Who’s Getting What This Week?

Posted: July 6, 2010 in Marvel

Whoa…what the hell? One damn book this week!? Well, I have dropped Doom Patrol and IZombie as of this week so I guess so. Guess I will be picking up some trades this week. As to what I will be picking up…stay tuned. And even though Marvel is flooding the market with all of their shit, here is the lonesome book I’ll be buying on Thursday:

Spider-Man Fantastic Four #1 (Christos Gage and Mario Alberti)

Maybe, just maybe, I will pick up Shadowland #1. It will have to be pretty fucking spectacular in order for me to do so. What a damn depressing week.

Don’t forget, comics come out THURSDAY.

Anyhoo, what are you buying this week?

J.

Comments
  1. rush says:

    Batman and Robin #13
    Batman Odyssey #1
    I Zombie #3
    Scalped #39
    Sweet Tooth #11
    Boys #44
    Hellboy The Storm #1
    Wire Hangers #3
    Absolute Planetary Book 1 HC (New Printing)

  2. Venom829 says:

    ONE BOOK?! Man comics are sucking HARD these days 🙂 Damn you Marvel!

  3. TheMSpot says:

    Batman and Robin #13 but I don’t know how I feel about the new artist. It looks like I will be trade hunting this week. I have my eye on the Batwomen HC.

  4. I’m only buying one book as well 🙂

    – Batman Odyssey#1

  5. Dre says:

    Why only MAYBE for Shadowland? Not interested in the premise?

    • Don’t like the fact that Marvel is trying to SHOVE all of the tie ins down my throat. Might not buy it on principal alone even though I am enjoying the Daredevil monthly. Fuck Marvel.

      J.

      • Dre says:

        All one needs for Shadowland is the event itself. The myriad tie-in are neglible. That is, of course, if the creators in their numerous interviews are to believed. They insist they structured the event so that not even the DD monthly itself would be necessary should one choose not to buy it. Naturally, though, as the home title to DD, one might want to look into for the finer moments the main event may not be able to afford and how the eponymous characters actions are affecting his world on a more personal level. So, yea, if the thirty-one tie-ins (yea, thirty-one of them) was you’re only concern you can rest easy with knowing that they are all skippable. All of them. Even DD. Again, this is assuming the creators aren’t being less that truthful, mind you. 🙂

        • Mr.Wrestling says:

          Yea seeing all of those tie-ins really killed my excitement for Shadowland(well that and the art)…..but there is atleast one tie in that I would actually consider getting..

          The bullseye one-shot written by John Laymen sounds interesting and itll be so awesome is Laymen just puts the character through hell for all Bullseye has done under Bendis’ pen

          • Dre says:

            It doesn’t to me. With Chen’s art, too, it’s a definite pass. The only tie-ins I’m even mildly interested in myself are the Daughters OF The Shadow and the Elekra one-shot. There’s a very, very, very slim chance I’ll get either, though.

  6. generaldark says:

    batman and robin #13
    house of mystery
    red hood #2
    ….brightest day………..
    secret avengers #1
    thunderbolts second print

  7. generaldark says:

    maby star wars old republic #1

  8. Mr.Wrestling says:

    Casanova #1
    Brightest Day #5 (Probably wont get this though, just so uninteresting)
    Red Robin #14
    Hawkeye & Mockingbird #2
    Shadowland #1 (the only chance I will be giving to Shadowland.)
    Sparta USA #5
    I, Zombie #3 (This is the last chance for I, Zombie)
    Sweet Tooth #11
    Brightest Day: The Atom Special (Only getting this because of Jeff Lemire)
    Batman and Robin #13

    May also get The new Scarlet series…but Im not sure yet.

    …..and Jose, your not interested in the new Casanova series?

    • TheMSpot says:

      Well, technically it’s not new, it’s just in color, and has a back up. I was thinking of getting it as well, but I thought I would wait for the trade.

      • Mr.Wrestling says:

        wait…..its just reprints?

        • Yes. The original issues were only $1.99. And just cause it’s in color they will charge you more. Rip off.

          J.

          • Mr.Wrestling says:

            wow…

            Thank you MSpot and Jose…..I would have never known until I had bought the issue and taken it home. You guys just saved me some money

          • manaconda! says:

            from what i understand they are 3.99 because number one is a 40 page book, and the other will be two issues of luxuria each totalling 32 pages of story and matt fraction back matter which is usually interesting to read essays, in issue one matt talks about some of his comic and film influences.

            i think its worth the price personally, but your opinion might be different, i just really love and respect matt fraction and gabriel ba`s work

    • I already bought the original Casanova series. I think this is just a reprint except that it is in color. Already read it, don’t care if it is in color.

      J.

  9. mbell028 says:

    Hey What’s up guys? This week I’ll be getting:
    Pilot Season: Stellar 1
    Secret Six 23
    Shadowland 1
    The Walking Dead 74

    Excited to read all of these books this week. I just found out about Pilot Season: Stellar It’s written by Robert Kirkman and the premise sounds really cool hopefully my shop has it in stock if not I added it to my pull on comixology.

    I’m pretty excited about Ostrander writing Secret Six I recently picked up all the issues of Suicide Squad he wrote in the 80’s it’s pretty good from what I’ve read.

    I think I’m the only person excited about Shadowland I feel that an event can be good as long as the writer isn’t bendis lol and it’s on a small scale. Although there are a bunch of one-shots for the most part it appears the story mainly takes place in Shadowland and Daredevil. Plus Andy Diggle’s writing it and his run on Thunderbolts and on Daredevil are awesome.

    The Walking Dead how I love you so it’s my favorite comic on my pull and one of my favorite comics of all time. Great arc going on leading to issue 75 the first issue to ever be in color.

    Great week for comics.

  10. Insideman says:

    More than enough Trades & Hardcovers again this week.

    I was fine until I saw that Absolute Planetary Book 1 and that (3) Blackest Night hardcovers were being released in one week. (Bitched about the onslaught of BN hardcovers late last week.)

    Definitely starting to par the list down… This week just had a bunch of stuff I wanted to read.

    Absolute Planetary Book 1 HC (New Printing)
    Absolution Vol 1
    Blackest Night HC
    Blackest Night Green Lantern Corps HC
    Blackest Night Green Lantern HC
    BPRD Vol 13 1947 TPB
    Ezra Egyptian Exchange
    House of Mystery Vol 4 Beauty of Decay
    Kill Audio Vol 1 HC
    Nexus Archives Vol 11
    Shield Kicking Down the Door
    Stand Soul Survivors HC
    The Good The Bad & The Ugly
    Vengeance Of Moon Knight Vol 1 Shock and Awe
    Vietnam Journal Vol 4

  11. Heck says:

    Thor and the Warriors Four #4

    Maybe Thor The Mighty Avenger #1. Is that a $2.99 book or a $3.99 book?

  12. Heck says:

    Is I Zombie any good? My LCS ran out of issue #1 so I didn’t get it.

    • rush says:

      It’s a slow starter. Many people have complained that nothing is really happening. I am going to stick with it for the first few issues to make a final decision on this book.

      • mbell028 says:

        that’s How i felt I cancelled it because I felt it was a little too slow moving it has a lot of potential, but I don’t have the patience or the money to wait around. Hope its good though I really like Vertigo

  13. cballsack says:

    I really hate this Marvel style of doing covers with the logo on the side. It just looks so dumb.

  14. Matthew Guy (mguy1977) says:

    BATMAN ODYSSEY #1 (OF 6)
    BLACKEST NIGHT HC
    BRIGHTEST DAY THE ATOM SPECIAL #1
    AMAZING SPIDER-MAN #636 GRIM
    X-FORCE #28 XSC
    X-WOMEN #1
    WALKING DEAD #74 (MR)
    BPRD 1947 vol. 13 TPB
    HELLBOY THE STORM #1 (OF 3)

    classic comics:
    BATMAN #328
    DC COMICS PRESENTS #86 SUPERMAN & SUPERGIRL COIE CROSSOVER

    Matthew

  15. megamanx4ever says:

    Amazing Spider-Man #636
    Brightest Day #5
    Jonah Hex #57

  16. IronMuskrat says:

    Yikes! Another slow week for me. Man, what happened to DC using the success of Blackest Night to make a run at Marvel’s market share?

    Well…

    I hope my back issue of Doomwar #5 arrives this week, or I will be one grumpy camper. Other than that I will pick up..

    Fantastic Four Annual #32- Here’s to hoping lightning will strike twice and I get a chance to enjoy another $5 Marvel book. Of course I wasn’t expecting much from the Iron Man annual, my standards will be a bit higher this time.

    And hummm, well…

    Smurfs #1 =)

    I am sure I will pick up more, but everything will be a game time decision.

    IM

    • Insideman says:

      DC is still using Blackest Night to make a run at Marvel. Three Blackest Night HARDCOVERS in one week! Yowchie!

  17. another small week.. Maybe because as a marvel zombie I am not buying into that Shadowland Stuff for once.

    The Boys
    Daytripper
    Batman and Robin
    Amazing Spider-Man
    The Walking Dead
    I,Zombie

    I probably pick up Invincible HC Vol 3 & 4

  18. Stamps says:

    Apparently DC rules my wallet this week

    Batman and Robin #13
    Batman Confidential #46
    Batman Odyssey #1
    Brightest Day #5
    Red Robin #14

    I’m SOOOOOO excited for the Return of Morrison’s Batman and Robin

    • Iqy says:

      I too am excited for morrison’s return to batman and robin. Also I’m also excited for Neal Adams return. He is by far the most iconic and best batman artists.

  19. DidioForever says:

    I Zombie #3
    Brightest Day #5 (yea, I know)
    Batman and Robin #13 (Frazer Irving + Grant Morrison – unmissable)
    Spider-Man Fantastic Four #1 (The Spidey/X-Men mini before this was great, even if just for the art)

    And I’m buying all the parts to ASM: Grim Hunt once the final part is out

  20. Mike F says:

    Pluto is always a good trade to pick up 🙂

    I mite just get Shadowland, I’ve been really excited for this event.

  21. kurumais says:

    Batman and robin
    Batman the odyssey cant pass up neil adams
    Red robin
    Secret six
    Steve rogers super soldier
    Chimichanga 3
    Pet avengers

    Lots of maybes
    Marvelman
    Darkstar and winter guard
    Casanova
    Thor the mighty avenger

    • Locusmortis says:

      I’m glad to see someone else is getting Chimichanga #3 and Pet Avengers. Don’t bother with Marvelman, its only the shitty Mick Anglo reprints I think.

      And no-one else is getting Godland?? seriously WTF?

  22. tomstewdevine says:

    Batman and Robin #13
    Brightest Day #5
    Secret Six #23
    House of Mystery #27
    Scalped #39
    Sweet Tooth #11
    Tom Strong and the Robots of Doom #2
    Fantastic Four Annual #32
    X-Force #28
    Godland #32
    Hellboy The Storm #1
    Walking Dead #74

  23. vegedge says:

    you dropped i zombie jose? i thought you were giving it to this issue to see if it turns around.

  24. manaconda! says:

    picked up casanova (cause i have a massive boner for fraction and ba) also picked up a couple of trades.

    got volume 2 of chew as well as volume one of fell by warren ellis and ben templesmith, and found a copy of gabriel ba and fabio moon`s de:tales, really nice looking book for only fifteen bucks! woo!

  25. TheRichestManinTown says:

    I really want to read I, Zombie and continue with Joe the Barbarian but my LCS gave me I, Zombie #2 instead of one and I’m still waiting for Joe the Barbarian #5 even though my LCS can get #6 no problem. . .

  26. Insideman says:

    RichestMan, If you can’t find a reasonable LCS in your area that will cater to your reasonable needs… GO MAIL ORDER.

    http://www.dreamlandcomics.com (where Jose works) does a great job… and there are others as well.

    I haven’t physically walked into a LCS in about 5 years now and I don’t feel like I have missed a thing. Any tactile needs or “itch” I have to stand in front of– and be surrounded by– a bunch of comics, trades and hardcovers I DON’T OWN is easily filled by comic cons, Borders (my local one has a surprisingly up-to-date and very cool selection of great books), Books-A-Million or Barnes & Noble.

    And, as you know, the net provides plenty of places to preview comics. You can always go by the reviews and vids like Elliott’s and Jose’s commentaries/reviews too.

    And, as you ALSO know– you can always go back to the same shop and buy a book here or there… Even if you aren’t giving them all (or the bulk)of your business. I wouldn’t hesitate to walk into my old LCS tomorrow… Although they probably think I’ve died by now. 🙂

    My point: Comics buying and/or collecting should NEVER be a hassle and there are PLENTY OF PEOPLE who will do a great job fulfilling your needs while taking your money. 😉

Leave a Reply

