Indie Flick Friday

Posted: June 4, 2010 in Indie Flick Friday, Movies
Tags: ,

Comments
  1. phil says:

    I don’t know if this qualifies as indie, but this is one of my top 20 still must see flicks.

  2. hackslash2020 says:

  3. Smallmaniac says:

    I enjoyed Happy Go Lucky.

    Not sure if this is an indie, but it opened at the Toronto Film Festival and it’s awesome.

  4. Pobra says:

    There have been several times when I’ve walked past “Away We Go” at the video store and contemplated renting it, but it just seemed kinda lame. I’m not a big fan of the guy from The Office (not even going to try to spell his name) and I was never a big fan of Mya Rudolph on SNL. But if Jose says it’s good… then it MIGHT actually be good. 🙂

    • He he. It’s not “lame” Pobra. If you’re thinking it’s a rom-com, it’s not. The film has some depth to it. I think you will like it.

      J.

      • Pobra says:

        I have nothing against rom-com’s, some of my favorite movies are rom-com’s (Eternal sunshine), but as long as they do have some depth and are actually funny, then it’s all good. You didn’t steer me wrong with 500 Days of Summer, so I’ll give AWG a chance.

      • Mike F says:

        Its not lame? It really looked bad…

        Ever since Wes Anderson got popular, “dry” humored films have been becoming a bigger trend than before his time. Honestly, I looked at this trailer and thought it was another wanna be Life Aquatic or Royal Tennenbaums but with that dude from the office.

        But if you say its good, maybe I’ll rent… Its not that I don’t like those Dry humor movies, I just feel like sometimes they are WAYYYYYYY overdone even Wes overdid it with Darjeeling Limited.

        • Are you calling me a liar?

          J.

          • Mike F says:

            I am, Jose. I’m afraid I am… But I already did the overnite rent about 18 minutes ago actually so we’ll find out if this flick lives up to par…

            FYI – Also got Rashomon. I know I’ve seen it before, but Akira Kurosawa is always good, just in case this movie completely sucks 🙂

            • So, if you don’t like it are you going to insist that I AM a liar because I said it wasn’t lame? Am I now not allowed to have a differing opinion than you? I love the fact that you are calling me a liar even though I HAVE seen the movie in question and you have seen a trailer. Nice.

              Sorry the film had nothing to do with manga, anime, video games or Asian culture in general. Fucking hell…

              J.

              • Mike F says:

                Huh? Jose, I wasn’t serious when I said you were a liar man…

                I don’t know why your getting so upset over something like this. You often say to ppl on this board what you think of sites like IGN (and how they suck, which I also agree) and they don’t flip out about it. If your gonna get upset over this, then I apologize that I hurt your feelings but for the record I wasn’t serious when I said you were a liar…

                • Well, when others or I talk about how sucky IGN is people who do like IGN don’t flip out because that is an opinion. The reason I flipped out is because you called ME a liar and it was a personal insult directed at me. Little bit of a difference there.

                  J.

                  • Mike F says:

                    It honestly wasn’t tho. I never said/implied you were a liar, I just said It looked lame. You randomly saying “Am I a liar?” came off to me as a somewhat joke or something. I wasn’t aware you were be serious, thus I replied with a sarcastic tone “yes I am, I”m afraid I am…” It was in NO way meant to be rude or mean, it was all in good fun bro. Honest.

                    I would NEVER insult you or ANYONE on this blog. Personal or in general, I don’t wanna hurt anyone’s feelings here. You guys are all awesome and I’m very happy to be apart of this site.

                    Again, I hope this doesn’t leave things sour, I am sincerely sorry and hope you’ll understand.

              • Mike F says:

                If it means anything I did kinda like it, so I’m kinda happy I rented it.

      • SMARTASS8 says:

        I thought Away We Go was going to be shit since I hated the trailer(it seemed too “indie” for me) but it was one of my favorite movies of last year.

        Happy Go Lucky just made me cringe more than an entire season of Curb Your Enthusiasm.

  5. rush says:

    Not the greatest thing since sliced bread but entertaining nevertheless.

  6. TheGateJester says:

    Here are some good movies…

  7. phil says:

    the only thing I’ve ever liked Reese in

Leave a Reply

