIST! REALLY?! GOD DAMN MARK MILLAR! MOTHERFUCKING MARK MILLER!!! I almost pulled a Elvis on my computer when I saw that.

    To Elvis- To shoot a inadament object out of anger. example: TV’s or cars

  37. TheMSpot says:

    Did any one catch the preview from Avengers #1, apparently Steve Rogers wants to turn the Avengers into Team America World Police. Bendis is such a joke.

  38. kurumais says:

    just got seats to ny red bulls vs juventus
    and man city and tottenham HOTSPURS are coming over too
    and one other team cant remember

  39. TheMSpot says:

    Whoever is the 300th commenter has to say THIS IS SPARTA!!! LOL

    • So, I have a stack of 14 comics that I have to get through so I can do some reviews. Already read Birds of Prey, Siege, Dark Avengers and…that’s it. I have now started and stopped reading New Avengers Finale like 4 times. I can’t get through it it seems…so terrible. I guess I’ll come back to it later yet again after I read something hopefully good. I guess I really should be reading these books and not typing comments on here, huh?

      J.

      • TheMSpot says:

        I can see paying for Birds of Prey, but don’t tell me you paid for Siege, Dark Avengers, or New Avengers Finale.

      • tomstewdevine says:

        Get back to work Jose, you got shit to do. The CCW nation needs it’s reviews.

      • SMARTASS8 says:

        I flipped through one of the Hulk books yesterday(I don’t know which one since the new trade dress has all the Hulk books with the same bland logo style) and they reveal who the Red Hulk and Red She-Hulk are.

        • Locusmortis says:

          Willie Lumpkin and Millie the Model?

        • SMARTASS8 says:

          What’s the deal with The Heroic Age? I know it isn’t technically a storyline but Marvel is already screwing up the books that fall under it. I believe Invincible Iron Man #25 was the first Marvel book that featured a “Heroic Age” logo on its cover(I’m talking regular covers and not the marked up incentive “Heroic Age” covers that Marvel is giving to every single book they publish), but it isn’t mentioned in their “Heroic Age” Marvel Previews freebie that was given out at stores yesterday. Black Widow #2 and Avengers Thor & Captain America Official Index To The Marvel Universe #1, which are listed in that freebie, don’t show any “Heroic Age” mention on their covers. Not only was Siege #4 late, they’re already fucking up their next hyped “event”.

        • They did smartass? I didn’t look through those. Who are they? Was I right about Rulk? Was Red She Hulk, Betty?

          J.

          • SMARTASS8 says:

            SPOILERS(for anyone who cares but I hope no one actually does)

            Betty & Thunderbolt Ross.

            • How is it Ross!? Rulk and Ross were allies. They weren’t the same person. Rulk killed Ross in Hulk #600 too. WTF? God Damn Loeb. Makes no sense. Knew he was going to pull this shit.

              J.

              • SMARTASS8 says:

                Again, I just flipped through the book. Since I didn’t read it, maybe I got it wrong. According to the last 2 pages, though, it looked like it was father & daughter Ross.

  40. What the fuck is this Sentry: Fallen Son comic? What a load of horseshit. Are you kidding me?

    J.

  41. In Flash #2 Barry saves a bunch of people from a rundown apartment building before it collapses. He then rebuilds it from scratch using new materials. So…is it OK for a superhero to steal hundreds of thousands of dollars worth of materials to build apartments? Barry surely doesn’t have that much money, right?

    J.

    • tomstewdevine says:

      Home Depot is big supporters of the speed force.

    • cballsack says:

      I say yes.

    • Mike F says:

      Yeah at the same time I kept thinking, so did he just steal all these items? Or did he just happen to find them laying around… Jesus, Johns is a fucking joke man.

      Yeah when Bendis took on 4 projects at a time, it turned out great, so why the fuck not you Geoff Johns?

      • Mike F says:

        I think the next time I go to my comic store, I’ll just laugh at every person who picks that Flash comic. It’ll be more fun than reading that piece of horseshit.

      • SMARTASS8 says:

        I think you get more incensed about Geoff Johns than anyone on this blog does about anything else(this is coming from the guy who tries to tie his bashing of JoeyQ into almost every conversation). You’re attacking Johns for writing Barry doing something that Wally, the Flash you prefer, has done himself before. Did Johns spit at you at a convention?

        I’m not attacking you for your opinion but I feel you’re going to have a stroke the next time an issue of Flash comes out.

        • Mike F says:

          haha i love that seinfeld episode!

          i loved geoff johns’ run with wally west, but i just get so confused with retcons… they just make me feel like in the long run its not worth buying the comics at all.

          but yeah, flash #2 was a bit better than #1. I actually liked a lot of it, but I still feel like Wally could of fit just as perfectly in this story..

          • Mike F says:

            The villain aspect of the story was the parts I liked, but I just get really stubborn over revised origins. I spent so many years reading so many Barry/Wally issues, and when I see the timelines change so drasticially, its like “what? in one issue its all different when I just spent my summer reading 60 or 70 issues trying to memorize his history? damnnnnnnn” lol

          • SMARTASS8 says:

            Personally, I’m not thrilled with either of the “big 2’s” ways of dealing with things. DC reboots/retcons a lot of things about their universe about once a decade while Marvel will casually ignore things and hope no one notices or cares. Either way, you’re going to piss off as many, if not more, people than those you please.

    • Rob F says:

      In John’s defense, I think the DC universe as a whole sems to be more accepting of their superheroes’ behavior. Or, it also could come back to bite Barry in the butt as this is some sort of small sign that you can’t right every wrong perfectly. Or maybe they weren’t really new but he used the Speedforce to accelerate chemical reactions or something. On that note, I think it’d be a good point to point out that the Speed Force is insanely overpowered.

      • Mike F says:

        or MAYBE (and work with me, this is just a theory, i know it has its flaws, its probably too early to tell) but maybe

        BARRY ALLEN IS SUPPOSE TO BE DEAD.

        And I say this in defense of all the people who’ve bought Flash comics the pass few years and feel like their entire world has been such a contradiction, that its officially a self-parody… Maybe. Like I said, could be too early to tell.

      • Mike F says:

        [If I should stubborn: its because I hate the fact that my favorite character is a joke now.]

      • Mike F says:

        I agree with you Rob F. I think the Speed Force is becoming too powerful. I feel like when a Hero gets too powerful, it makes it less appealing to read, every now and then I like the “under-dog” story, the guy who is outmatched but uses his brain to solve the conflict not muscle.

    • generaldark says:

      yea i called bullshit on that when i read what barry did there but i thought to myself because this is a comic and we dont get much moments like this i thought i would enjoy it. i really like this flash series. but dammit…i want wallY!!!

  42. cballsack says:

    Is anyone gonna see Robin Hood? I might if I go on a date this weekend.

  43. kurumais says:

    i finally read sheild #1 i really enjoyed it it reminded me of those early issues of planetary where i wasn’t quite sure where it was going but the ride was so fun i didnt care

  44. TheMSpot says:

    I’m not the only one on this blog that reads the Bleeding Cool blog, but has anyone seen that stupid acomicshop show or whatever the hell it’s called on the Bleeding Cool blog. Is it me or am I the only one who thinks that those guys come off as a little simple, and I can not believe that some one like Johnston would take these guys seriously.

    • SMARTASS8 says:

      I gave up after watching 2 of them. I can’t tell if they’re “simple” or if it’s an act, but I only have so much time on this planet left. I just don’t care.

    • tomstewdevine says:

      Ya, I got the ripping of the covers bit, but after that he should have quit. I just figued he was friends with someone at Bleedingcool

  45. Deemar says:

    Never seen it, I’ll be sure too check it out

  46. Bboyce109 says:

    I hope Sentry Fallen Sun will be up for a Golden Loeb this year. I spent $3.99 on bullshit stories that did not happen and im suppose to feel sorry for the Sentry. It was not to long ago we had the same shit for Hercules Funeral now for worst character in Marvel comics. If you want to know why i bought was because the previews said Fallen(Not Final Title, i was like okay aftermath of siege about Norman Osborn in custody so i added it to my pull list. I picked it up and went home with Siege#4, Embedded #4, Dark Avengers and New Avengers finale and i see Fallen Sun and im like what is this shit. I was hoping for Marvel to kill Sentry for along time and after him dying 3 times and coming back im pretty damn sure we haven’t seen the last of the Sentry.

  47. SMARTASS8 says:

    Did anyone find out what Bullseye did to Mrs. Sentry? I know he’s been around for awhile and is just a fictional character, but he’s been killing too long without being brought to justice. I hope I live to see both Bullseye and The Joker killed off(although since The Joker is one of the most well known superhero villains of all time, I don’t see that happening).

  48. SMARTASS8 says:

    I hope we see some reviews from you in the next couple of days Jose. I don’t care if it’s an all Geoff Johns bashing starting with how he can’t even spell his first name right, I need to hear some insightful negativity. LOL!

  49. AvS says:

    Hey alright, bottom of the hour, it’s almost the weekend ladies and germs! Alright!

    Coming at you with a little ‘Loverboy,’ these guys know a thing or two about the weekend. Alright!

  50. Mike F says:

    Lost Planet 2 looks kinda fun… anyone else up for it?

  51. Stamps says:

    It’s a sad day kiddies. “Law and Order’ got canceled.
    What the Fuck am I supposed to watch when I do mundane tasks in my living room, or at 2 in the morning when there is nothing else on. DAMMIT. Why couldn’t Criminal Intent get the ax.

    • Well, I’m sure TNT will still play the 21 season’s worth of reruns 10 out of the 24 hours everyday. So…there’s that.

      J.

      • Stamps says:

        Yeah that’s true. It’s just so unfortunate…

      • SMARTASS8 says:

        It’s ridiculous that they ended it one season away from beating Rawhide’s record. There was even a quote recently from NBC’s prime-time entertainment chief Angela Bromstad that said “I’m a Law & Order junkie. I wouldn’t want to be responsible for not having Law & Order break the record.” L&O gets canceled but Chuck gets renewed? I also love how they’re picking up L&O:Los Angeles. I like to pretend California doesn’t even exist but now it’s going to tarnish probably the best cop franchises ever.

    • Deemar says:

      Yeah, kinda an end of an era

      Although not really since we still have two L&O spin-offs and another on the way

  52. SMARTASS8 says:

    Either Jose is working hard tonight or playing hard. Where’s the Weekend Open Thread? LOL!

Leave a Reply

