Who’s Getting What This Week?

Posted: July 12, 2010 in DC Comics, IDW, Image, Marvel, Vertigo

Ahhhh, looks like a very good week for quality books. Some good stuff from the indies and Vertigo as well as an offering from Jeff Parker. Doesn’t get much better than this. Here’s what I’ll be buying come Wednesday:

Brave and the Bold #35
Chew #12
Daredevil #508 (Andy Diggle and if it is not BETTER than Shadowland #1, adios DD)
Daytripper #8
Doctor Who Magazine #423 (I need my Doctor Who fix dammit)
Gorilla Man #1 (Jeff Parker)
Hack/Slash: My First Maniac #2
Mystery Society #2
REBELS #18
The Unwritten #15

So, what are you getting this week?

J.

Comments
  1. pmm says:

    shadowland didnt do it 4 you ?

  2. Mike F says:

    I might give the Flash another shot. But only one. DD for sure. I wanna get Mystery Society as well.

  3. Bboyce109 says:

    DC

    Batman #701
    Birds of Prey #3
    Justice League Generation Lost #5
    Superman #701

    MARVEL

    Amazing Spider-Man #637
    Avengers Academy #2
    Daredevil #508 (Shadowland)
    Invincible Iron Man #28
    Thanos Imperative #2
    Uncanny X-Men Heroic Age #1
    X-Men Origins Deadpool #1
    X-Men Second Coming #2

  4. TheMSpot says:

    Brave and the Bold #35
    Richard Starks Parker the Man with the Getaway Face
    Gorilla Man #1

    and whatever else I’ll see when I get to my LCS.

  5. generaldark says:

    batman (really looking forward to this, i have learned to just deal with tony daniels art)
    mystery society
    rebels
    justice league: GL (LOOOOOVE this book)
    superman
    gorrila man

    I saw this is a pretty good list right har! ๐Ÿ˜€

    • generaldark says:

      say*

    • Actually, what you meant to say is you have learned to live with Daniel’s art and his fucking shit writing…right? ๐Ÿ˜›

      J.

      • generaldark says:

        NO! thats not it at all! its bad enough he is associated with this issue but his writing is were i will draw the line! the only writing i want to see of his on the issue is his name as being the “aritist”. thats as far as i will go sir! good daY!

        • Venom829 says:

          Hopefully he won’t be named writer for Batman for a LLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOONNNNNNNNNGGGGGG time to come ๐Ÿ˜›

        • Oh, so Morrison is still writing it? Fair enough. So, you won’t buy if if Daniel writes it again, right?

          J.

          • Venom829 says:

            For the next 2 issues, than Peter Milligan is writing the next issue, maybe more…

            • generaldark says:

              no no, i will not buy it if he is writing it lol. But man i have been reading so much morrison stuff im really hooked. i mainly been reading the invisibles. i got done with volume 4. im at the point were i dont care who draws his work. i even came to enjoy frazer irvings art on B&R

              • Venom829 says:

                Nice job, that Irving stuff freaked the shit out of me ๐Ÿ˜‰

              • Pobra says:

                I agree GD, i can tolerate his art if Morrison is doing the writing.

              • Pobra says:

                I don’t get all the Irving hate I’ve been hearing lately. I thought the issue of Return of Bruce Wayne he did looked amazing. So did the last issue of B&R. It suited the tone of the book perfectly.

                • Iqy says:

                  I also agree with you pobra. I loved Irving’s art, just so different to anything I’ve ever seen.
                  Tony daniels is fucking terrible, his joker looks terrible, so does his batman. When you’re on a batman and your batman looks terrible you know you’ve got some problems.

                  • Pobra says:

                    I think the problem is that most comic fans have become accustomed to a certain style of art, so when someone like Irving comes along with a very expressive and unique style, they find it jarring. I guess.
                    Personally, I’d take his art over the cookie cutter, house style, like Tony Daniel’s, any day.

  6. SmokeyClocks says:

    Amazing Spider man 637
    Chew 12
    Dare Devil 508 (My LCS was shorted on shadowland last week so i didn’t get to check it out, but from what i hear i hope the suckyness is localized to shadowland and stays out of the main title)

  7. megamanx4ever says:

    Amazing Spider-Man #637
    Invincible Iron Man #28
    Savage Dragon #162 (my favorite super hero book along with invincible.)
    Ultimate Comics Spider-Man #12 (considering dropping this book if it doesent get better with this issue.)

  8. mbell028 says:

    Hey What’s up guys? This week I’ll be getting:
    Chew 12
    Daytripper 8
    Superman 701

    Debating Daredevil right now, but Shadowland 1 was awful I’ll have to wait to hear reviews of the book before I buy it. Great week of comics who doesn’t love a new issue of Chew. Really looking forward to Daytripper especially for last issue. It was very dissapointing so I’m guessing the latest issue is really going to step it up. I’m really excited for Superman I’ve only read one superman story All Star Superman so it’ll be exciting to see what JMS can do with him

  9. tomstewdevine says:

    Brave and the Bold #35
    Justice League Generation Lost #5
    Superman #701
    Daytripper #8
    Unwritten #15
    Astonishing Spider-Man Wolverine #2
    Invincible Iron Man #28
    X-Men Second Coming #2
    Hack Slash My First Maniac #2
    Orc Stain #4

    What a fucking Chronic week, I haven’t been this excited for Wednesday in awhile. Top of the stack is going to be X-Men Second Coming, Unwritten, new Superman, and my underdog favorite Orc Stain-more people should be checking out this book.

  10. Mr.Wrestling says:

    Superman #701
    Invincible Ironman #28
    Chew #12
    Daredevil #508
    Justice League: Generation Lost #5
    X-Force: Sex and Violence #1

    Revolver HC

  11. Insideman says:

    Everybody seems to be so excited with their floppy treasures this week. That’s great. The Hardcover and Graphic Novel area is NUTS too!

    I was laughing my ass off when I first saw the Jennifer Love Hewitt Music Box GN listed… And then I saw the creators involved. Now maybe not so funny. Then again, it wouldn’t be the first time I’ve wasted money on pure crap.

    I had several of this week’s reprint hardcovers on my order during the Great Amazon Glitch. Most of them were canceled. As much as it would be fun to have them– Absolute Planetary books two weeks in a row preclude that from happening.

    Used to be there was a breather every couple of week’s with the hardcovers and graphic novels. Not anymore. Gee, guess the economy really is turning around!

    And this is my LAST Angel HC. If Bill Willingham doesn’t do a complete 360 on this ship… I’m am so OUTTA there…

    Absolute Planetary Book 2 HC
    Angel Immortality for Dummies HC
    Batgirl Batgirl Rising
    Blackest Night Black Lantern Corps Vol 1 HC
    Blackest Night Black Lantern Corps Vol 2 HC
    Brodyโ€™s Ghost
    Fractured Fables HC
    Freddy Vs Jason Vs Ash Nightmare Warriors
    GI Joe Vol 3
    Halo Bloodline HC
    Invincible Iron Man Vol 4 Stark Disassembled HC
    Invincible Presents Atom Eve & Rex Splode
    Jennifer Love Hewitts Music Box Vol 1
    Playwright HC
    Red Tornado Family Reunion
    Revolver HC
    Siege Premiere HC
    Spawn Origins Vol 6
    Viking Prince By Joe Kubert HC
    X-Men Legacy Emplate
    X-Men Pixie Strikes Back

    • kurumais says:

      inside did you win the lottery or are you dealing drugs? how do afford all these week from week?

      • Matthew Guy (mguy1977) says:

        Yeah share the secret with us. Do you have a magic money tree or a goose that lays golden eggs?

        Matthew

  12. Matthew Guy (mguy1977) says:

    ADVENTURE COMICS #516
    BATGIRL #12
    BIRDS OF PREY #3
    BRAVE AND THE BOLD #35
    SUPERMAN #701
    SWEETS #1 (OF 5) (MR)
    AMAZING SPIDER-MAN #637
    GIRL COMICS #3 (OF 3)
    X-MEN FOREVER 2 #3
    X-MEN SECOND COMING #2
    UNCLE SCROOGE #393

    Matthew

  13. kurumais says:

    Batgirl
    Bop 3
    Mighty crusades 1
    Booster gold
    Jl Generation lost
    Cap and bp flags of our fathers
    Gorilla man
    Iron man
    Thanos imperative
    Spider girl
    Ultimate spidey
    Maybe
    doctor solaris

  14. birds of prey 3 (I wasnt that impressed with issue 2)
    daytripper 8 (life is unfair..just die already!)

    Amazing Spider-Man 637(Grim Hunt doesnt dissapoint.Not as good as the Last Hunt but it will do)
    Ultimate Spider-Man 12 (I dig Lafuente’s art,..but there is some Bendis dialogue in it though)
    Avengers Academy 2 (Curious to see whats going to happen in this book)
    Deadpool Corps 4 (No real reason to pick this up)
    Iron Man Noir 4 (Indiana Jones meets Iron Man: It really is a cool little mini)
    Invincible iron man 28 (quality book, although I am not really fan of the current story-arc)
    Thanos imperative 2 (the artwork looked really good in this second issue)
    Hack/Slash 2 (When will Cassie team up with Vlad?)

  15. IronMuskrat says:

    Damn it! After two weeks of giving me next to nothing I want to read, everyone comes out this week with a pile of interesting books. So lets see….

    ***Sure Bets***

    Daytripper #8- A truly amazing series that only has a few issues left, and although the last issue felt like a stumble for me, I know Gabriel Ba and Fabio Moon won’t let me down in the final stretch.

    Chew #12- Poyo is Back! Duh!

    Brave and the Bold #35- The conclusion to JMS Doom Patrol/Legion of Superheroes two issue story. So what was going on with all of that weird shit that was happen while out heroes were working to stop a black hole from destroying Earth? Read and find out =)

    REBELS #18- The best book almost no one is reading. I just have a feeling this book will be coming to an end soon. I don’t know why, just a feeling. But I will still give it some love anyway.

    ***This Weeks Maybes***

    Avengers Academy #2- The first issue intrigued me enough that I will give it another issue, unless I flip thorough it and see something shockingly stupid, I will pick this one up.

    Invincible Iron Man #28- One of the bad things about the very enjoyable Iron Man Annual is it left me wanting a Mandarin/Iron Man story in the main book. Instead we get Iron Man vs. Detroit Steel and the Hammer girls. I think I will take a pass on Iron Man for now, until I see Mandarin’s ugly face on the cover.

    Gorilla Man #1- I love Jeff Parker, but money issues might force me to leave this one on the rack this week.

    Looks like a good week.

    IM

    • IronMuskrat says:

      In light of Marvel’s bullshit decision to cancel Atlas after two issues I have decided to give my money to someone other than Marvel this week.

      Avengers Academy, Invincible Iron Man and Gorilla Man are off my list this week.

      IM

  16. Mike F says:

    http://www.bleedingcool.com/2010/07/12/and-now-vertigo-cancel-greek-street/

    Damn so many VERTIGO’s are going away. I feel like I should buy a few tomorrow since I might not get another chance…

  17. TheRichestManinTown says:

    Batman and Robin #13, Demo 2 #6, and Sweet Tooth #11. I know these all came out last week but they didn’t come out at my LCS because the magnitude of suck which my LCS can generate exceeds my expectations every week.

  18. Pobra says:

    Amazing Spider-Man #637
    Batman #701
    Brave And The Bold #35
    Chew #12
    Daredevil #508 (right there with you on this one Jose)
    Iron Man #28
    REBELS #18 (i hope this issue is REALLY good, i’m starting to lose interest in this book)
    Superman #701 (missed 700 but heard it was crap anyway, JMS has one issue to win me over, as I haven’t enjoyed a Superman book since All-Star)

  19. vegedge says:

    jose,
    do you think you will start reading Amazing spider-man once dan slott has been announced as the fulltime writer?(rumored and reported on bleeding cool)

    his ASM has been the only good part of that series for the past 2 years

  20. mitiators says:

    That “Steve Rodgers- Super Soldier” has been getting good reviews, has anyone picked that one up? If so, is it any good?

  21. Heck says:

    Unwritten #15
    Superman #701

  22. Johnny Cockburn says:

    BoP #3
    Thanos Imperative #2
    JL: Generation Lost #5
    Rebels #18

    won’t be picking em up till atleast two weeks.

Leave a Reply

