Who’s Getting What This Week?

Posted: August 10, 2010 in Image, Marvel, Vertigo

Sorry this post is being put up later than usual. On top of that, I need to go into work early so I have no time to make snarky comments about some of the shit books coming out this week. That will have to wait till later I’m afraid. Here’s what I buying this week:

Daredevil #509 (Andy Diggle, Last issue was better than the two issues of Shadowland combined)
Daytripper #9
Hack Slash: My First Maniac #3
Morning Glories #1
The Unwritten #16

What are you getting this week?

J.

Comments
  1. generaldark says:

    superman
    morning glories
    justice league generation lost.

    i dont know why some people dont like JMS superman, the first issue was awsome. i just cant understand how people say that this is not superman. i reply saying that you arnt real superman fans if you dont think this is him. this is him down to the core of his charecter.

  2. kurumais says:

    another brutal week for me
    buzzard I was going to wait for the trade but then I didnt
    batgirl love this book
    birds of prey
    steve Rodgers super soldier
    thanos imperative
    ultimate spidey
    iron man
    spider girl
    thor the might avenger
    marvel super heroes 5 (cap)

  3. Looks like just one book for me this week:

    – Invincible Iron Man#29

    I might get Marvel Universe vs. Punisher#1 because I have the extra money and it seems everyone here enjoyed it.

  4. birds of prey 4
    daytripper 9
    dark wolverine 89
    iron man 29
    incredible hulk 611
    thanos imperative 3
    ultimate spider-man 13
    buzzard 3
    hackslash 3
    walking dead 76

  5. Mr.Wrestling says:

    So after last week was ridiculously Marvel heavy, I make up for it by having no Marvel books. Actually I only have two DC books as well so this is a very indie week for me. That is unusual but I like that

    Unwritten vol. 2
    Superman #702
    Justice League: Generation Lost #7

    Hopefully Hack/Slash #1-3, If my shop has all the issues in then I want to get caught up on this series.

    ….and possibly Morning Glories #1, it looks interesting but can anyone tell me what it is about?

    • The reason I am picking up Morning Glories is because it is written by Nick Spencer who also wrote Forgetless. I was very impressed with Forgetless so I am going to give his new book a shot.

      All I know about the plot is that it takes place in a prep school that has “deep, dark secrets to hide.”

      If you google it you will find a couple of 5 page previews for the book on other websites.

      J.

  6. Dre says:

    Daredevil #509 (Ditto, Jose! F*cking, ditto!)

  7. Bboyce109 says:

    DC
    Batgirl #13
    Birds of Prey #4
    Green Lantern Emerald Warriors #1
    Justice League Generation Lost #7
    Superman #702

    MARVEL
    Daredevil #509
    Incredible Hulk #611
    Invincible Iron Man #29
    Steve Rogers Super Soldier #2
    Thanos Imperative #3
    Ultimate Comics Avengers 3 #1

  8. SmokeyClocks says:

    daredevil 509
    buzzard 3
    walking dead 76

  9. TheMSpot says:

    If I was anywhere near my LCS I would be picking up Buzzard#3.

    And if your wondering where I’m at check my blog. Oh, and great last rants at least I was able to stream them to my phone through Youtube , but commemting on my phone through WordPress is a pain in the ass. So, see you all next week.

  10. mbell028 says:

    Hey what’s up guys this week I’ll be getting:
    Daytripper 9
    Green Lantern: Emerald Warriors 1
    The Walking Dead 76

    I was going to pick up Superman this week, but I was pretty dissapointed with last month’s issue plus I had to fix up my pull list it got up to over $70 for the month somehow so I had to cancel a bunch of books off my pull. I’m curious about Green Lantern: Emerald Warrior especially since Peter Tomasi is writing it. It’s going to be a good week for comics

    • mbell028 says:

      I got some books in the mail today that I ordered online.
      I picked up:
      Scarlet 1
      Runaways volume 1 (Brian K. Vaughan)

      Just finished reading Scarlet god damn that book was cool as hell, I wish Bendis would write more books like this. I saw that it’s going to be bi-monthly it’s good to see an entertaining book come out more often but I wish it wasn’t $3.95 I’d be a lot happier if it was $2.99, but I understand why it’s more expensive.

  11. justice league generation lost 7
    invincible iron man 29

    i wish everyweek was like this for me i just don’t have the money to spend 30 to 40 pounds on comics i think’ll put a limit on books i’m buying per month 10 maybe 12 i might pick up morning glories i seen the preview in of dynamo 5 2 and looks interesting mmmmmmmmmmm

  12. Matthew Guy (mguy1977) says:

    ADVENTURE COMICS #517
    BATGIRL #13
    BIRDS OF PREY #4
    SUPERMAN #702
    TEAM UPS OF THE BRAVE AND THE BOLD HC
    ZATANNA #4
    INCREDIBLE HULK #611
    X-MEN FOREVER 2 #5
    WALKING DEAD #76

    Matthew

  13. Insideman says:

    I passed on a couple of books because I already own them in hardcover form. Adventures of Superboy might be iffy… And I am nowhere near sold on Marvel’s Marvelman intentions.

    Adventures of Superboy Vol 1 HC
    Bone Tall Tales (softcover)
    Chew Vol 1 Omnivore HC
    Daredevil The Devils Hand
    Garth Ennis Battlefields Vol 5 The Firefly & His Majesty
    Invaders Eve of Destruction
    Locke & Key Vol 3 Crown Of Shadows HC
    Marvelman Classic Vol 1 HC
    Myspace Dark Horse Presents Vol 5
    Siege Avengers Initiative HC
    Team-Ups of the Brave and the Bold HC
    Unwritten Vol 2 Inside Man- Really? How could I resist?
    X-Men Forever Vol 4 Devil in a White Dress

    MANGA
    Gossip Girl Manga Vol 1
    Naoki Urasawa’s 20th Century Boys Vol 10

  14. Pobra says:

    Daredevil #509 (you’re winning me back Diggle, but Shadowland #1 was still shit)
    Invincible Iron Man #29
    Superman #702 (if this isn’t at least 5 times better than 701, i’m done)
    Unwritten Vol.2 TPB (woot! ’bout time)

  15. Stamps says:

    Batgirl #13
    Birds of Prey #4
    Unwritten #16
    Invincible Iron Man #29
    Morning Glories #1
    Walking Dead #76
    Marvel Universe vs. Punisher#1

  16. megamanx4ever says:

    Invincible Iron Man #29
    Ultimate Comics Avengers 3 #1
    Ultimate Comics Spider-Man #13

    Im considering dropping all 3 of these books if they dnt get better this issue.

    • Venom829 says:

      I would expect high disapointment with Ult. Comics Avengers 3 #1 megamanx 😉

      • yeah they’re bringing back daredevil. oh wait it’s actually the person who trained matt murdock and was also referred to as daredevil.

        OH FUCK OFF MILLAR YOU MONEY GRABBING UNCREATIVE LAZY PREDICTABLE BASTARD !!!!

        sigh i needed that carry on.

        • Whew… for a second there I almost flipped my lid and was about to scream, “DIDN’T DD DIE IN ULTIMATUM?!?” But I read the rest of the comment and breathed a sigh of relief.

          lol at Mark Millar. He keeps introducing “new” versions of old Ultimate U characters. There’s a new Black Widow, who I didn’t know was the new one, ’cause I remember that the old one died, until a few weeks ago (Millar didn’t explain this in the story. I had to read the re-cap and I rarely do that 🙂 ). There’s also a ‘Nerd Hulk’ and Hulk’s mentor, who apparently was the original Hulk. WTF happened to regular Ultimate Hulk??? Now this DD thing??? WOW.

          Millar= epitome of LAZINESS

          • Don’t worry megamanx4ever, I’m not trying to make fun of you for buying the book, if you enjoy it that’s great. I’m just speaking my mind as an old fan of the Ultimate U back when it was good.

          • yeah i think it’s a shame all the comic creators and writers in the indies who desperatly want to work at marvel or dc and now someone like bendis or millar won’t let go of his books and will hold on to them with their dying breathe and any editors or any exec’s are marvel won’t want to let them go as long as their keeping sales up sigh again.

            • I literally giggled with laughter when I figured out that there was a ‘Nerd Hulk’. Y’know, that could very well be what Mark Millar is aiming for… although too bad for Millar because I’m not laughing at the story.

              • megamanx4ever says:

                Yeah I rather liked the first Ultimate Avengers but the Second one was very unsatisfactory compared to the first one and thats saying alot. With USM the chameleon story is really boring and way to similar to Fred Van Lente’s ASM story. As for Iron Man I will give it 3 issues to imptove before I drop it.

                • kurumais says:

                  wait didnt they bring in a pre hulk, hulk too? one that looks more like luke cage max than hulk? and they brought in tony stark’s older, smarter, and richer, brother out of nowhere. yeah what the heck bring reed richard’s older and stretchier sister while your at it.

    • You’re considering dropping IIM?!?!?!? 😦

  17. pilkk90 says:

    Ultimate Comics Avengers 3 #1
    Ultimate Comics Spider-Man #13
    Green Lantern Emerald Warriors
    Wolfman 24
    Witchblade 137
    Morning Glories (CCW hasn’t recommended a bad book yet for me)

  18. Hooray! My Bayonetta action figure FINALLY showed up today. 🙂

    J.

  19. IronMuskrat says:

    Daytripper #9 is the only sure thing this week.

    I will be getting one other book this week if my LCS has it, Jose can probably guess which one it is. =)

    IM

  20. Mike F says:

    You know it 🙂

  21. Deemar says:

    Small list this week.

    My wallet is safe.

    Green Lantern Emerald Warriors #1
    Invincible Iron Man #29
    Thanos Imperative #3
    Thor Mighty Avenger #3
    Astounding Wolf-Man #24
    BPRD Hell on Earth New World #1
    Walking Dead #76

  22. NoEmoDaredevil says:

    First off, fuck ASM. Secondly…

    Green Lantern: Emerald Warriors 1
    Superman 702
    Zatanna 4 (last chance Dini)
    DMZ 56
    Daredevil 509 (Shadowland has blown, but as Jose said the main title is still quality)
    Shadowland: Blood on the Streets 1
    Morning Glories 1
    Walking Dead 76
    Witchblade 137

  23. Heck says:

    Superman #702
    Morning Glories #1
    Unwritten #16

  24. Johnny Cockburn says:

    this week’s haul:

    Birds of Prey #4
    Green Lantern Emerald Warriors #1
    Justice League Generation Lost #7
    Thanos Imperative #3

    that’s pretty light but i still have last weeks stash waiting.

  25. rush says:

    Daytripper #9
    DMZ #56
    BPRD Hell on Earth New World #1
    Buzzard #3
    Locke & Key Keys to the Kingdom #1
    Morning Glories #1
    Strange Science Fantasy #2

  26. TheGateJester says:

    Birds of Prey #4 (Prob the last issue for me unless something big happens)
    Justice League Generation Lost #7
    Superman #702
    Daytripper #9
    Northlanders #31
    Unwritten #16
    Daredevil #509
    Invincible Iron Man #29 (This is probably the last arc for me unless something happens)
    Locke & Key Keys to the Kingdom #1
    Morning Glories #1
    Chew Vol 1 Omnivore HC

  27. Chris says:

    Just – Locke & Key: Keys to the Kingdom #1

  28. zcorp says:

    DC
    Superman #702
    Birds of Prey #4(like most here this is the last chance for this book for me too)

    Marvel
    Daredevil #509
    Steve Rogers: Super Soldier #2
    Invisible Iron Man #29

  29. Variant Girl says:

    Hey Guys/Gals

    Morning Glories #1
    Shadowlands #1/2
    Hack/Slash #3

    Peace

  30. phil says:

    Hopefully I can have held:

    Superman 702
    Morning Glories 001
    WW 600-601
    and others I missed from previous weeks

  31. tomstewdevine says:

    My internet was down but this week I picked up:
    Unwritten-fucking awesome, I was kind of lost, but not anymore.
    Superman
    Morning Glories- forgettless was great so picked this up, it was a good start.
    buzzard
    bprd

Leave a Reply

