Who’s Getting What This Week?

Posted: June 21, 2010 in DC Comics, Marvel, Vertigo

Blerg…too many damn comics for me this week. I need to do something about this in the near future. This will be the last chance some of these titles will be getting unless they impress me more than they have been lately. Here’s what I’ll be buying on Wednesday:

American Vampire #4
Fantastic Four #580 (Jonathan Hickman, Last Chance)
Gantz Vol 11
Green Lantern Corps #49 (Last Chance)
Joe The Barbarian #6
Power Girl #13 (No Amanda Conner = Last Chance)
Sea Bear and Grizzly Shark #1
Secret Warriors #17 (Jonathan Hickman, Last Chance)
Superman #700
Thunderbolts #145 (Jeff Parker)
X-Factor #206 (Peter David)
Zatanna #2 (Last Chance)

So, anything you almost ready to drop? Also, what are you getting this week?

J.

Comments
  1. Bboyce109 says:

    DC
    Batman Return of Bruce Wayne #3
    Detective Comics #866
    Green Arrow #1
    Green Lantern Corps #49
    Jokers Asylum Killer Croc
    Justice League Generation Lost #4
    Superman #700

    MARVEL
    Amazing Spider-Man #635
    Avengers #2
    Hulk #23
    Secret Warriors #17
    Thunderbolts #145
    Ultimate Comics Avengers 2 #4

    A heavy week for me.

  2. rush says:

    American Vampire #4
    Joe The Barbarian #6
    Incorruptible #7

  3. iqy92 says:

    only BRBW, i think i’ll stop buying floppies and buy only monthlies which i’m super excited for the next issue which at the mo, only morrison’s batman is the only book i can’t wait to be collected in trade. i’ll still be buying hickman’s run on ff, vampire, daredevil, unwritten, scalped, walking dead, etc. but only in trade.

  4. Mike F says:

    I dropped Secret Warriors a while ago. Its funny, after Bendis left, it got worse? NO! That can’t be!

    Also, I’m happy to say I’m buying my first Superman comic (except all-star). Very happy knowing JMS is writing it as well.

    Fantastic Four still does it for me. I know most people aren’t in the same boat but IDK, I feel like there’s a promise to it. Plus I’ve ALWAYS bought FF for the title not the writer. I just can’t go w/o it :\

    Green Arrow has been great with Krul on board, so I’m happy about the relaunch (I just don’t see why they couldn’t keep it at the current title, why start over? Jesus…)

    No way in Hell am I buying Zatanna again unless Dini is kicked off for the shit he’s producing on that title. I also need to catch up on Gantz…

  5. TheMSpot says:

    Joe The Barbarian #6

    maybe Superman #700 for JMS

  6. SmokeyClocks says:

    Joe the Barbarian #6
    American Vampire #4
    Batman Return of Bruce Wayne #3
    Amazing Spider Man #635
    maybe Green Arrow #1

  7. tomstewdevine says:

    Batman Return of Bruce Wayne #3- Grant better tone down the craziness or this series is not going to pull together.
    Justice League Generation Lost #4- I have to have my Blue Beetle fill, Will someone please give this character his own series again.
    American Vampire #4
    Joe The Barbarian #6
    Fantastic Four #580- I still think this series is killing it, we now know what the 4 cities are, so the shit should be hitting the fan pretty soon. Hopefully all you guys on the fence with this series sticks it out.
    Thunderbolts #145
    X-Men Legacy #237- The Second Coming crossover is fucking outstanding. Ya, who would have guessed.
    God Complex #7
    Mouse Guard Legends of the Guard #2

    I’m surprised Jose, that you are not picking up “Sea Bear & Grizzly Shark”, what with you being a big Ottley fan.

  8. tomstewdevine says:

    and Superman, forgot JMS is starting his run.

  9. kurumais says:

    namora
    tbolts
    joe the barbarian
    maybe
    green arrow
    detective
    avengers

  10. mbell028 says:

    Hey What’s up Guys? This week I’ll be getting:
    American Vampire 4
    Joe the Barbarian 6
    Wolverine Weapon X 14

    SMall week for me It’s pretty nice stinks that two of the books are $3.99, but they’re both good books. Wolverine Weapon X is down to it’s last three issues it’s a shame its ending I’ve really enjoyed it since issue one. The new Wolverine series coming out in September sounds pretty awful. “Hey Everybody Wolverine’s going to hell and he doesn’t like it!!!” Wow really original marvel is he going to have to fight the devil? GAY!!!

  11. megamanx4ever says:

    Amazing Spider-Man #635
    Avengers #2
    Thunderbolts #145
    Ultimate Comics Avengers 2 #4

  12. Insideman says:

    Lotsa trades as usual. I may also buy the “Get Fuzzy” collection if I don’t already have that. I love that strip.

    Zatanna #2 is my only comic buy this week. Like you Jose: #2 shows a marked improvement over #1 or it’s eyB, eyB, eyB. (A little Zatanna humor.)

    I feel so privileged that I got to meet Dan DeCarlo several times before he passed. What a COOL guy he was! Given Dan’s Pin-Up Art past, I’m also the proud owner of a very detailed, VERY RACY Betty & Veronica pencil & ink piece (with both ladies falling out of their two-piece bikinis). Not PC but still unbelievably sexy (& gorgeous)!

    Archie Best of Dan DeCarlo Vol 1 HC
    Authority The Lost Year Book 1
    Batman Arkham Asylum Madness HC (New Story by Sam Kieth)
    Captain Midnight Chronicles Vol 1
    Jack of Fables Vol 7 New Adventures of Jack & Jack
    Jon Sable Freelance Ashes of Eden Vol 1
    Life and Times of Martha Washington in 21st Century
    Marvels Eye of the Camera HC
    Nova Vol 6 Realm of Kings
    Project Superpowers Black Terror Vol 2
    Proof Vol 4 Julia
    Red Sonja Vol 8 Blood Dynasty HC
    Saga Of The Swamp Thing Book 3 HC
    Spider-Man and Secret Wars
    Thor by Jurgens and Romita Jr Vol 3
    Worlds Finest
    X-Men Noir Mark of Cain HC
    X-Men SWORD No Time to Breathe

    • cballsack says:

      Wow, you must make nice dough.

      • Locusmortis says:

        or he gets comps πŸ˜›

        And yup, Dan DeCarlo was an amazing artist, right up there with the best of the best.

        • Insideman says:

          I WISH they were comped! πŸ™‚

          Some weeks I look at the total– even after the SUPER EXCELLENT discount my comic store gives me on my weekly mail order– and I go, “WTF? I mean seriously, WTF?” (Remember I buy from a COMIC STORE that sends me my books– not a mail order service only outlet like Amazon.) It doesn’t seem like it this week– but I have actually gotten a lot more selective with what I buy.

          In all the rising comic price uproar– people tend to forget that HC editions have also gone from being routinely priced at $19.99– to at least $24.99 (or higher). So, Marvel & DC are not just pricing themselves out of the floppy market. Think about it, retail on JUST TWO HCs is the cost of a slightly discounted BRAND NEW PS3 or Xbox 360 video game… Many of which you can buy for $52 or $55 on Amazon a week after release (if not lower). There would have to be some damn compelling stories in those 2 books to contend with the lure of the games in the average consumer’s mind.

          A textbook example of comics pricing themselves at the level of other entertainment– when the other entertainment can often supply much more “bang” for your buck. All this means, just like Jose and Elliott have told you over and over– is that the Big Two have a bunker mentality now. They’re not trying to get new readers– just get more money from the fans they have now.

          The dollar “Try Me” books don’t count either… because once a new reader discovers that floppies with new material are $3.99 or hardcovers START at $24.99– they’ll run away from their new found comics rack so fast that it would make your head spin. The only people that $1.00 “Try Me” books may affect are, again, CURRENT comic fans.

          Most weeks are NOT dominated by the “Big Two” like this one seems to be… and I actually look forward to those weeks a lot more… Even if they can be pricier. If you don’t buy Trades and Hardcovers (and don’t really notice what is released every week)– you would be ASTOUNDED at the amount of stuff that IS released. Unfortunately, these days dollar-wise– the total is ALWAYS astounding… and again, that is with my super great discount (which, in case anyone is wondering, the comic store offers this deal to ANYBODY… not just me because I buy a lot. Buy 1, 2 or 20… EVERYBODY gets the SAME discount deal on their books… Which is EXACTLY the way it SHOULD be!)

  13. hackslash2020 says:

    amazing spider-man (enjoying it!)
    avengers 2 (whatever :-P)
    frankencastle 18 (I am actually looking forward to see the punisher gets his revenge)
    hulk 23 (I am very happy to drop this series after this arc)
    powers 5 (although a big fan of the 1st powers series, I am gonna drop this title)
    secret warriors (when will all the storylines come together and make some sense? I am losing patience here)
    thunderbolts (because last issue was so good I am gonna see what issue 145 has in store)
    wolverine weapon x (great series, but glad that it is ending, cause its a 3,99 book)
    nova Vol 6 tpb (The first nova trades were awesome but this will probably be my last installment)

    On another note:

    Are there any fans of the Dark Horse Manga: Eden: it’s an endless world ?
    Vol 12 came out in 2009 and there hasnt been an announcement for a next volume.
    Whats going on?

  14. Matthew Guy (mguy1977) says:

    BATMAN STREETS OF GOTHAM #13
    GREEN ARROW #1
    LEGION OF SUPER HEROES #2
    POWER GIRL #13
    SUPERGIRL #53
    SUPERMAN #700
    ZATANNA #2
    AMAZING SPIDER-MAN #635
    FANTASTIC FOUR #580
    X-FACTOR #206 XSC
    X-MEN LEGACY #237 XSC
    POWERS #5

    Matthew

  15. Stamps says:

    Batman Return of Bruce Wayne #3
    Batman Streets of Gotham #13
    Detective Comics #866
    Jokers Asylum Killer Croc
    Zatanna #2

    It’s an all bat-family book week for me apparently

  16. MicahSkin says:

    X-Factor
    Sea Bear and Grizzly Shark

    No idea what its about but I have to have it.

  17. DidioForever says:

    Batman: Return of Bruce Wayne #3 (Have you guys reviewed any of this series yet?)

    Detective Comics #866 (Loved Denny’s last Batman/Dick Grayson story in the Batman: Last Rites series)

    Superman #700 (Thus begins my first ever Superman run)

    Amazing Spider-Man #635 (Wish I didn’t have to pay an extra $1 for a f**king KAINE back-up)

  18. avengers 2 (this better start getting good)

    secret warriors 17 (i gave up fantastic four and am just getting it later in trade)

    dynamo 5 1 (i hope this dosen’t go to 2nd printing otherwise i’ll never get it for ages)

    mystery society 1 (went to second printing so will be picking it up thanks for recommending it guys)

    thunderbolts 145(love what jeff parker is doing with this team and spoiler alert zemo’s back yaaaaaaaaaaaa love zemo this is gonna be interesting)

    shield 1 3rd printing (finally getting this i ordered this way back when you guys reviewed it and turf 1 and beacause my shop is so small and is if the only one of the only comic shops in northen ireland and if something goes to 2 or 3 printing it takes forever to get it)

    invincible tbp vol 1 (need to get into this comic so after reading no 1 on the image website i thought i have to get into this comic.

  19. Mike F says:

    I really wanna try out LEGION OF SUPER HEROES #2…

  20. -Sea Bear and Grizzly Shark#1 (I’ll be buying this instead of GLC. I want to try something new. Plus Sea Bear and Grizzly Shark looks awesome!)

    -American Vampire#1 (I really want to give this series a try, so I am!)

    I’m going to be buying mostly indies now because I want to support those newer comic book creators get noticed. Plus I want to be a comic book writer someday so I would like to support the indy creators as much as I can. btw how much is Sea Bear and Grizzly Shark?

  21. TheRichestManinTown says:

    I wish I lived in Illinois so I could go to your store Jose. My LCS sucks deeek! I had to go to Hastings to find Batman 700.

  22. zcorp79 says:

    DC
    Superman 700- Picking it up because of JMS
    Green Lantern #49
    ROBW #3
    Green Arrow #1- I have been hearing good things though you guys here and I like what I read from the preview pages.
    Legion of Super-Heroes #2
    DC #866

    Marvel
    ASM #635
    FF #580
    TB #145
    Secret Warriors #17

  23. Johnny Cockburn says:

    small pick up for me. i’m trying real hard not to give marvel money. unfortunately, dc is slowly starting to fail me too. but anyway, these are my picks ups for the 23rd:

    DC
    Batman: Return of Bruce Wayne #3 (first time i ever pick up a batman-centric book)
    Green Arrow #1 (ditto here)
    Green Lantern Corps #49 (he may not be tomasi, but bedard can do no wrong)
    Justice League Generation Lost #4 (the last issue saved this series for me)
    Legion of Superheroes #2 (i wasn’t too impressed with #1 so this issue and the next will be the “trial of worth” to see if it stays on my list)

    MARVEL
    X-Factor #206

    ya that’s it. fuck a bendis and fuck a bendis tainted marvel. although tbolts looks really damn good, i just can’t fully support the idiot age…but i’m sure i’ll read it somehow…

    cyber pirate, away~

  24. generaldark says:

    people really need to be reading JL generation lost, its picking up nicely.

  25. Pobra says:

    Amazing spider-Man #635 (mixed feelings on this. Joe Kelly > 3.99 for a Kaine back-up. Hrm.)
    Batman: R.O.B.W. #3 (very much looking forward to this)
    Fantastic four #580 (still enjoying it)
    Green Lantern corps #49 (dig the new creative team)
    Secret Warriors #17 (this book REALLY does need to start going somewhere and fast)
    Superman #700 (haven’t been able to enjoy a Superman book since All-Star, it’s all on you JMS).

  26. Constantanius says:

    DC

    Batman Return of Bruce Wayne #3
    Justice League Generation Lost #4
    Justice League the Rise of Arsenal #4
    Legion of Super-Heroes #2
    Supergirl #53
    Superman #700
    Superman Batman #73
    Zatanna #2

    Marvel

    Iron Man Legacy #3
    X-Factor #206
    X-Men Legacy #237

    Other

    Green Hornet #5
    Gantz #11

  27. TheGateJester says:

    Sup Guys!

    Batman Return of Bruce Wayne #3
    Detective Comics #866
    Green Lantern Corps #49
    Justice League Generation Lost #4
    Superman #700
    Zatanna #2
    American Vampire #4
    Joe The Barbarian #6
    Fantastic Four #580
    Secret Warriors #17
    Thunderbolts #145
    Cover Run The DC Comics Art of Adam Hughes HC

    Maybe/Look Through:
    Sea Bear and Grizzly Shark #1
    Legion of Super-Heroes #2
    Power Girl #13
    Namora #1 (Does anyone if Parker is writing this?)

  28. phil says:

    No ducketts to splurge with this week, which is actually okay since there’s not anything calling out to me. I’ll probably have my comics guy hold T’bolts for me. hmmmm, maybe next week.
    By the way, what’s up with the last chance stuff, Jose? Powergirl, I figured it was Connor’s departure. As I’m typing this…I’m guessing its the price, correct?

  29. rush says:

    Jose what’s going on with the Humanoid books? I heard some got canceled and others are delayed?

Leave a Reply

