Who’s Getting What This Week?

Posted: June 1, 2010 in Image, Vertigo, Viz Media

Ut-oh…either nothing really good is coming out his week or I’m starting to hate comics for reals. That’s OK though because the new Invincible is on the comic racks and all is right with the world. Here is my (very) short list of what I’m buying on Thursday:

I Zombie #2
Invincible #72

Looks like I’ll be able to catch up on my 20th Century Boys reading with all of that unspent money I’ll have and I’ll give Red Hood: Lost Days #1 a flip through to see if it peaks my interest. Also, don’t forget that comics will be released on THURSDAY this week in the U.S. As I have said before, if you come in on Wednesday this week your retailer will surely laugh at you as soon as you walk out the door in disappointment. I, of course, would never do such a thing. Most likely I will just laugh in your face as soon as you walked IN the door and then mock you by making crying noises as you walk out in shame. That’s just how I roll.

Anywho…what are you buying this week?

J.

Comments
  1. Mike F says:

    20th Century Boys should be you first Priority πŸ˜‰

    Seriously, Its better than any shit Marvel or DC is putting out, and I stand behind that statement.

    I’m curious about Invincible now tho… You seem to never give up on it, which makes it more convincing for me to try it out.

    • Quite a few people on here have tried out Invincible because I never shut the fuck up about it. Most of them are quite pleased they have.

      Seriously Mike, it’s the best American comic on the stands but that is just my opinion.

      J.

      • Mike F says:

        Yeah, I’d definitely take your work that its good. The covers all look really nice as well… Manga seems to be taking over my life once again. Its funny, Manga is what brought me to USA comics, but I guess ever since Pluto ended, I’ve felt like anything USA is just a step below (except a few JMS and Grant Morrison issues that never disappoint)

        But Invincible just may be my new fav πŸ™‚

  2. rush says:

    Sweet Tooth #10
    I Zombie #2
    Irredeemable #14
    Jonah Hex HC
    Claymore

  3. Mr.Wrestling says:

    Hey Jose, no interest in picking up the new Hawkeye & Mockingbird series?

    • Oh…I forgot about that. David Lopez is drawing it. Thanks for reminding me. I’ll have to flip though it before I decide to buy it though. The Hawkeye/Mockingbird mini that came out last year was just OK to me.

      J.

  4. SMARTASS8 says:

    Adventure Comics #12
    Batman Confidential #45
    Brightest Day #3
    Jokers Asylum The Riddler
    JSA All Stars #7
    Justice Society of America #39
    Red Hood Lost Days #1
    Superman Batman Annual #4
    The Great Ten #8
    I Zombie #2
    Authority #23
    Bulletproof Coffin #1
    GI Joe Origins #16
    Jonah Hex No Way Back HC (New Story)

  5. TheMSpot says:

    Invincible #73

    maybe
    A God Somewhere OGN but it is 24.99 and maybe the Red Hood book

  6. TheGateJester says:

    I feel the same as you J. that’s why I asked about some older stuff on the open thread. Its all indie stuff for me.

    I Zombie #2
    Sweet Tooth #10
    Demo Volume 2 #5
    Phillip K Dick’s Electric Ant #3

    Maybe:
    Red Hood Lost Days #1

  7. Benicio127 says:

    It’s a good thing I live in Canada. πŸ™‚

    Red Robin. Yay Fabian Nicieza! I have no idea how to pronounce his name!
    Red Hood: Lost Days. Jason? Ra’s? Talia? Yes.

    If I wasn’t a poor student again, I would pick up a tpb, Terra. Because it’s Amanda Conner, Queen of cheesecake, and Terra + PG.

  8. kurumais says:

    Chimichanga
    Black panther and cap flags of our fathers
    Thanos imperative
    Hercules twilight of the gods
    Spider girl
    Darkstar and winter guard
    jsa
    Maybes
    Red robin
    Avengers prime

  9. Bboyce109 says:

    DC

    Brightest Day #3
    Jokers Asylum The Riddler
    Justice Society of America #39
    Red Hood Lost Days #1
    Superman Batman Annual #4(Just because the new miniseries is comig out in two weeks)

    MARVEL

    Avengers Prime #1
    Avengers Spotlight #1

    • TheMSpot says:

      In regards to the Superman/Batman Annual your probably better of just getting the mini you really don’t need to waste your money on a annual written by Paul Levitz. Because the annual has nothing to do with the mini. Just trying to save you some money.

  10. mbell028 says:

    Hey What’s up guy’s?
    This week I’ll be getting
    Invincible 72
    IZombie 2

    Same books as Jose we got good taste

  11. generaldark says:

    my comic peeps said they would laugh at me if i went on wednesday too 😦 u retailers suck lol. im surprised people are getting izombie. the writing for the first issue was horrible. IMO

    • tomstewdevine says:

      I agree, Izombie was not good at all, If you want that beautiful art read a Madman Trade.

      • Izombie #1 was “Not good at all” but I see that you are buying Brightest Day #3 this week. Glass houses my friend.

        J.

        • generaldark says:

          i just cant stand izombies diolouge its annoying

          • The dialog between Hawkman and Harkgirl in Brightest Day is THE definition of annoying.

            J.

            • generaldark says:

              the dialog between all the charecters sounding words out like i dont know english is THE PICTURE next to the definition of annoying.

          • rush says:

            Mainstream superhero books have become soap operas to a certain extent, so what does that say about the dialogue? πŸ™‚

            • generaldark says:

              everystory is its own soap opera.

              • mbell028 says:

                wouldn’t say that issue one of IZombie wasn’t horrible or bad. For it being $1 I was very interested my only complaint with the book is that the hook for the book only happened in the last few pages the introduction of the characters took too long, but now that’s out of the way we can see what this books really about in issue 2

        • tomstewdevine says:

          I think my hopes were too high for this book, I read most Vertigo titles and figured this would be great so when the art was great but the story was very tough to get through, I guess it made me bitter when I saw the next one coming out. I’m reading Brightest Day because I feel that I am invested in the story with Blackest Knight and want to see what happens.

        • Stamps says:

          I liked I Zombie. Sometimes the art felt a little bit off from the dialogue but only in a couple of panels.

          • mbell028 says:

            I feel the same way about Brightest day after investing so much time into Blackest Night, but I’m only reading Green Lantern I figure I’m getting a good portion of the story and if I need to I have other means to read brightest day if I need to

  12. generaldark says:

    Invincible #72
    red hood
    brightest day ( i say that with hesitence)
    jokers asylum the riddler

    i love you judd winick (there my secret is out)

    • Benicio127 says:

      It always seems like fans who like some of Judd Winick’s work have to admit it as a secret shame. πŸ˜‰

      But seriously though, Jason and Judd are like ~magic~ together for me.

  13. tomstewdevine says:

    Extremely slow week……oh well, I just got Gotham Central 1-20 off ebay (14 bucks including shipping)

    Brightest Day #3
    Demo Volume 2 #5
    Sweet Tooth #10
    Serenity Float Out #1 (Patton Oswalt and Firefly, two of my favorite things, so lets see if they are any good together.)

  14. megamanx4ever says:

    Franken-Castle (Punisher) #17
    Invincible #72

  15. Thor & the Warriors Four #3 (Alex Zalben’s comic, which has been a ton of fun!)

    And seeing as Levitz is writing a Batman Beyond story WITH Superman, I’m picking up Superman/Batman Annual #4.

  16. Adam727 says:

    Red Robin #13 That’s it for me. Oh, and I might try to pick up some trades on Invincible.

  17. IronMuskrat says:

    Wow, I may actually get nothing this week..

    Ah, we will see..

    IM

  18. Stamps says:

    Batman Confidential #45
    Brightest Day #3
    Red Robin #13
    Superman Batman Annual #4
    I Zombie #2

  19. Pobra says:

    Sweet Tooth #10

    That is all.

  20. iqy92 says:

    i’m gonna pick up issues that i couldnt buy last week like return of bruce wayne 2 (art on the preview pages look amazing), heard its a vast imporovement on the 1st issue, cbr gave it a good review, has anyone else read it?

    Im quite busy and cashstrapped to buy comics, i’m only picking up series which i can’t wait to read the next issue like batman and robin and the walking dead. the rest can wait on trades, (i would pick up invicible, it is enjoyable but i can wait for a few months or so to read it in trade, its not a title where im eagerly waiting for the next issue that i can’t wait for the trade that i have to buy it monthly. its not a criticism its just i would rather prefer to read in trade, less mess in stacking away the floppies)

  21. generaldark says:

    ROBW #2 was great πŸ™‚

  22. david says:

    Jose do you like the Astonoshing Spiderman/Wolverine run?

    Im pretty peeved at comics atm (marvel really as i dont read Dc) however, i thought that this issue was a rare quality piece.

    i didnt even need to edit one single page.

    Im quite happy with it.

    your thoughts?

  23. Matthew Guy (mguy1977) says:

    ADVENTURE COMICS #12
    JONAH HEX NO WAY BACK HC
    X-MEN FOREVER GIANT-SIZE #1
    MOUSE GUARD LEGENDS O/T GUARD #1 (OF 4)

    Matthew

Leave a Reply

