So, These Were the 25 Best Selling Comics for June 2010, huh?

Posted: July 15, 2010 in Opinion, Top 25 Comics, Top 300 Comics
Tags: ,

Let’s take a look at the list, shall we?

1. New Avengers #1
2. Batman #700
3. Avengers #2
4. Batman: Return of Bruce Wayne #3
5. Green Lantern #55
6. Brightest Day #3
7. Brightest Day #4
8. Secret Avengers #2
9. Uncanny X-Men #525
10. Avengers Prime #1
11. Flash #3
12. Superman #700
13. Green Lantern Corps #49
14. X-Men Legacy #237
15. Justice League of America #46
16. Amazing Spider-Man #634    
17. Amazing Spider-Man #633
18. Captain America #606
19. Astonishing X-Men #34
20. Thor #611
21. Amazing Spider-Man #635
22. Green Arrow #1
23. New Mutants #14
24. Wonder Woman #600
25. Captain America #607

Kinda brutal. The only comics I bought off of that list were Secret Avengers #2, Green Lantern Corps #49 and Wonder Woman #600. Now, instead of ripping on this list like I usually do I would like to point out where in the Top 300 some of my favorite books are so you can see how fucked up this industry is (from my point of view at least. If you and your friends enjoy circle jerking around Avengers and Brightest Day comics then I am sure you think things are just dandy).

40. X-Factor – Guess that is not so bad, it was billed as a Second Coming x-over hence why it’s at 40.
61. Thunderbolts – At least this Parker book won’t get canceled, right? …right?
76. Doomwar – 26,000 copies sold. WTF is wrong with people?
77. American Vampire – See above.
99. Power Girl – If this were a Marvel book it would be canceled. Thankfully it’s not.
120. Atlas – 16,000 copies sold. Kevin Smith’s Kato #2 ranks higher. Fuck me…
125. Invincible – The best superhero book only the cool kids are reading.
160. REBELS – 11, 000 copies sold.

Ok…I think I’ll stop now. This is just getting fucking depressing.

J.

Top 300 Comics Actual–June 2010/ICv2

Comments
  1. Venom829 says:

    What a joke! What a #$@%ing JOKE! THIS IS WHAT PEOPLE WANT? NEW AVENGERS, AVENGERS, BRIGHTEST DAY, X-MEN? WE ARE DOOMED!

  2. Bboyce109 says:

    You must have had a heart attack when you found out New Avengers #1 was #1 on the list. Justice League Generation Lost is a better story than Brightest Day but its not even in the top 25.

  3. generaldark says:

    im just speechless as to how the fuck new avengers got to number one. i agree as well that generation lost is the best brightest day tie in out there thats even better then the actual BD story.

  4. Morlock50 says:

    The only positive here, besides WW cracking the top 25 for the first time in….., is that maybe Jeff Parker will get so fed up with Marvel canceling his shit that he’ll take his talents to DC. Who’d like to see him writing the Justice League of the Teen Titans? I sure would.

  5. Pobra says:

    so, people actually like Brightest Day? Or do they just buy it because they are slaves to cheap marketing gimmicks? Cus, ya know, that comic kinda blows.

    • generaldark says:

      :/………..

      • Pobra says:

        Does that mean you like Brightest Day? If so I apologize, but, ya know… 🙂

        • Well, when you’re right you’re right Pobra. I’ve read every issue so far of BD and it is just terrible. So so terrible.

          J.

          • Pobra says:

            Jesus, you are a much stronger man than I. I had to drop it after issue #2.

            • Luiz de Mello says:

              Or a masochist.

              • Insideman says:

                LOOK AT THE “SACRIFICES” JOSE MAKES FOR US!
                You can’t be an uninformed Blog Master… Well, you can– but then you’d run Newsarama or CBR.

            • Locusmortis says:

              I dropped it after issue #4 but I wanted to drop it after #2. pre-ordering sucks sometimes.

              There are some fucking awful comics on that list. I still haven’t got my comics in the post but I have Green Lantern and GLC (which are ok but coasting now), Wonder Woman, Secret Avengers (I had low expectations but its better than I thought it’d be), Avengers Prime (Alan Davis art) and Avengers which again I wanted to drop at issue two but am committed till issue #4.

          • Insideman says:

            Is it 52 Week “Trinity” terrible? Cause that was terrible, too. Made me lose tons of respect for Kurt Busiek.

        • generaldark says:

          no, its just blackest night was my first event i didnt get in trade and since this is a follow up to it i felt the need to collect the floppies instead of trade waiting it.i really do feel bad tho lol

          • Pobra says:

            Don’t feel bad dude, we are all allowed our guilty pleasures 🙂

          • Stamps says:

            I REALLY liked Blackest Night and at first I was kind-of liking Brightest Day, but these last 2 issues have been unimpressive to say the least. I need to cut a couple of books from my pull-list to save money these days anyway, so no more Brightest Day for Stamps.

  6. MicahSkin says:

    To quote Albert Einstein “There are only 2 things that are infinite: The Universe and the Stupidity of Mankind. And I’m not sure about the Universe.”

  7. fuck fuck fuck what is wrong with people?

  8. Insideman says:

    That’s the way it is and the way it will always be.

    But it’s important to note these things, Jose. Maybe you’ll wake somebody the fuck up and then they can wake somebody the fuck up, etc., etc.

  9. Mr.Wrestling says:

    Wow…..Ive gotta stop reading these reports every month. Dont do anything but piss me off and depress me at the same time

  10. pauxer says:

    i wanna kill myself looking at this list, Doomwar should be making at least a top ten spot. So should invincible.

  11. Deemar says:

    Looks like Atlas is going the way of the DoDo bird, sad really.

  12. Pobra says:

    I feel more and more like an asshole everyday for not reading Invincible. I’m almost done with The Invisibles and Scott Pilgrim, so maybe Invincible will be the next set of trades i start getting.
    It’s between that, DMZ, 20th Century Boys, or Walking Dead. Any suggestions?

  13. Deemar says:

    Nice Gravatar Pobra by the way, you should keep it.

    • Pobra says:

      thanks D. I’ll be keeping it for a while. i like to switch it up from time to time, but Radiohead has been my favorite band since high school, so i imagine i’ll come back to it.

  14. Heck says:

    I don’t buy Marvel at all and I think I’ve just about had it with DC and their Brightest Nights and Darkest Days. The heroes NEVER win. What’s the point in having a huge event if the heroes can’t even save the day?

    I love Superman, but War of the Supermen bastardized him enough. When I was a kid, I was able to enjoy my comics regardless. They were cheap enough to do so. Now it’s a treat to find a comic that isn’t 4 bucks.

    I’m going to stick to the indies.

  15. TheMSpot says:

    Why doesn’t this surprise me?

    • TheMSpot says:

      Which leads me to another question, did anyone pick up Superman #701? Any good?

      • looks interesting superman going walkabout mmmmmmmmmhhh

      • Heck says:

        My LCS didn’t get any copies. They all came in damaged.

        The other shop I went to was sold out except for one copy and wanted me to pay $6.00 for it because it was “their last copy”. Bullshit.

        I guess I have to wait to find a copy.

        • Wha…? $6 cause it was their last copy? What a bunch of fuckers. Sigh…

          J.

          • Heck says:

            That and they tried to sell me Zantana #1 for $5 because it was “first edition”. What do I look like a fuckinn’ moron? LOL.

            • Insideman says:

              What YOU need to do Heck is FIND ANOTHER store. You are NOT a moron but THEY are ASSHOLES.

              • Heck says:

                Thanks Insideman. I will not be shopping there again. Is it even legal to sell it like that?

                • Insideman says:

                  Yes, it is legal.

                  It’s called “pricing at whatever the market will bear”. But this is ridiculous shit retailers used to do years ago when comics were booming… I didn’t think anybody still had the balls to do it on NEW COMICS. (I know Mile High still acts like EVERY BOOK older than 3 months is gold and creates ARTIFICIALLY HIGH PRICES).

                  But today– with this shitty economy and depressed readership levels? Hell no. My advice is: Don’t go there. Don’t spend another dime with them.

                  My Dad taught me something really important. He said, “Son, ANYBODY will TAKE my money. ANYBODY.”

                  So operate under THAT principle, Heck. TAKE YOUR MONEY to someplace where the PEOPLE APPRECIATE YOUR BUSINESS.

                  These types of FUCKERS are why Marvel & DC would love to get rid of Direct Market comic shops. It doesn’t take “too many worms to spoil the barrel”– and the comic business is full of slimy worms.

            • Morlock50 says:

              That’s fucking crazy Heck! That’s a small business that deserves to fail.

            • Pobra says:

              wow, i thought my lcs was bad….

        • Deemar says:

          ..and some LCS wonder why they lose costumers

  16. C.A.S. says:

    I feel your pain, Jose, as well as the other posters.

    After glancing at this list, I’ll be going ‘back issue’ hunting from now on. WAY back.

  17. This list makes me weep for the industry… I hate how almost EVERY series I read and enjoy the most gets shown the door. There are so many good books that I wish would come back. Guess I have ANOTHER thing to talk about on my blog 🙂 Not that I’m complaining. Thanks to everyone who’s stopped by to check out my blog! I really appreciate it!

  18. Edward2962 says:

    NA is pretty good as a Defenders comic. And I agree with Elliot, I’m digging Stuart’s art. One thing that did bug was the oral history is the back.This is nit-picking,but…

    Bone of contention #1: Tony states that the reason he invited the Hulk to be on the team was because Tony wanted to experiment on the Hulk.Since BEFORE I WAS BORN the official reason was cuz Avengers thought they could keep the Hulk outa trouble,but Hulk wasn’t haven’t it.For some reason Tony’s new motivation bugs me.
    Bone of Contention #2: Tony states that in their first meeting,Hulk wasn’t disguised as a clown in a circus,except that’s EXACTLY WHAT’S HAPPENING in Avengers origin comic that’s coming out right now!
    BOC #3: Tony states he dreamed of building armor for all the Avengers.This was done not only in the United they Stand cartoon from 10yrs ago, but also by Tony in WHAT IF vol.#3. Jim Shooter,Gil Kane,+Klaus Janson. Ha! I’m a gen-xer too,Brian! I know where yer gettin’ yer ideas!

    For anyone who cares…What If vol.1 #5 Steve is leader of SHIELD,Bucky is Cap and Rick Jones is Bucky.When the Cap movie comes out,don’t be surprised if Buck/Cap dies fighting Hydra,so Steve can be Cap again.

    • kurumais says:

      nice post ed

      loved the avengers in armor what if
      and the what if cap and bucky references

      • Edward2962 says:

        Thanks,Kuru! I need the encouragement. This probably isn’t the place to bitch about it but…I’m about 35oz into 40 and I’m pissed cuz I told my boss I’d do field work tomorrow and then I realized they’re shooting that damned Transformers movie and traffic is re-routed until Monday morning!
        Women here’s your chance!! Mock us guys for being into Transformers movies that are not only unrealistic but also fuck up small businesses!

  19. Anonimo says:

    i love your show!

  20. cballsack says:

    I like Captain Picard.

  21. kurumais says:

    out of the top 25 i bought 8 none of my current top 5 favorite books on the list
    misanthrope much K?

    i was stunned to see JLA on the list

  22. Heck says:

    Out of that top 25, I read Superman #700 (which was shit) and I skimmed Wonder Woman #600.

    It’s funny how people still buy Avenger books. I fear for America in the coming years.

  23. Adam727 says:

    I remember Elliot asking for this.

    Doom War, American Vampire, Invincible and REBELS should be in the top 20!

    I don’t understand how some of these other books are in the top 20.

    This list is so saddening, and why things won’t ever change.

  24. Mike F says:

    Number 22 was the ONLY title on this list I really loved.

    FUCK MARVEL/DC!

    Thank god for AKIRA ^_^

  25. IronMuskrat says:

    I need to start finding some new comics to read, it looks like most of the books I like will be canceled or coming to an end soon.

    Doomwar – One issue left.

    Atlas- Canceled.

    Daytripper- Two issues left.

    REBELS- Might stick around because DC is a little more lenient when it comes to sales, but it could end at anytime.

    Brave and the Bold- HAs anyone heard if JMS is sticking around on this book? If he leaves I will probably bail on this comic.

    I figure by the time Thanksgiving rolls around the only books I will be looking forward to on a monthly bases will be..

    Thunderbolts – Jeff Parker, this could be the only monthly I will be buying from Marvel period.

    Chew- John Layman continues to impress me.

    REBELS

    An that’s it really, I never realized how many comics I enjoyed are limited series or book close to being canceled.

    I need to come up with some new books to read, I know there are some good ones out there. I need to decided which ones to give a try.

    My short list.

    Invincible- No idea why I have been putting this one off.
    Wonder Woman- JMS
    Detective Comics when Scott Synder starts writing it.
    and a superhero team book from an independent company, Dynamo 5 perhaps.

    IM

  26. agent42q says:

    BLAH!

    2. Batman #700
    5. Green Lantern #55
    9. Uncanny X-Men #525
    12. Superman #700
    13. Green Lantern Corps #49
    14. X-Men Legacy #237
    16. Amazing Spider-Man #634
    17. Amazing Spider-Man #633
    19. Astonishing X-Men #34
    21. Amazing Spider-Man #635
    24. Wonder Woman #600

    Wow, I got a LOT of the top 25, but all the 700’s were for reviewing purposes (best excuse I can make for buying those) Then the X-event I think is pushing sales of x-books that will drop a bit soon. Also Avenger books will drop in sales soon, once the #1 craze is over the number will fluctuate a bit, I’m sure of it! (and I’m almost always right :p) IDK, I think now is the time for some of us to push high quality books because I think there will be a bit of shifting in peoples budgets, there usually is after the the summer event-its turns around.

  27. Johnny Cockburn says:

    boo fucking urns. somebody needs to backtothefuture bendis out of the womb.

    at least the Thanos Imperative isn’t too far ways down the list.

  28. Rob F says:

    But we have to remember there was a day when Rob Liefield and Image Comics were the top selling books…

Leave a Reply

