CCW Weekend Open Thread

Posted: July 3, 2010 in CCW Nation, CCW Open Thread

Comments
  1. Mike F says:

    WARNING: To all you 20TH CENTURY BOY fans out there, don’t read the YouTube video’s comments. Naturally the assholes include spoilers in every post -___- Ughh But yeah Enjoy Kenji’s epic song.

    • I want to see the movies but I am really trying to wait till all of the volumes of the manga are out. It’ll be a while.

      J.

    • Mike F says:

      Me too man. Have you hit vol 8 yet?

      • Nope. Just started Vol 6. I’m sloooooowly getting there.

        J.

      • Mike F says:

        oh, that’s good tho. I mean each volume is a masterpiece itself really… I really wish the Viz Media imports were coming out faster tho.

      • rush says:

        I read the whole series over three days. Damn I was tired.

        • Mike F says:

          Online? Ehh, I refuse to read comics online. I like the idea of holding it and supporting the greatest comic writer in Japan. You enjoyed it Rush?

          • rush says:

            I had to read it online, I hate the idea of waiting for it to come out in the US. I liked it a lot. One of my all time favorites.

            • Insideman says:

              Are we talking about One Piece being great? Is this a Manga I should be reading? And Naruto is good too? (Manga newbie… Only looking for GREAT stuff.)

              • No, we were talking about 20th Century Boys. No need to read One Piece or Naruto.

                J.

                • Insideman says:

                  Jose, thanks for just saving me several hundred dollars. Now I most definitely OWE you TWO beers!

                  • Naruto and One Piece are fine for what they are. They remind me a lot of Bleach. Every few volumes you get that “Been there, done that” feel to it. Or maybe that just me. So much better manga out there currently.

                    A new one I picked up about a month ago called “Kingyo Used Books Vol 1” may interest you. It’s a new series from the Viz Signature line.

                    J.

                    • Insideman says:

                      I will check it out. (Writing notes.) Not smart enough to remember everything.

                    • Insideman says:

                      Just saw the cover. Awww… if only her skirt had been shorter! Alas, but I’ll get it anyway. (Still obsessed with the CONCEPT of “fan service”.)

                    • Another manga that I just thought of that is long out of print is called “Short Program” There were two volumes to it. It is a collection of short stories by Mitsuru Adachi. I fucking love his stuff.

                      Viz is actually going to release his baseball/romance manga called Cross Game in October. It is probably my most eagerly anticipated release of this year.

                      J.

                    • Mike F says:

                      at Insideman, if you still want Fan-service read AIR GEAR. Trust me, its a great script with epic moments and plenty of fan-service πŸ˜‰

                    • Insideman says:

                      Good to know Mike… Thanks. πŸ˜‰

              • rush says:

                I was talking about 20th Century Boys. I have not read One Piece or Naruto but consistently hear good things about it.

              • Mike F says:

                In my opinion, and I hate the be the one jerk here, but when I tried to read Naruto and One Piece, I just couldn’t stop laughing at how bad they were. Really. Stick with Urasawa, Oku, & Otomo. Those are the royal three in my book. But if you end up liking Naruto and O.P. its cool I guess………………

  2. rush says:

    Nice Paranoia Agent pic.

  3. Things I’m currently reading:

    – Avengers Forever. It’s about time I read a good Avengers story! Unfortunately I don’t have issue#12 😦 WAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHH!

    – Blankets. I’m only halfway through and I’m already in love with this book. Please consider reading this book if you haven’t already.

    – Yu-Gi-Oh! Millenium volumes 1-4. Hey, don’t laugh! I grew up with the TV show and was a HUGE collector of the trading cards for a while. It’s nice to re-visit childhood memories.

    Things that aren’t comic books that I’m reading:

    – Mere Christianity by C.S. Lewis

    – I’m also about to start Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card.

    Sigh… I have too much to read. That’s probably a good thing πŸ™‚

    • I read all of Blankets in one sitting. I could not put that book down.

      J.

      • Wow, you read it all in one sitting?!? I’ve been kinda busy lately and I’ve been distracted by other things to read. If you need proof, look at my list of stuff I’m reading πŸ™‚

        • Insideman says:

          Yeah, Jose read it at while he was working at the comic store. You know that thing runs itself. πŸ˜‰

          • Heh, it sure does. Workin’ there is easy peasy.

            J.

          • Insideman says:

            Was it good, Jose? It gets overall excellent ratings on Amazon.

            • Whoa…You’ve never read it? I am actually surprised by that. It’s one of the best graphic novels I have ever read. Easily in Top 5 for me. Maybe even Top 3.

              J.

              • Insideman says:

                I just missed it somehow.

                Which is why I rely on you guys to clue me in. I’ve read a ton of really cool completely off most people’s radar stuff but somehow that just passed me by.

                I will rectify that situation in about 1 minute. πŸ™‚

              • Insideman says:

                I also have Asterios Polyp, The Waiting Place, Essex County, the “Alec: The Years Have Pants” Omnibus, Miss Lasko-Gross’ Escape from Special & a Mess of Everything and Cathy Malkasian’s Percy Gloom & Temperance, etc, etc. staring me in the face to read too.

                Jose, What are your other top 5 (or even 10) Independent books… If I may ask?

                • Hmmm…here’s what comes to mind right now (It would take me forever to do an actual definitive Top 10 list with my OCD) and not counting the two Craig Thompson books.

                  Palookaville by Seth
                  Peepshow by Joe Matt
                  Acme Novelty Library by Chris Ware
                  Schizo by Ivan Brunetti
                  Artbabe by Jessica Abel
                  The Nightly News/Pax Romana by Jonathan Hickman
                  Minimum Wage by Bob Fingerman
                  Dork by Evan Dorkin

                  Those are just some books off the top of my head that I have read and enjoyed greatly.

                  J.

                  • Insideman says:

                    This is a great list. Read Nightly News when it was first released. That was off the charts.

                    I read (and loved) Jessica Abel’s “Life Sucks!” several years ago. I wanted so much to turn that into an HBO or Showtime series and then a “little” show called “True Blood” derailed that idea.

                    • hackslash2020 says:

                      Here are two graphic novels that are on par with Blankets:

                      Three Shadows by Cyril Pedrosa

                      Blacksad by Juanjo Guarnido.

                      Do yourself a big favor and pick these two up.
                      These are hands down one the best books out there.

                      3 Shadows was chosen as the best comic book in 2009.
                      Blacksad is in the top 10 of greatest of all-time.
                      (dutch charts)

                    • Insideman says:

                      Purchased Blacksad a couple of weeks ago. Just haven’t read it yet. Want to… badly.

                      Will definitely check out Three Shadows.

                    • Insideman says:

                      Meant to also write, “Thanks” hack/slash!

                    • Insideman says:

                      Just picked up Three Shadows… Saw a preview and it looked really intriguing! Thanks!

                  • cballsack says:

                    These are all books that I’ve wanted to read but never got around to. I’ll definitely check them out.

                • Also, all the books you mentioned are on my radar and also on my “Must Read” list. Asterios Polyp will probably be the first bought off that list.

                  J.

                  • rush says:

                    I thought you would have read that one already for sure.

                  • Insideman says:

                    Check out this Books-A-Million deal Way better than Amazon or Barnes & Noble)… Proves your and Elliott’s point about trades:

                    Good-Bye, Chunky Rice $8.92
                    Blankets $19.75
                    Carnet de Voyage $13.45
                    Kingyo Used Books, Volume 1 $8.95

                    The total of $51.07 represents an overall discount of 28% plus I used a $10 off $50 coupon for a total a 48% discount at $41.07. Plus no tax and free shipping.

                    Put into perspective, “Blankets” is $29.95 retail.

                    I threw in Carnet de Voyage to get the deal.

                    • rush says:

                      I ordered Absolute Planetary vol 1&2 from them. Their price for Absolute Promethea vol 2 was outlandish.

                    • rush says:

                      I’m also trying to put together the entire run of Warrior. It has the V For Vendetta in it’s original black and white format, as it should have been published here.

                    • Insideman says:

                      Be sure to use their internet coupons, Rush… They can make for crazy good deals.

    • phil says:

      @ cbdude: Despite the fact that I’m not a time travely kinda guy, I must admit that Aforever was quiye epic!!

  4. Out of curiosity do you guys still go to the CCW Chat Room? I haven’t seen anyone on there for ages…

  5. Try clicking on this: http://tinychat.com/twitter/GeekToMe

    Let’s see if this works.

    Elliott

  6. Insideman says:

    Jose, an earlier quick exchange you had (I think yesterday) with another poster has prompted me to start reading Greendale.

    About halfway through. It is an easy, excellent read with beautiful art and printing.

    I am loving it all so far. Will report in on the final feel when I am done later… As the overall tone is just about make a major league shift in the book.

  7. Insideman says:

    I will. Definitely later tonight/this morning. Oh! Happy 4th, everyone!

  8. rush says:

    You guys buy art books?

    • I used to buy a lot back in the day. Mostly magna/anime/video game imports. Not so much anymore. I think the last art book I bought was the Art of Brian Bolland. May pick up the new Adam Hughes book though.

      J.

      • rush says:

        I have to get that Bolland book as well as the new Harris book. I’ve been digging Swallow and Sparrow by IDW.

      • Heck says:

        I like a lot of classical art. Bibical stuff is neat (DaVinci, Michelangelo). I also digg any rare medieval iconography.

        I just bought a book of art inspired by Bob Dylan’s lyrics which is pretty boss. My ex girlfriend was a painter so I have a lot more interest than I used to. She was more into modern art though, not my thing but she sure had talent.

        • rush says:

          I hear ya about modern art. It can be great or it can be absolute crap. I went to the MOMA in San Francisco where one of the pieces on display was literally a whale terd. Clearly I am not sophisticated enough to appreciate it.
          You can’t go wrong with the old masters. Along with the guys you mentioned I like Botticelli. I’ve also come to appreciate Gian Lorenzo Bernini’s sculptures.

          • Deemar says:

            Whale fece art?

            Wow

          • Heck says:

            See, to me, a whale terd is not art. Art needs to be worked for. Something that an artist creates and slaves for. Like a painting or a novel. The feces of a creature is not anything like art. I guess I’m old fashioned.

            I don’t even see a lot of what Andy Warhol did as art. He mass-produced images of canned goods and the like. Too me, that isn’t art. It’s neat, but it isn’t art.

      • Insideman says:

        I’m thinking of buying the Adam Hughes book too… Especially since I have all of the recent Women of the DC Universe busts and the Cover Girls of the DC Universe statues he he designed.

        Last art book: Apes & Babes by Frank Cho. (BLUSH)

        I have been focusing a lot on the classic comic strip collections: Complete Dick Tracy, Prince Valiant, Jett Scott, Bloom County Library, Captain Easy and Lil Abner (which I will STOP buying once the strip collections move into the 70’s because creator Al Capp turned into an outspoken political bastard around then). I also have a soft spot of the new Dan DeCarlo Archie collection from IDW and his other collections (like Jetta)… His stuff is just so cool.

        I have always bought the Peanuts slipcase collections.

        Also a big fan of ANYTHING Tony Millionaire does (Sock Monkey & Drinky Crow’s Maakies Treasuries).

        Can’t believe I forgot to mention this before– I LOVE David Malki’s Wondermark books from Dark Horse. Hilarity from beginning to end.

        And Dan Clowes’ “WILSON”? Oh fuck, I couldn’t stop laughing while reading that book. (Still do when I think about it.) Even read it OUT LOUD to people. Wilson is SUCH an unaware prick… And unfortunately, I know DOZENS of assholes just like him. πŸ˜‰

    • phil says:

      Back in the day I had the first four Frazetta fantasy books, as well as the 1st Boris volume. I also had a book that featured four of the most happening artists in the mid seventies/earl eighties; Wrightson, Kaluta, Windsor-Smith and Jeff Jones.

      Right now I have a fairly thick book on Frazetta, as well as an Excess: the art of Michael Golden and Modern Masters: Michael Golden

      Hoping to get books by; Brian Bolland (when I can find it for under 50 bones), Adam Hughes, Brian Stellfreeze, Hiroshi Hirata, Wally Wood, Art Adams, Alex Raymond and Brian Stellfreeze…to name a few.

      Does anyone know whrther Stellfreeze even have an art book out?

  9. Deemar says:

    I am Drunk off my ass!

      • Deemar says:

        Hah!

        I had a big ass BBQ today all my buddies was over and beer and meats were consumed.

        Fuck I’m slogged

        • rush says:

          “my girlfriend’s a vegitarian which pretty much makes me a vegitarian. But I do love the taste of a good burger”

          • Deemar says:

            Been there buddy.

            Just sneak a burger when she ain’t lookin’

          • phil says:

            @ rush: You think being a vegitarian’s a beast, try veganism; now that’s a real monster. I’ve been a non-meat-eater since ’93, but I seem to be dairy’s beeeyattchh. Although I’ve been dairy free for June and counting.
            Oddly I’m quite overweight. Big G only knows where’d I be if I were still a carnivore.
            Kicker is..all this stuff is self-imposed.

            • Luiz de Mello says:

              I don’t think Galactus knows anything about that.

              • phil says:

                Galactus has his heralds look foe planets that are abundant in wheatgrass, Luiz!

                • Luiz de Mello says:

                  That is how he defines what planets are good for consumption, I have never thought of that! Explains a lot why he chose Earth over Jupiter and Saturn!

            • cballsack says:

              You think being vegan’s a beast, try being a raw foodist who only eats organic; now that’s a real monster.

              And it’s quite easy to be overweight as a vegan, if you’re eating lots of empty carbs like pasta and chips and breads, etc. Plus, products containing high fructose corn syrup will cause you to gain weight as well since your liver can’t metabolize that stuff.

              Good job on giving up dairy, though. Try to eat more greens. Fruits and veggies should comprise the majority of your diet. I promise that’ll help you lose weight.

              • phil says:

                well cbs, good call on the pasta chips and bread. Guilty, guilty, and guilty, the worse part is while i’ve given up meat, i’m a sucker for the faux meats and althogh flavorful, since its processed, the sodium thats used is off the charts; veggie dogs, veggie chik’n etc.etc. So I got me a ways to go.

                • cballsack says:

                  Hang in there, dude. Changing your diet is not easy but it’s worth it. My suggestion is to get yourself a high speed blender like a Vitamix so you can make yourself daily smoothies. Just combine fruits, leafy greens, and water. Done. It’s an easy way to get eat healthy and you should start to lose a little weight too.

            • rush says:

              My girfriend and I decided together to give up eating meat. I actually feel better. But as a person who loves pork fat I do miss it sometimes. I also had to change my cooking style which has been tough too. I fuckin miss chocolate covered bacon, if you have not had this tasty treat seek it out. Good luck guys with your health goals.

              • phil says:

                Of the things that I’ve regretted missing out on….one being deep fried turkey another being octopus and last but not least…lobster
                …..the one thing I’m glad that I’ve never seen prepared is chocolated covered bacon. That just sounds like so many kinds of wrong. Heck, I’ve never understood the whole putting pineapple on ham, or pizza for that matter. There’s just something about mixing sweet with savory that’s unappealing to me, but that’s just me. πŸ™‚

                • cballsack says:

                  Oh, I was a big fan of adding pineapples to my pizza back in the day. Here’s what I really loved: pineapples plus kimchee or sauerkraut on my pizza. If I had ever opened my own pizza place, I was going to sell that as my “sweet & sour pizza.”

    • rush says:

      I wish I was drunk right now.

      • Deemar says:

        No parting, no beer Rush?

        It’s 4th july weekend go wild!

        • rush says:

          Later today there will much drinking.

        • phil says:

          @ D-mar:

          I might break down, get a 6pack of Mike’s hard lemonade and light up a small tree that I’ve had since about ’99 or longer
          Everybody’s gonna have to lock up their daughters and I’m gonna even have to break out my chastity glove.

          And the struggle continues

  10. Luiz de Mello says:

    J & E, I heard some guys saying that this is the drink you guys get every video, some say they are even sponsoring the show, is it true?

  11. rush says:

    This is on right now.

  12. Insideman says:

    Mr. T lives down the street from me.

    The UPS guy says while he is polite– he is often grumpy.

    I paste a picture of him on my front door every April Fool’s Day.

  13. Insideman says:

    Just finished Greendale and I loved it.

    NO SPOILERS HERE.

    Never been a huge fan of Neil Young (sort of have to side with Ronnie Van Zant on that one) and I was a little skeptical when I read his one paragraph in the front where he basically professed to not know exactly what the book was about. (Never a good sign in my mind.)

    But Neil needs to lay off the peyote… Because Joshua Dysart writes an unbelievably compelling, intelligent, multi-layered narrative. I understood it perfectly (at least how I was meant to understand and relate to it). There were several spots where the narrative could have easy derailed and devolved into pedantic preachy bullshit– but Dysart ALWAYS resists the urge to slide there. Cliff Chiang’s art is wonderful. Dave Stewart’s coloring (as usual) is perfection.

    I didn’t really like the fact that one of the characters was fashioned to look like a younger version of Neil. I understood the conceit behind it– but it dragged me out of the story on occasion. That’s a very minor point though. Once you accept the vanity (whether it was insisted upon or just a loving homage from the comic creators) it is easy just to forget about it entirely… And just move on.

    The book is designed impeccably. It is one of the few times in recent memory that I felt like I was holding a piece of printed art that– while art– hadn’t just NEEDLESSLY DESTROYED hundreds of trees to exist… Which is REALLY IMPORTANT given the storyline.

    I really admire seeing this kind of awareness from the person designing a graphic novel… And it is apparent the designer was quite aware of the story– even when deciding on the proper choices for the interior and exterior paper stock.

    Overall, loved it. Would definitely recommend it to Jose and anybody else who is in the mood for reading a GREAT GRAPHIC NOVEL.

    Fuck Deadpool. I mean, really. πŸ˜‰

  14. Heck says:

    Well, time for me to head on out. Got work soon. Night guys.

  15. Insideman says:

    Goodnight guys… Outta here too.

  16. rush says:

    Hopefully this film will see release later this year. Looks interesting.

  17. The Amazing Mike says:

    I know this is heavily backtracking a little, but I downloaded that episode of Naruto you mentioned above for my girlfriend. I actually had thought I downloaded a fake episode when I saw that craptastic animation right there. Was that supposed to be there? Did I miss something?

  18. phil says:

    If someone has time between the ribs, the beer and the fireworx today..if you’re not to out of it let me know what you think of this.
    A youtuber posted a vid asking if you could write the final Joker story, how would you end him.
    I posted a lengthy written rebuttal and then fleshed it out here:

    http://pmknight12.livejournal.com/794.html

    lemme knw whatcha think.

  19. cballsack says:

    Happy 4th, everyone. Enjoy your solid potato salad.

    • Dre says:

      That is some ubelievable contortion. Imagine the all the potential positions………..:)

    • Insideman says:

      I’m watching this, rocking along… And suddenly the film turns from a sweet 1940’s short into a Salvador Dali meets Busby Berkeley drug-fueled nightmare. How cool!

      Sadly, I bet each one of these ladies thought this piece was going to be their big break… But along the lines of what Dre wrote– ANY studio head that watched this film quickly had something OTHER than casting their next film on their minds.

    • phil says:

      Those last few seconds remiinds me; when again does human centipede come out?

      • cballsack says:

        That’s been out, dude. I was gonna see it but I figure I’ll wait til it’s on IFC or something.

  20. Dre says:

    Anyone catch that Shadowland preview on CBR? Thoughts?

    • Venom829 says:

      Yes, and IT IS HORRIBLE. I feel for poor Andy Diggle right now. I want to read it, but Marvel just destroyed with Billy Tan, and the 8-10 mini’s and one-shot’s they have along with the Shadowland mini, and the tie-in story in the main Daredevil book.

  21. Smallmaniac says:

    Happy 4th of July!!

    I think this is video relevant for today, please excuse the language πŸ™‚

  22. phil says:

    Okay…is it alright for meto have my dorkgasm now? Jonathan Maberry gave props for talking about his vomic on my channel. How stoked am I? Now I just gotta think about how I’m going to respond.

  23. TheMSpot says:

    I don’t know about you guys, but I’m all 4th of July-ed out. If there’s one thing that I enjoy more than Captain America is Captain Morgan. Last night I finished off a entire bottle of Captain Morgan just drinking Cap & Cola’s. Now, it’s back to the bathroom. 😦

    • Luiz de Mello says:

      CAPTAIN MORGAN!!!! HE IS MY CLOSEST FRIEND! So close are we that he lives in my heart, he flows through my veins with my own blood! Long life to the Captain, may we always find him in the hardest moments to help us through, and on the happiest moments to celebrate with him!!!

  24. generaldark says:

    thoughts on [REC.] 2?

  25. omg i just thought of marvel’s avengers slogan “marvel bendis’s universe”

  26. Insideman says:

    REASON WHY I AM GLAD I READ HARDCOVERS & TRADES #1,029,493:

    I would have been SO PISSED if I had read Hudlin’s RELAUNCH of the Black Panther as a floppy.

    WARNING: SPOILERS AHEAD

    The female BLACK PANTHER is featured on every cover of the floppy from #1 on– but doesn’t actually “sort of” show up until issue #5. Talk about UNNECESSARY PROJECTION just to sell books.

    She is REJECTED by the Panther God in issue #4… But wait– because she selflessly defends the people of Wakanda after her rejection… She can still be the BLACK PANTHER ANYWAY?!

    Talking about throwing COOL TRADITIONS right out the window.

    I NEVER knew the Panther God could be so wishy-washy, duplicitous or manipulative. He/she ALWAYS seemed like such a NO BULLSHIT STRAIGHT SHOOTER to me.

    Well fuck… Welcome to the NEW Marvel Universe, I guess.

    And I am glad I read HARDCOVERS because I would have been so pissed to see a FEMALE Black Panther on the first four covers of a new Black Panther comic– only to have NO female Black Panther inside– that I would have GIVEN UP on the book long before she finally appeared… Which would have been a shame because– other than that Panther God BS, it is a pretty good comic. (Too bad they felt like they had to ruin the female Panther “surprise” to sell the new series.)

  27. Grim1 says:

    Found this quote on ” Women in refrigerators ” website and thought it was hilarious.

    “As regards the female characters thing, I’m afraid I think it’s giving male creators a bum deal. The list does read pretty shocking at first until you think of everything the male heroes have gone through, too, in terms of deaths/mutilations/etc. Granted, the female stuff has more of a sexual violence theme and this is something people should probably watch out for, but rape is a rare thing in comics and is seldom done in an exploitative way.” – Mark Millar

    ( wink wink.. Ultimate Red Skull πŸ™‚

  28. TheMSpot says:

    Question to the CCW nation, since this is the 4th of July, who would win in a fight Uncle Sam or Captain America?

  29. TheMSpot says:

    I don’t like this black suit Daredevil.

  30. MicahSkin says:

    My new man crush is Jose. Ok, it’s still ben Cohen, but Ben best be gettin naked on British TV again soon or else.

    http://www.gametrailers.com/video/exclusive-chase-infamous-2/701416

    • He he. I am always checking out a few different game sites every single day Micah so as soon as I see anything (and I mean ANYTHING) new for inFamous 2 you will surely be the first to know. πŸ™‚

      J.

  31. megamanx4ever says:

    Jose are you going to go to comic-con this year?

  32. rush says:

    You gents have a good 4th?

    • Heck says:

      I worked all day. Saw some fireworks though. Sounded like we were under attack.

    • I’m drunk, aren’t I? πŸ˜›

      J.

      • Heck says:

        Lucky bastard.

      • rush says:

        I am hammered. You have the CCW nation to keep you company if that make you feel better. πŸ™‚

        • I doesn’t really because I know most people in the CCW Nation will have someone laying next to them in bed tonight. Won’t you come join my pity party? πŸ™‚

          J.

          • rush says:

            Not me. The girlfriend went home.

            • Heck says:

              I just talked to one of my ex girlfriends for the first time in 3 years tonight. We ended on a fight that was sorta rough. Talk about akwarddd.

              But, yeah I’m fucking lonely.

              • rush says:

                That blows dude. Luckily all of my ex-girlfriends live hundreds of miles away.

                • Heck says:

                  You’re lucky bro. It’s the most akward and shitty thing. She’s friends with one of my best friends still and I knew this was coming, lol. Still, wasn’t prepared enough.

                  • rush says:

                    I bet. I went through something similar back in college when an ex was in two of my classes. That was an awkward semester.

                    • Heck says:

                      That’s rough. Did you guys end up talking?

                      I had a class with a guy who was dating this girl that I dated for a short period. I guess we dated her at the same time.. He actually wasn’t a bad guy though.

                    • rush says:

                      I tried to be civil, but she had to be a bitch. But the people in class liked me better and I got higher grades than her which pissed her off. Revenge is oh so good sometimes.

                    • Insideman says:

                      I broke up with my wife (got married really, really young) then moved upstairs in the same apartment complex with my new girlfriend.

                      Wanta talk awkward…

                    • rush says:

                      And nobody got killed? My buddy was on the receiving end of that. His ex moved into the apartment next to his with her new man. He had to hear them having sex every night. He went nuts and had to seek professional help.

                    • Insideman says:

                      She left and went back “home”, Rush. Make no mistake about it, she didn’t like it– but she also knew her wanting me to be like her Daddy was the reason we were splitting.

                      Thankfully I didn’t move in upstairs. πŸ˜‰

                      The scenario you described is uncalled for and cruel.

              • Join the club brother.

                J.

          • Insideman says:

            And let me say this… BETTER TO BE ALONE than to be with someone who doesn’t make you happy.

            Believe me.

            • Oh, I do. And I agree 100%.

              J.

              • Insideman says:

                I could fill a library with tales about bad girls. They would be crammed with sick little stories with no redeeming value and they would follow the same storyline of heartbreak and humilation… Ya know, sorta like a Bendis comic.

                In all seriousness: Despite what experience may lead you to believe, your “person” is out there. I’ve been through SO many girlfriends and just when I finally said, “That’s it. No more. No more serious girlfriends. Not doing it ever again.” I found this sweet lady completely by accident. Literally bumped into her at the POST OFFICE, for christsakes! I’ve told her I initially gave our relationship TWO WEEKS (and I meant it). I was dating three other women at the time. (I was in serious gigolo mode.) How serious could I have been about anything? Then slowly, I dropped one. Then another. And here she is– years later.

                I never believed this before but I can tell you NOW with certainty that you will ABSOLUTELY FUCKING KNOW when you have finally found THE person. And if you don’t feel like you know you have that person, then KEEP FUCKING LOOKING.

                • Dre says:

                  How would one know they’ve found the right one? What feelings should be especienced? What feelings did you experience to let you know your girl was right for you?

                  • Insideman says:

                    Dre… This is going to sound ridiculous. It is going to sound like I am not addressing your question.

                    YOU JUST KNOW.

                    Everything feels “right”. You don’t EVER have to make excuses for anything she does or anything you do.

                    And you feel like your HOME.

                    I want to make it clear that I am not writing about lust or heartache. Those are fleeting attachments.

                    But I am certain you will know when the “correct” person walks into your life. You just will.

  33. cballsack says:

    So I’ve been watching The Greatest American Hero marathon on the Syfy network today. Hadn’t seen that show since I was a kid. A few things jumped out at me:

    1) The producers didn’t give two shits about trying to disguise the fact that they were using stunt doubles. It was laughingly obvious in some scenes.

    2) TGAH is seriously underrated as a superhero. His powers seemed almost limitless. He clearly wasn’t as strong as Superman but he was still strong enough to lift cars and smash through walls, he could turn invisible, was bulletproof, could shrink down to the size of a grain of sand, was telekinetic, was pyrokinetic, could see where anyone was by touching something that belonged to them, had x-ray vision, had super speed, and could sometimes see into the future.

    3) Why hasn’t this show been remade, given that remakes are all the rage these days, and especially given that superhero shows are suddenly so popular?

    • rush says:

      One day man, one day.

    • cballsack says:

      Oh, and he could phase through walls too.

      • Like Kitty Pryde!? Ya know, Kitty is from Deerfield, Illinios which is only 20 minutes from my house. She is so damn kewl.

        J.

        • cballsack says:

          From Wikipedia:

          Uncanny X-Men artist John Byrne said he named Kitty Pryde after a classmate he met in art school in Calgary in 1973, telling her he liked her name and receiving permission to use it for his first original comics character. Also, Byrne had drawn the character to slightly resemble an adolescent Sigourney Weaver. The fictional Kitty Pryde first appeared in Uncanny X-Men #129 (Jan. 1980), by writer Chris Claremont and artist Byrne, as a highly intelligent 13-year-old girl. Claremont said several elements of the character’s personality were derived from those of X-Men editor Louise Simonson’s daughter, Julie.

          The fictional Kitty Pryde also had a profound effect on the real-life Kitty Pryde: the latter became so overwhelmed by attention from Shadowcat fans after the publication of the X-Men comics that she abbreviated her name to K.D. Pryde to avoid association with her fictional counterpart. She has since stated that she has mixed feelings about her fame, saying that she values Byrne’s comics for their entertainment and artistic value, but wishes that more people would appreciate her as more than just Shadowcat’s namesake.

      • phil says:

        @ cbs: I just wanna know why he could never stick a landing.

  34. generaldark says:

    i got IDW’s jack the ripper and radicals after dark which was only a dollar and they seem pretty interesting. just another part of me getting away from DC and marvel

    • Insideman says:

      I just finished reading the 2nd Volume of Radical’s Hercules in trade form. I was pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed it. (I mentioned before their HOTWIRE trade was a blast too.)

      Was going to drop “Proof” after the horrible 3rd trade. Didn’t for some reason and Volume 4 was MUCH better. Still wish the art was near the quality of the script.

      Also just read :FF: Dark Reign” trade written by J. Hickman. That was really enjoyable. To be blunt, I had always wished someone would through Franklin Richards into the Negative Zone but I actually LIKED the interaction between Franklin and his sister. Val’s current portrayal makes Franklin a lot easier to stomach… and Val’s confrontation with Norman Osborn bordered on classic.

      • Mike F says:

        how long is that trade? did it come out when millar was writing FF? I wasn’t really following that whole dark reign/secret invasion stuff so it was hard for me to find a good spot to jump into marvel comics…

        • It was a 5 issue Dark Reign mini series that Hickman wrote while Millar was still on the regular FF book. The mini was pretty good.

          J.

          • Insideman says:

            Yes, it was.

            Let’s put it this way, Mike… I agree with what Jose said and will even go further and say it was a SHITLOAD BETTER than what Millar was doing with the FF at the time.

            Since you didn’t really follow the Secret Invasion stuff– this “FF: Dark Reign” trade focuses a lot on Reed attempting to figure out why the Marvel Super Hero Registration Act went so “wrong” and the Secret Invasion was “allowed” to happen in the first place. It also deals with plot elements of the Dark Reign event (although not as much at the Registration Act and Secret Invasion).

            Reed’s search for answers may help you bridge the gap and at least help “climatize” you to the CURRENT Marvel U a little bit before “jumping in”.

            Also, Marvel has released several freebie (free to customers, NOT to retailers)comics that explain events in the Marvel Universe that lead to these company wide crossovers. Marvel is really smart about this and they use these books as incentive for “new” readers to try their books. Your retailer may still have some of thee lying around. ASK! πŸ™‚

  35. Insideman says:

    And, JUST LIKE THAT– the comics news on Bleeding Cool is separated by a different column from the film news.

    They actually seem to be reworking the design of the front page as I type…

  36. Mr.Wrestling says:

    So I was thinking about picking up some trades off from Amazon, but I dont want to end up buying something that just isnt worth the money.

    So I would appreciate it if anyone could tell me if these are good buys or not

    The trades that I’m looking to get:

    Spiderman: Kraven’s Last Hunt
    Justice League International vol. 1-4
    JLA by Grant Morrison vol. 1
    Daredevil by Frank Miller vol. 1
    Batwoman: Elegy

  37. Insideman says:

    Surprising Thoughts on some trades I just read:

    Just read “Elektra: Dark Reign” written by Zeb Wells. Surprised I didn’t hate it… Actually sort liked it. Art was plain and weak.

    FANTASTIC new Jon Sable GN “Ashes of Eden” by Mike Grell. A great book– filled with cool action and witty repartee. Smooth Grell art– with his sharpest writing in years. (In other words, if you are judging Grell’s writing abilities on his recently canceled “Warlord” series from DC– don’t.) There is also a TON of nudity… Which I personally am not objecting to… Grell draws gorgeous women. (With a couple of bare shots of Jon’s butt cheeks thrown in for the ladies as well!)

    Biggest surprise so far: Halfway through the “Dark Reign: The Underside” GN. The “Lethal Legion” story by Frank Tieri was surprisingly fun. Art, again was rough.(SLIGHT SPOILER AHEAD) The “Zodiac” story, written by Joe Casey with art by Nathan Fox is killer. First off, Fox’s art looks like something you’d see in a cool indie book– it is almost the antithesis of the Marvel “style”. That Fox was given this assignment is a nice & unexpected. Secondly, it was a great– but brutal– story. Contains several PRIME EXAMPLES of Marvel’s lack of continuity though: The Human Torch gets beaten so badly by Zodiac, he requires multiple stitches to his face… Yet is completely healed by the end of the story?

    Forgetting his ridiculously rapid healing time… Were these horrible facial lacerations even mentioned in any other “Dark Reign” book? (I’ve not read them all yet, so I don’t know.) You think SOMEBODY would’ve said something– especially since Zodiac razed an entire hospital attempting to kill Johnny, Sue and Ben! As much as I hate shit like this, I’m gonna let it slide because the story was so smartly done otherwise.

    However… Get with it, Marvel! Seriously.

  38. rush says:

    For those living in the San Francisco area.

    Superhero Street Fair
    Celebrating the superhero within us all, Anon Events and Get Yer Freak On present the second annual Superhero Street Fair right on the waterfront along the beautiful Islais Creek Promenade. Bring your super human powers to party all day because from 1pm to midnight five stages will be rocking with live bands and local DJ collectives like Opulent Temple, Symbiosis, Hookahdome, Compression, Nitewise, Bay Area Drum & Bass, and False Profit . The fair will also exhibit art from local creatively super-powered artists, a “video riot” projection wall (an underground event that only happens every few years), live theatre and poetry, dance performances, and an outdoor bazaar showcasing local crafts and fashion designers. Come dressed as your favorite superhero, or make up your own! Date: Sat 7/10, Time: 1pm–12am, Place: Islais Creek Promenade (Indiana St & Cesar Chavez), Cover: $10 in superhero costume, $20 in Clark Kent.

    http://superherosf.com/main/

  39. TheMSpot says:

    I was wondering if what was revealed at the end of Judd Winick’s run of Batman was ever resolved when Daniel took over. Because I dropped that book as soon as Daniel took over, but I just wanted to know what was on that file about Dick.

  40. Insideman says:

    Jose-

    Did you happen to see my “review” of “Greendale”? (It’s up above on this thread.) I just wanted to make sure– because you asked me to tell you what I thought.

  41. Deemar says:

    Time for a new open thread J

Leave a Reply

