CCW Open Thread

Posted: July 14, 2010 in CCW Nation, CCW Open Thread

Comments
  1. cballsack says:

    What would a booty call be? That cloud?

  2. Heck says:

    Just about to watch A Single Man again. Really awesome flick. I know you dug it, right J?

  3. TheMSpot says:

    I don’t know how I feel about the announcement of David Finch’s “The Dark Knight” or whatever it’s called.

  4. TheMSpot says:

    I feel like the 90’s are returning to the comic industry lately for some reason. Is it just me?

  5. Have any of you guys read Geoff Johns’ Avengers stories? I’ve been reading some of them recently and it’s pretty good.

  6. Ok, so right now I’m reading Turf#2 both half-awake and half-asleep… I think I should go to sleep now…

  7. Heck says:

    I think I’m going to pick up Sweets #1 tommorow. Looks good.

    http://www.comicbookresources.com/?page=preview&id=5752&disp=table

  8. Insideman says:

    Okay Jose… I spent all day writing blog posts and articles for my new blog… and I’m still learning all the cool little things I can do and shortcuts for layouts, etc.

    Out of the 11 posts I have written, I have mentioned CCW*TV or the CCW*TV Blog in NINE posts. Are your ears burning?

    I know it’s early in our bloggingship– but I gotta know… Does this qualify me for sisterhood?

  9. mbell028 says:

    Browsing buy.com earlier they’re selling Sweet Tooth volume one for $5. I’m def going to order this next week when I order Revolver and Scott Pilgrim volume 6 for some reason it says on the site they don’t come out until next week.

    • Heck says:

      $5 dollars? Consider it purchased!

    • Insideman says:

      Scott Pilgrim #6 comes out on 7/20. A lot of times places like Buy.com and Amazon get their trades anywhere from 1 to 3 weeks AFTER comic book stores. (Every once once in a long while– they’ll get a book before your comic shops.)

  10. Insideman says:

    Does anybody know of a great Manga news site that also has reliable reviews? Nothing too deep for the Manga newbie here, please. (In other words, I don’t read Japanese. Let’s get that understood up front.)

    And along those lines… Jose do you have an opinion on “Berserk”? 😉

  11. kurumais says:

    the emmies and the harveys nominations came out
    i dont care who wins so much as who is nominated

    h jon benjamin was nominated for a an emmy that made me smile

  12. Mike F says:

    Video game thread? I’ll dish out some epic battle music, who dares challenge me???

  13. TheGateJester says:

    Hey do any of you guys know if any of the other Vertigo series (100 Bullets or Dmz) will be collected in a hardcover format like Y the Last Man and Preacher.

    • My bet is, it will not be within a year from now. DMZ even longer as its still ongoing.

    • Insideman says:

      FABLES is being collected in hardcover now. Ist HC is out already. If you haven’t read it GJ– you should! Highly recommended.

      Even though it is not a Vertigo book… I always think of Brian K. Vaughn’s Ex Machina as a Vertigo title… and there are several deluxe HCs for that EXCELLENT BOOK too.

  14. generaldark says:

    new superman comic was pretty sweet i thought. the new batman was interesting. basically told us stuff bruce knew bout already. tony daniels art got worse throughout the issue. i wish it was consistant with R.I.P at least that wasnt as bad.

    • Venom829 says:

      I expected TD’s art to suck, btw, R.I.P. was hard for me to finish cause of the art, but at least the Morrison script helped me get through it.

      • generaldark says:

        for me it was the last issue that began to piss me off with him in rip. but yes morrison is what can get me through anything lol, he most the time chooses a good artist to set the tone he wants his story to go.

        • Venom829 says:

          I understand why he’s doing this 2-part arc with TD. If it was my choice, I would probably pick someone like Mahnke, Finch, Reis, Kubert, or you know soomeone who’s actually good…

    • Venom829 says:

      What I really want to see is what Grant Morrison does with Damian when Bruce returns.

  15. MicahSkin says:

    Some awful head drawings in this one…

    http://www.ep.tc/problems/38/01.html

    • generaldark says:

      this just looks embarassing……

      • Venom829 says:

        Except Thor, he’s the only one that looks cool

      • Luiz de Mello says:

        You know what is worst than my photoshop-sense tingling a bit stronger than I would like? It is that the photography is bad.

        It is bad as sample ‘scene’ from the movie (there is no sense of movement/action, nor is there anything particularly cool and attention grabbing) and it is bad as a promo photography (again, it doesn’t look anything near cool, and there is either no significant subtext, or the execution was very bad).

        Hopefully the actual Movie is better, but ye know,if they are going to leak/tease/hype, they should at least do it with decent material.

    • Deemar says:

      It looks pretty cool, suprisingly I see a lot of Kirby in the designs.

  16. kurumais says:

    THIERRY HENRY IS A NY REDBULL!!!
    juan pablo angel plus henry we might have something

  17. Venom829 says:

    Has anyone seen the perverted preview of Birds Of Prey #3?

    • Mike F says:

      Wasn’t Gail Simone a GOOD writer at one point? When’d things change?

      • Venom829 says:

        Ed Benes! His last issue, thank goodness 🙂

      • Insideman says:

        I first noticed that Gail SEEMED to be running out of talent around the time she started writing her “Welcome to Tranquility” series for Wildstorm. It was charming at times (the first few issues were good) but it took a quick dive and never really went anywhere. In the modern comics world– this could have been almost ANYONE’S FAULT– Gail, the Editor or DC’s Editor in Chief.

        But then her GEN 13 run (around the same 2007/2008 time frame) REALLY SUCKED DONKEY BALLS.

        After that she wrote “Secret Six” & “Villains United”– which were only “OK” imo.

        I may have been one of the few but I never really sparked to her “Wonder Woman” run either (weird, because I used to like ALL her stuff)… Which drove me BATSHIT CRAZY because the way she had always talked about WW being her “dream book” to write– the pinnacle experience of her career– I expected that when she finally DID get the job that ANGELS WOULD WEEP AT THE SIGHT OF HER FIRST SCRIPT.

        Didn’t happen… at least for me. But then again, I’m no “angel”. 😉

        • kurumais says:

          i love secret six one of my favorite books going right now
          just read 2 of her ww trades not bad but i have a few bones to pick with this whole ambassador of peace thing

  18. Friedmiester says:

    Just finished reading Walking Dead #74 and in the back in the Fan Letters a fan asks Kirkman what books he is enjoying Kirkman replies with books like Demo and Ex Machina, but he also threw in Nemesis and Kick Ass.

    Anybody else surprised?

    • Insideman says:

      NO, Robert knows when to kiss ass AND kick ass. If you can do both at once– why not? 😉

      • Venom829 says:

        He he, should give Mark Millar a lesson or 2 in that department 😉

        • Venom829 says:

          Speaking of Millar, I saw the preview for the next Ult. Avengers series, and at least 4 or 5 of 6 pages were blacked out with the warning: ” Too violent to show”. I was so not shocked by this, since it’s Millar, and secondly, he’s doing the book with Steve Dillon, and he can draw some pretty intense stuff.

          • Insideman says:

            As much as this may bring on the HATE… I really, really like Steve and I really, really like his art… So… Oh, shit… I’m not typing THAT– so it will on the internet forever.

            • Venom829 says:

              Oh no you didn’t, lol, you know what else that I personally find funny myself, I’ve been checking out blogs that have posted the Tony Daniel on-going on Batman news, people are PISSED, I mean LIVED, Finally it’s not just us, I’m having a GREAT DAY! 😛

  19. Mike F says:

    Batman #701.

    Wow, I mean damn. Why the fuck wasn’t this the 700 issue? It has (spoiler) Bruce! It has SOME appeal! Damn, anyway yeah, Grant Morrison once again mind fucks us all by revealing what’s basically his intentions with RIP, FINAL CRISIS, and the whole Bruce Wayne in time act. I gotta say, Grant, you truly are a gifted writer.

    • Venom829 says:

      I’m proud to hear that Mike!

    • Deemar says:

      Didn’t read it Spoil Please.

      For me!

      • Venom829 says:

        I would find them online for you Dee, but I don’t think Jose would appreciate that…

      • Mike F says:

        If you get a chance, pick it up man. I haven’t picked up a Batman title in a few months since (I was just getting bored) but this man… really makes up for the wait. It just really makes me feel good to know that Grant DID in fact have a master plan since day one of his events. Seeing it all come together really has some magical feeling.

        However, I don’t think any other writer could of pulled this off. I mean, Morrison probably lost a lot of fans along the transition considering the fact that it was a long wait to get to this point (Over 2 years I think?) but I think anyone could get 701 and move forward without being too confused.

        • Deemar says:

          Mikey ya’ word is good enough its a done deal.

          🙂

          Grant pulled it off huh?

          Nice

        • Venom829 says:

          I’ll have to wait for the trade, and then wait for my library to get it, if they even order it…

        • generaldark says:

          this is why its better to judge morrisons storys when there complete and not by issues.

          • Venom829 says:

            EXACTLY, but I really want Jose and Elliot to review this issue, since it has an established writer on it, and the buzz on the CCW boards about Batman #701 is positive 🙂

        • Mike F says:

          The feeling is so strong man. Once you hit that last page, its like “wow” Morrison really knows how to deliver a long epic story. To be serious tho, its taken a long time. People probably wanted to give up by now, which makes sense but for those who stayed committed, they won’t be disappointed.

  20. Deemar says:

    Alright I’m gone just a quick wassup to my peeps.

  21. Insideman says:

    Jose, I’m glad you finally got it! If there is anything at all wrong with it (size, etc.)… They will exchange it ABSOLUTELY FOR FREE.

  22. megamanx4ever says:

    Jose have you or Elliot ever read Savage Dragon?

    • I read like the first 80 issues or so.

      J.

    • Insideman says:

      MM4ever… I just bought all the trades… and had a conversation with Erik Larsen about this. If you decided to buy the trades, volumes 12, 13, and 14 were NEVER printed. You miss around 15 to 20 issues of story.

      Not a big deal to some… And I went ahead and bought them anyway. (Haven’t read the yet… BUT I WANT TO.)

  23. Tiger Topher says:

    Hey Elliott and Jose,

    Is there any chance that we’ll get a video review of Grim Hunt and more specifically Amazing Spider-Man #637? There’s some awful stuff in the last issue of that arc and I’m sure that it would provide you guys with more than enough fuel for an epic “last rant.” Either way, keep up the good work.

  24. IronMuskrat says:

    I don’t know how good the movie will be, but the creators of ‘Inception’ have put out a online comic Prequel for the movie.

    Not the best art or even writing, but hey! It’s free right =)

    http://movies.yahoo.com/feature/inception-comic.html

  25. vegedge says:

    anyone pick up hellboy the storm yet?

    great stuff. after this trilogy is done we get mignola back on art :)!

  26. TheMSpot says:

    Anyone else pick up Officer Downe?

  27. TheMSpot says:

    Prepare for Damian to be killed off because he’s joining the Teen Titans. He He.

    • The Amazing Mike says:

      Teen titans being killed off.. WHAT?! That like… Never Happens. (Especially for pure shock value!).

  28. The Amazing Mike says:

    Just read the latest issue of Ult. Spider-Man. I really might drop this, which really saddens me because I own all of the series in trade. It’s just not enough for 3.99$, I don’t think Bendis is focused on it anymore. I mean this whole story was done before by Van Lente a couple months back in ASM… Sorry for the mini-rant I had a need to tell someone.

  29. TheMSpot says:

    Marvel being Marvel with all characters that have movie deals they roll out the new minis and ongoings, and it’s no different with Captain America. That Maberry mini does interest me though.

  30. TheMSpot says:

    Man, it’s been a up and down week. Apparently, Tony Daniel can’t die, but Scott Snyder is writing Detective so there’s a bright spot.

  31. Heck says:

    I guess Atlas is cancelled with #5? Damn shame.

    http://www.cosmicbooknews.com/news/atlas_cl

  32. I guess M. Night Shyamalan is allowed to release more of his shit after The Last Airbender and The Happening. Why is this so?

    http://www.iwatchstuff.com/2010/07/devil_trailer_ut_oh_the_devils.php

    J.

    • rush says:

      I think he’s made the appropriate sacrifices to the gods or those knee pads he bought are coming in handy.

    • Insideman says:

      Don’t despair, his day is coming, Jose. Don’t despair.

      Why is it so? Because, believe it or not– The Sixth Sense made a SHIT LOAD of money. Yes, Hollywood is STILL letting him bank off that moldy extended Twilight Zone episode. But that film was so surprising a hit… They just keep funding his shit… Always in the hopes that his next dump will be another BIG BLOCKBUSTER.

      My sickness will set in if he ever does SCORE like that again. One more MONSTER like Sixth Sense and he’ll basically never go away.

      Good news: I really don’t believe he has another such idea in him. If he did, he would have pulled it out of ass by now out of sheer desperation.

        • Insideman says:

          That trailer is typical of their shit stains.

          You have thought up funnier stuff taking a piss. Made low budget– these cancerous polyps make a modest return… That’s why they keep getting work.

          Unfortunately, this genre also plays well repeatedly on cable– especially late at night to undemanding drunk fuckers. Pay cable likes to play the HIGH BROW– but we all know what happens on Skin-e-max After Dark.

          This type of film is really an art form and no one’s made a decent one in forever. I’ve tried to watch some this dynamic douche-bag’s output on cable… and always have to turn it off after 5 minutes.

          I have better things to do. Like rip out my toe nails.

        • IronMuskrat says:

          Friedberg and Sletzer movies are pretty painful to watch, as much as the whole Twilight phenomena needs to be mocked, these are not the guys to do it.

          The laughs in their movies are few and far between and anything remotely funny is usually thrown into the trailer in an attempted to fool people into thinking the whole movie is funny. So if you have seen the trailer, you have seen all the good parts already, save your money and wait for it to come on Syfy for free =)

          IM

    • phil says:

      As I heard someone say;”The Last Airbender?..I hope so 🙂

    • IronMuskrat says:

      Two hours of people crying and screaming in a elevator.. pass.

      Ok, let me guess the twist. It the elevator that’s the Devil, and they are all dead, taking the elevator to Hell! But it never gets there, because it’s a Devil elevator! and it plays lady Gaga music for all eternity! Muhahahaha!

      IM

  33. Mr.Wrestling says:

    Slowly catching up on the Preacher and Walking Dead series. Bought The second volume of Preacher and the massive Walking Dead Compendium. Great stuff

    Also got the second volume of House of Mystery from Vertigo. I really enjoyed the first trade.

  34. rush says:

    Where the hell are Deemar and CBallsack tonight?

  35. rush says:

    This guy has awesome articles. Here is his latest.

    I Can’t Believe My Favorite Book Got Cancelled!

    This week we got the news that Atlas – the freshly re-launched Marvel series about a band of 50s do-gooders brought into the modern era – has been cancelled as of Issue #5. This isn’t the first time a Marvel series has suffered a quick exit in recent memory:

    * S.W.O.R.D. cancelled after the first arc
    * The Order cancelled after 10 issues
    * Doctor Voodoo cancelled after an arc
    * Captain Britain & MI-13 cancelled after 15 issues

    In each of these cases, the books were (in my opinion) well written, deviated from the normal formula that’s so commonplace in mainstream superhero comics, and were beautifully illustrated. And in each case the sales just weren’t there to support the book.

    Atlas is a title near and dear to my heart, and it’s my love for that band of characters that led to my becoming friends with Gabriel Hardman (the artist on Atlas) and friendly with Jeff Parker (the brilliant writer). I loved this series. I own several pages of original art from Atlas-related books (yes, this page is hanging on the wall of my comic room). This is a series I didn’t want to see cancelled. But I wasn’t surprised to hear that it was.

    But no matter what the sales of a book may (or may not) be, chances are it’s a favorite of SOME group of comic book fans. And we fans have armed ourselves with voices. So when the news hit that Atlas was done after just one arc, it didn’t take a lot of work to find angry Tweets and disappointed forum posters and the requisite lamentations of podcasters. So the perception might be, to some, that these books had a stronger base of support than they really did. But here’s the thing folks (WARNING: I am about to put my “SUIT” mode on)…money talks. It’s perfectly natural to want to blame someone because your favorite books got the ax too soon, but if the sales aren’t there (and they weren’t in the aforementioned titles), it just doesn’t make sense to continue.

    But what you rarely see is a writer willing to come right out and speak to the economic realities of a mainstream book. That’s why I need to tip my cap to Jeff who not only made the decision to end Atlas (yes, he wasn’t forced into it by the Marvel higher ups), but spoke to Comics Alliance about his rationale.

    Q: Does Marvel really have a higher minimum sales expectation compared to DC before a book faces cancellation?

    A: Neither Marvel nor DC make their publication decisions known to the public, with good reason. So it’s hard to say with certainty that what Jeff is saying is true. But empirically, we can look at the Diamond 300 sales charts each month and compare that against which titles get cancelled, and come to the conclusion that – at least on the surface – Marvel does seem less tolerant of low-selling titles right out of the gates. But they’re not as far apart as one might think. If a new title isn’t selling, it’s not long for this Earth.

    For example, recently cancelled Marvel titles include:

    * Atlas #1 sold 22,756 copies, and declined from there
    * Cable was cancelled after #24, which sold 30,132 copies
    * Deadpool: Merc with a Mouth was cancelled after #13, which sold 30,677 copies
    * Dr. Voodoo was canceled at #5, which sold 12,154 copies
    * Spider-Woman was cancelled after #7, which sold 25,437 copies
    * S.W.O.R.D. ended at #5 selling 11,259 copies
    * Wolverine: Weapon X was effectively cancelled at #13, which sold 29,733 copies
    * Web of Spider-Man was cancelled with issue #8, which sold 19,623 copies

    Now compare that to some of DC’s recent low-selling books:

    * Warlord started off with sales of 17,540 – and sales fell to below 10,000 (9,892 copies) by issue #7. But DC continued to publish this book up to Issue #18. When the series was announced for cancellation (after Issue #13), the book had sold just 8,130 copies.
    * Magog started off with a respectable 26,352 copies sold, but fell to just 10,700 copies by Issue #4. Yet DC kept it alive until Issue #12, deciding to cancel the book after Issue #8 sales fell below 8,000 (7,743 copies).
    * The Shield launched at just 19,088 copies and fell to 6,444 copies by the 5th issue. DC kept that book afloat until Issue #10. Similarly, The Web went from first issue sales of 19,535 to 5,809 copies by #5. It too was cancelled with Issue #10.

    Q: How can Marvel (or DC) not make money off a book that sells 20,000 copies, when independent comics would kill to have those numbers?

    A: This unfortunately is a case of comparing apples and oranges. While it’s true that almost any independent creator would do somersaults if their book sold 20K copies per month, that’s not the reality for the Big 2; which have an instantiated fan base and fiduciary responsibilities to their corporate parents and shareholders. Marvel and DC can put out as many books as they want in a given month, but they need to optimize their cost structure. So while they may turn a profit on a lower-selling book, the question they must continually ask themselves is…”Could we be deploying the resources devoted to this book to another project that would sell better?” It’s about INCREMENTAL MARGIN, not absolute profit. In the indie world, turning a profit is an added bonus in many cases to more intrinsic value like seeing your work in print and/or raising your profile for future projects.

    Now as to the actual economics of a Marvel comic and what the “breakeven” is…that’s difficult to triangulate because most industry people are tight lipped about their financial arrangements (again, understandably so). But here are some generic issues to consider:

    * Page rate for interior pencils (22+ pages x artist’s negotiated page rate)
    * Page rate for inks (less than a penciler, but still # of pages x page rate)
    * Page rate for colorist (see above)
    * Costs of cover art (usually a higher page rate for all involved)
    * Costs of variant cover art (a lot more commonplace than you may realize)
    * Costs of lettering
    * Costs of editorial (an editor is capacity constrained, and the costs of their salary should be spread across the number of titles they’re working on at a given time)
    * Overhead costs (office space, IT, shipping, PR, sales, executive management)
    * Printing costs
    * Shipping costs

    Now remember that comic publishers don’t get the $2.99 or $3.99 you plunk down at the store. Diamond gets its cut and the store owner gets his/her piece of the pie. A general rule of thumb is that the publisher keeps 35%-45% of the cover price. So splitting it down the middle, let’s say Marvel is capturing between $1.20 and $1.60 per issue. A $2.99 book selling 20,000 copies yields roughly $24,000 in gross revenues to Marvel. When you start checking off all the aforementioned expenses that go into putting out that book, it’s pretty easy to see that no one is getting rich off the sales of that particular book.

    Q: Do publishers change creative teams sometimes because the sales require it?

    A: Absolutely. Not all comic book writers and artists are created equally. You can be sure that Marvel pays Brian Michael Bendis a lot more per issue than what someone gets for their very first writing gig at the House of Ideas. Likewise, you can bet that Gary Frank commands a higher page rate than a previously unpublished penciler would who is given their first big break on a DC one-shot. As a result, the costs and expectations of an individual title vary with the creative team attached. One notable recent example of this was DC’s re-launch of The Brave & The Bold with Mark Waid and George Perez. Waid was very open about the fact that he wanted to continue on the book, but DC couldn’t justify keeping he and Perez on the project given where the sales were. That kind of thing happens all the time, especially with creators who are under exclusive contract.

    Q: Why won’t Marvel and DC let new titles find an audience? It’s disconcerting to think that the sales of the first few issues seal the fate of any new project, isn’t it?

    A: As a comic book fan, I share your frustration. The direct market is predicated on PRE-ordering, so one can correctly deduce that books like Dr. Voodoo and S.W.O.R.D. were cancelled after only an issue or two were on the stands. One might posit that the quality of those books were high enough that, had they been given a longer leash, word of mouth and positive reviews might have altered their course. Seinfeld was a low rated show in its first season, but was given a shot at finding its audience and the rest is history. Comics should be the same, right?

    Unfortunately we aren’t dealing with how things SHOULD be but rather how things ARE. The simple (and disappointing) truth is that, with very few exceptions, comic titles do not grow audiences anymore. Sure there are exceptions like the Walking Dead and Invincible, but those are EXCEPTIONS. The average comic book loses 15%-20% of its audience from the first to second issue, and then attrition continues until, hopefully, the book levels off at a reasonable sales range. From there it’s a question of goosing sales back up every now and again through inclusion in an event or crossover (as Jeff mentions in his quote), or exclusive variant covers, or a major change in creative team, or…renumbering. But I would challenge any of you to look at the sales of mainstream Marvel and DC titles and find me a non-core book that ever shows a steady increase in sales. It just doesn’t happen. And everyone involved in the process, from the executives to the editors to the creators to the LCS owners knows it. It’s become a self-fulfilling prophecy of sorts because store owners automatically adjust their orders down for each issue until their sell through matches inventory.

    Q: So if it’s so hard to establish new characters and concepts, why do Marvel and DC even bother?

    A: There are lots of reasons to try new things, even if the likelihood that they’ll be monster hits is hard to forecast. The most obvious answer is IP. Marvel and DC are intellectual property companies first and foremost. There is value in keeping their vast repository of characters refreshed, modernized and present within the cultural lexicon. Another more obvious reason is because it pays to do so. Marvel puts out 80-100+ titles per month. They understand that not every book is going to be a blockbuster. But so long as the marginal rate of return is above their internal threshold, putting out the book is better than not putting out the book. That $24,000 they probably made off Atlas is $24,000 they wouldn’t have had and might have otherwise ceded to DC or a smaller publisher. And last but not least, sometimes it DOES work. Atlas might not have captured the hearts and minds of enough readers, but the Young Avengers did. Runaways did. The final reason for putting out mid-list books is talent evaluation and engagement. Consider the writers associated with some of these failed titles: Jason Aaron, Paul Cornell, Matt Fraction, Kieron Gillen, Jeff Parker and Rick Remender. The lack of success on these titles was hardly a condemnation of the creators involved. The quality shone through regardless of the revenues. And that likely played a big role in Marvel and DC committing to these creators on bigger, more commercially-viable projects.

    Q: How nonsensical is it that we fans are forced to pre-order books, sight unseen, months in advance in order to assure they won’t be cancelled. Does that make any sense?

    A: Again, I sympathize. I know quite a few comic fans who don’t pre-order, and they get by just fine. I don’t mind pre-ordering, in fact I love it, but as we discussed a few weeks ago, that comes down to personal preference. You can criticize the direct market for requiring pre-ordering, but that doesn’t change the reality. If you really want to try to save mid-list books that you love, the best way is to pre-order them and make sure your store owners are stocking them. But WANTING to do that and feeling OBLIGATED to are very different things. You don’t owe the publishers anything. You have every right to buy what you like, in the form you like, at the time you like. Don’t let anyone tell you differently.

    I have one nitpick with the logic of the question, though. Comics aren’t the only medium that asks us to pony up our money before we’ve sampled the merchandise. Movies are the same. We have to rely on word of mouth, reviews, trailers and press junkets to determine if we want to spend our $$$ at the theater. The only difference is the immediacy of the payoff (or disappointment). When you pay your $10 at the theater, you’re going to know in a few hours whether it was worth it. When pre-ordering comics your satisfaction (or disappointment) is delayed by a few months.

    At the end of the day, seeing your favorite titles get the ax sucks. But rather than blame the publisher for not sticking with a book, or the store owners for not stocking mid-list titles, or your fellow fans for not liking what you like, recognize that it’s just part of the way the system works in 2010. It’s not optimal per se, but it is rational. I’ll miss Atlas. But I’ll be seeing lots more of Gabriel’s work at Marvel (he’s now an exclusive) and Jeff has Thunderbolts and Gorilla-Man and much more looming.

  36. Mr.Wrestling says:

    Man I am getting behind in my comic buying, I went to the shop today and picked up only last weeks comics because new books dont arrive at my shop until one and I had to be at work by then.

    • Not till 1? That fucking sucks…balls.

      J.

      • Insideman says:

        I remember there was a local store that didn’t their shit out to, like, 2pm or later. He also wouldn’t open the doors until he was finished sorting EVERYTHING.* You would drive by and see all of his customers wandering aimlessly around the parking lot or pressed up against the glass front doors.

        Day of the Dead Comic Book Nerds!

        (*That was back when a fair number of people actually purchased comics… and it is this kind of bullshit behavior from dealers like that that made me search for MAIL ORDER so I didn’t have to put up with their obnoxious asses.

        Why I am happy for the internet: I am no longer land locked to local comic stores because of geographical necessity!

        In all of LA, there might be ONE decent comic book store owner that is genuinely in it for the love of the medium. The rest of them are sitting there hoping Robert Downey Jr might pop in to buy some comics… Or looking to sell a screenplay to a producer. They could care less about average comic book customers.)

    • rush says:

      Don’t feel too bad man, I’m behind on mine as well and it’s going to get worse in coming weeks.

    • Insideman says:

      MW… Where is your shop located– Hawaii or AK? 😉

      (I think some shop owner’s pissed off their UPS-man!)

      • Mr.Wrestling says:

        Haha yea Im not sure whats going on with that. I dont normally go in on Wednesdays but I walk in today and the owner tells me that new books dont arrive till one. It sucks.

        Ill probably have to make another trip down there this weekend to pick up this weeks books.

        • Insideman says:

          Ask him to give you a gas credit for the 2nd trip– just to see the shitty look he gets on his face.

          • Mr.Wrestling says:

            haha yea well luckily I have to travel to that area all the time, so its not to big of a problem to stop in there again. But yea, my shop is pretty cool. However it is the only one local to me so really there is no other choice haha

            Went back to the shop today to pick up this weeks books, pretty happy that I did as I was able to get some recent books that I had missed before..

            Like the latest issue of Invincible and the first issue of the Spiderman and Fantastic Four mini which was great.

            Also was able to get the first volume of Northlanders which I have been waiting for .

            ….oh and Superman 701 was really great

        • Before working at Dreamland I managed a different store for 10 years. About 10 minutes from that store we has a competitor who would get their comics at 3 in the afternoon while we were able to pick ours up from a drop point on Tuesdays, Needless to say that competitor didn’t last very long.

          J.

          • Insideman says:

            That’s the ol’ “You Get Out What You Put In” reality of life.

            A lazy fucker like that needs to go work for Best Buy.

  37. rush says:

    This looks interesting. But, then I’m a sucker for this period of history

  38. Insideman says:

    I don’t mean to be puking on the free previews… But a Robert E. Howard warrior named “Cormac FitzGeoffrey”?

    That sounds like a made up Billy Connolly character. 😉

    Everyone should now go watch “Fido”!

  39. Constantanius says:

    Ouch I know Jose is not going to like this news!

    The Bat-news continues to roll in, with more clues and teases about what exactly is happening in the Batman universe in November. Here’s another piece of the puzzle, involving Mr. Tony Daniel.

    It’s simple enough. Tony’s done a bang-up job as both writer and artist on the regular BATMAN series, and after a brief break thanks to the epic 700th anniversary issue and his team-up with writer Grant Morrison to bridge the gap between “Batman R.I.P.” and FINAL CRISIS, Tony Daniel will return to the title as the ongoing writer and artist. Not bad, eh? Let’s see what the man himself has to say about it.

    “I am thrilled and honored to be tapped for further writing duties on the world’s most iconic super hero, Batman. I look forward to telling exciting tales with the caped crusader and exploring old and new characters alike. I will continue to put my best foot forward on each and every page.”

    Taken from The Source

  40. Venom829 says:

    For those of you whom liked the Scott Snyder news on Detective, than you might like this:
    http://dcu.blog.dccomics.com/2010/07/15/batman-and-robin-met-peter-and-patrick/

    • generaldark says:

      i dont like this because this is morrisons title, were is he going to go and do? this is just an attempt to give us more freakin bat books that we do not need! they should cancel this title when grant is done with the storys he is trying to tell.

      • Venom829 says:

        The solicit for Batman And Robin #16 made it sound like it was the last issue of the series. I think the story of Morrison was for Bruce to find out he has a son, almost look like he’s dead, than have a major run-in with a villain (Darkseid), put a new man in the cape and cowl, Damian becomes Robin, and Bruce Wayne makes an epic return as Batman. I think that was the whole story, my first reaction on this was posotive because of the awesome run they had on GLC, so I hope that this works, and at the same time, I understand your point of this being Morrison’s story Generaldark.

        • generaldark says:

          still morrisons batman story is the last batman story for me. I feel like there is nothing new you can do with the batman anymore and this run is a great end for me because it sums up all of batmans history and shows why he is so great. So as far as im concern i geuss i really do not care what they do anymore after morrison. To me this is batmans last story for me. Now if they plan on doing stuff with damian as future batman then i may be interested but thats a maby.

          • Venom829 says:

            I really want to know what Damian’s future is when Bruce returns.

            • vegedge says:

              i think it was hinted at in batman 666.

              there was a display of two batmen suites in action on dummies,(one bigger and buffer and one looked like dick graysons) and the damien robin suit next to it.

              i am guessing there will be two batmen and damien as robin for a while. i really hope that future comes true in comics. somehow damien gets dick or bruce killed and sells his sole to the devil to be invincible to hunt crime all times. its a nice change for batman stuff

  41. Deemar says:

    Tomasi/Gleason B&R!

    I’m there

    • Pobra says:

      Yeah, I admit that that team does sound promising, but i still think the book should just end when Morrison’s run is over. I feel like DC is just keeping it going because it’s a high seller. I’ll still give it a chance though.

  42. Insideman says:

    ELLIOTT’S “Army of Darkness: Ash Saves Obama” GN is OUT NEXT WEDNESDAY– just in time for SAN DIEGO! He sould have some fun with that next week! 🙂

    I’m so there for this:

    http://store.dreamlandcomics.com/army-of-darkness-ash-saves-obama-gn-p54580.aspx

  43. Pobra says:

    Lot of Morrison talk going on… I take it most of you have probably already seen these clips, but i’ll post them anyway.


  44. Pobra says:

    Jesus christ, i’ve done it again… Jose! I swear this time it was wordpress’s fault.

  45. generaldark says:

    gonna see the midnight showing of inception tonight, i believe this will be my movie of the year.

  46. Insideman says:

    Jose, I figured out the whole reason “Shadowland’s” Daredevil doesn’t act like “Daredevil’s” Daredevil!
    http://swearallyoulike.com/2010/07/15/daredevil-reborn-dds-horrible-new-costume-explained/

  47. rush says:

    Ed Brubaker as guest DJ on KCRW in Los Angeles

    http://www.kcrw.com/music/programs/gd/gd100714ed_brubaker

    • Edward2962 says:

      VERY interesting, Rush. I’m disappointed that they only gave him 5 songs,tho. Ed did a slacker comic in the 90’s called “Lowlife”.I bet he’s got some Ramones albums in his collection.

  48. Morlock50 says:

    I just finished watching rec2. Not quite as good as the first one but I liked it. Took the zombie thing in a different direction this time. Anyone else see it yet?

    • cballsack says:

      Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha.

      This made my day.

    • IronMuskrat says:

      Westboro Baptist Chruch… Aren’t those the pieces of shit that protest the funerals of soldiers killed in battle, saying God is punishing our country for allowing homosexuality.

      Man, I hate those fuckers…

      IM

  49. Jeremy says:

    You know, I have been a fan of ASM for a few years now. I started reading it right as OMD was beginning. When Joe Quesada made the whole status quo change I didn’t mind very much. But that was then, this is now. Now I’m worried that Quesada, who is an artist not a writer, is going to shake up the status quo (unnecessarily) again. I mean if there going to change the Spidey universe, shouldn’t it be an ASM writer who does it? They have Dan Slott (who is an excellent writer) Mark Waif (who wrote Kingdom Come which is a work of art) Joe Kelly ( who is a veteran writer) and at least two other writers to write the story, but is it given to them? No! It’s given to Quesada! It’s just stupid! If it was Loeb or Bendis it would at least make SOME sense, but no. It’s given to an artist who screwed up royally last time!
    BTW Anyone read the latest issue of Ultimate Spider-Man? It is a copy of the chameleon story in ASM from a few months ago!

    • SmokeyClocks says:

      it wasn’t given to him and he didn’t earn it. He took it because he is the boss and a self indulgent ass

    • Insideman says:

      That’s because BRIAN BENDIS does NOT read other writer’s books… No matter how much he says he does!

  50. cballsack says:

    Did y’all see the new pic of Green Lantern? I really hate this costume! It looks like his skin was removed and then painted green.

  51. Education Connection commercials are starting up on Adult Swim. Good times.

    J.

  52. generaldark says:

    inception was brilliant. go see it

  53. Mike F says:

    http://www.comicbookresources.com/?page=article&id=27252

    I gotta say, I really don’t wanna see comic about this kinda topic. Never. But its interesting to see all these unreleased titles…

    • Insideman says:

      Very interesting news, Mike. Doesn’t sound like the new regime is dumping Vertigo… Sounds like they are attempting to support the artistic vision.

Leave a Reply

