CCW Weekend Open Thread

Posted: September 11, 2010 in CCW Nation, CCW Open Thread

Comments
  1. tomstewdevine says:

    I could take Trinity.

  2. Ahhhhh, shit. Darkplace is back on Adult Swim. Nice.

    J.

  3. megamanx4ever says:

    One of my favorite Japanese songs in any anime. I was fucking pissed that they didnt include this song in the new movies. 😦

  4. megamanx4ever says:

    One of my all time favorite movies.

  5. assfax says:

    Man, I really gotta say I thought that Scarlet comic was a Black Widow limited series. I know, when I say it out loud it seems silly, but when the title was just something on the periphery of my awareness it was just like I wrote it off. It’s called Scarlet so why I thought “Black Widow” I’ll never know. Once the second issue came out I gave it th’ ol’ college try. Cool story bro.

    Two things recently came to my attention that blew my mind. Batman Odyssey, the new Neal Adams Batman book which has 3 issues now. AND, Marvelman Family’s Finest.

    Both those books stink to high heaven. The Adams Batman thing is just like if Neal Adams was one of the Image co-founders and had a Batman facsimile. Marvelman Family is just a scalp-scratcher at it’s sheer existence.
    “Hey, we just got Marvelman, let’s rerelease all the old z-rate silver age shit that nobody wants!”

    The only thing anybody wants out of Marvel owning Marvelman is a nice all-encompassing hardcover with all the GOOD Marvelman shit. Then just leave the goddamn character alone. Maybe a new 4 issue series that can be easily ignored.

    I’d also like to say that The Proposition is a great damn Western. It’s one of those Australian Westerns. So if that term get’s your vibrissae twitchin’, yer in fer a good’un.

    AND how ’bout the last ten minutes on the new Sons of Anarchy? Sheeit. Of course if you haven’t already watched every episode this wasn’t going to hook you completely. If you have been following, this ruled your ass.

    New Batman & Robin was half decent. Nothing worth raving about. It had a Chris Sims approved “Batman kicks a pig-man with a viral narcotic in the face” moment. Not a wash.

    I’m fixing to dip into this final issue of Last Days of American Crime. Thus far I’m not crazy about it.

    Stumptown ended like a week ago. I never really enjoyed it. I love Rucka but this did not hook me. Too short, too intermittent.

    AND I’m probably way behind the curve but Ex Machina ended and I couldn’t’ve given less of a shit. I understood the ending but it was just kind of soggy. I could do some sort of sarcastic thing but I don’t want to spoil it for folks who haven’t read every issue yet. Needless to say, if you are at issue 30, don’t get too excited.

  6. Insideman says:

    “Tell Randy Gonzales…I’m coming!”

    http://wp.me/pZr1Y-1bt

    “Cats and Dogs… Living Together!”

  7. phil says:

    for those that missed it; the pre-game to the event of a lifetime:
    TERROR BENEATH THE TWITTER-DOME: the pre- event
    your hosts; Noah Tahl and Hu Givzah Zhit
    Noah: Well Hu, lets talk to our 1st celeb. who do you havve with you, Hu?
    Hu:: I have the referee of the event, one Mr. Deemar. Now deemar…I know you’re suppose to be impartial, but do you….
    Referee Deemar: Yeah yeah.Impatiality my @$$. Everybody knows e is gonna get creamed….um let it show for the record that my last comment was not sexual in nature!
    Hu: Thank you Deemar? Let’s see who Noah’s rounded up. Noah?
    Noah: I’m over by the consession stand Hu, where I’m with what so many have called the allibaster hued DonKing. I’m here with promoter and pitchman Insideman to get his take on this festive evening. So Insideman, you,re…
    Insideman: Yada yada yada c’mon time is money and I don’t have all day, besides I’ve gotta convince Stamps and Variant Girl to be the round gals. I bought ’em thon….I mean tastefully designed bathing suits for the occassion
    (A face from the crowd…believed to be Ironmuskrat yells out “yeah good luck with that..they’re so gonna kick your ass”)
    Insideman: Anyway, I hope that Nin J can drag this out for the entire 12 rounds, after all the longer the tv sets stay on…more revenue..more revenurevenue MORE REVENUE!
    Noah:: So you believe that Jose will…
    Insideman: No no, it’s anybody’s fight Make sure that gets recorded
    Noah: Well there you have it folks, just what some of the celebs are thinking. When we come back we’ll speak with a non meat eater to get his perspective on things as well as a person of the cloth to see whether his spiritual beliefs will have him protest this fight or somehoe promoteit, but 1st a word from one of our sonsors; the wwe

    • Insideman says:

      Sweet, Phil!

      “revenuerevenue MORE REVENUE!”

      I’m gonna STEAL that and SCREAM it at my new big meeting. Just out of the blue.

      Nah, that’s not true… I’ll give you credit.

    • Deemar says:

      LMAO! Phil, perfecto

      You got me dead to rights and I didn’t know Insideman was Jewish.

      😉

  8. Insideman says:

    Hey! I just FINALLY got around to watching “Let the Right One In” on Blu Ray.

    Want to know which scenes in the original WILL NOT be in the US Remake?

    And this isn’t a “Hey Look at me statement” but the second she touched the OLD GUY’S FACE about (what?) 10 -15 minutes in… I knew EXACTLY what was going to happen for the REST of the movie.

    Supremely irritating that the Blu Ray automatically started on the ENGLISH DUB version. We ARE such cinematic cretins in the US. “Blu Ray NOT in English? Here’s let us FIX that!”

    INT:

    Fred and Martha’s HOUSE. Iowa.

    FRED: Martha, that boy’s lips are movin’ funny! Why is that?

    MARTHA: Now Fred, you know I don’t know nothin’ about no DVDs. Hell, last week I used your “Bridge Over the River Kwai” as a coaster. Remember?

    FRED: Dammit! I was wonderin’ where that went to!

    MARTHA: [Spit-take] Holee Shit! Did that little 12 year old girl just take off all her clothes AND her panties and get into bed with that little boy?! Call the PO-lice, Fred!

  9. TheRichestManinTown says:

    Joseph Michael Straczynski is an over rated hack. His new Wonder Woman stories are irredeemably boring and unimaginative. I never read the character’s books before but I sure as shit am not going to touch that trite now. His work on Brave and the Bold was more or less the same, awesome premises that turn out lame as hell. He even got the origin of Brother Power wrong. I know it’s super late to mention this but I dropped his Thor series after issue three, it was off to such an amazing start then he just shit all over it on that third issue.
    JMS is bullshit and he needs to get the fuck off of Superman and Wonder Woman that way something interesting can happen. Where is my Grant Morrison Wonder Woman anyhow?

    • cballsack says:

      Seriously. The only thing of his I liked was Rising Stars and that’s it.

    • Deemar says:

      I approve this message.

      OMIT: THOR that was Awesome!

    • prying eyes says:

      i agree. i dropped this thor also. it only came out one issue every 2-3 months and was not worth the wait. i find is wonderwomen boring, sadly. his superman is taxing to read. hey lets have superman walk and fix peopls cars!
      i liked the dial h for hero issue of Brave and the bold. i just wish he would get one book and really focus on it. not 3 that seem to be lacking. hell 4, whatever happened to the twelve?

      guys like this write big comics. i wish mike allred would go back to dc and write/draw a comic. he could make a great doom patrol, deadman, swampthing.

      • Last I heard the reason why The Twelve never finished was because Chris Weston took a Hollywood gig (did storyboards for a movie) and never got back to the comics. This was late last year. Why it’s still not finished I have no idea. I did like that book quite a bit and wish they would just finish the thing already.

        J.

    • Insideman says:

      With all due respect, I am hearing the same criticisms about his new stuff. I am sure I will agree as I thought his Spider-man stuff could be very overwrought as well.

      However, I would turn to anyone I know– even people who don’t normally like JMS’ work– and tell them to read Midnight Nation.

      THAT is a FANTASTIC PIECE of comic book work… And rarely mentioned.

    • I heard that artists like Djurdevic find it hard to work with JMS as he tends to make last-minutes changes, resulting in the artist having to make new art, completetly ignoring the work the artist had already done.

    • Heck says:

      Yeah, why isn’t Grant Morrison on Wonder Woman? That would freakinn’ rock out loud.

      I liked JMS’s THOR quite a bit. His Wonder Woman is just boring and my gods, his SUPERMAN is one of the worst shit I’ve read in a while. Soooo terrible.

  10. phil says:

    And we join our show already in progress; The Pre-game to Terror Beneath the TwitterDome

    Hu: Well look who we have here, it’s CBallsack…and how are you faring this evening Mr. Sack?
    cballsack: Any time I can get to see two living meat by products pummel one another, it’s a good day in my book.
    Hu: Well who do you think will …
    Cballsack Win? Was that what you were gonna ask me? I don’t care here to root anyone on. I came here to make sure that neither of the participants were wearing leather Ms. Hu
    Hu: That’s Ms GivzaZhit!
    Cballsack: Whatever. Ms.Hu did you know that wearing leather as a part of this thing we call vanity is destroying needlessly over
    Hu: Look at that, we’re out of time, gotta send it back to Noah. — Noah who do you have with you and should I be jealous?
    Noah: Yes you should Hu. Yes you should. With me right now are the femme-tastic force of the CCW nation. VariantGirl & Stamps. So ladies your significant others let the two of you out of the house to attend this event, huh?
    VariantGirl: So like a man to think that we would have to be “allowed” to do anything. Listen, cro-magnon. Nobody dictates to us where we go, who we see, or how we govern ourselves.
    Noah: I just meant
    Stamps: Oh no you didn’t just cut her off mid-sentence. Maybe we should make you squeal like a pig. Did you see Deerhunter?
    Noah: I think you mean Deliverance.
    Stamps: Let’s see, you cut VG off, you’re back talking me. Lemme see what I got in my purse. Here it is
    Noah: CUT TO COMMERCIAL, for the love of all that’s holy, CUT TO COMMERCIAL

    This Commercial Brought to you by Hallmark
    An ode to Noah

    If you’ve never seen this, you gotta stay to the end

    • fuck that shit indeed mspot and fuck quesada

    • Venom829 says:

      It’s shit on Quesad day, YABA DABA DOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 😛

    • Ya, that was a load of horse shit.

      J.

      • Which one? The article or the issue?

        And I would think ASM #641 would be right up your guys alley. Aside from the whole “I love you but I’m not strong enough for you” bull crap from Mary Jane, and the “I feel free and this feels like a Brand New Day(TM)” baloney from Peter, we have an issue that’s pretty much nothing but characters talking, debating, and being angst-ridden ad nauseam for pages on end that moves at the pace of a three-toed sloth, and yet ANOTHER instance of “wiki-padding” in the middle of the story–from another issue One More Day of all things–only with Quesada altering the dialogue in awkward ways. I mean, what’s not to love here? (sarcasm)

    • Deemar says:

      Well his dad did die of lung cancer.

      Devil’s Advocate

      • megamanx4ever says:

        yeah I know but he costently says in interviews that he doesent allow smoking because it will be a bad influence for kids and thats all fine and good… But this is the same person who lets people get ripped in half by a whiny pissy Superman knockoff (The Sentry), lets Peter Parker have sex with like 10 different girls, and allows the Red Skull throw a BABY out a window and have his henchmen gangrape the Red Wasp. So smoking is inappropriate, but I guess all the things I mentioned above are okay for kids to read.

    • OMIT has to be the most insulting piece of crap comic I’ve ever read. Ultimatum was insulting to me, but OMIT just takes it to another level of insulting. Joe Quesada seriously must have a vendetta against Spider-Man. There is no way he can be a fan of Spidey and let all this garbage slide. Well, mission accomplished fucker Joe Quesada, you’ve taken a dump on my love for Spider-Man (he’s my favorite comic book superhero, btw). True fans of Spider-Man SHOULD NOT continue to let Quesada anal rape them anymore. I’m fed up with this crap.

      I feel so sorry for Dan Slott. He has a lot of crap to clean up.

      And people wonder why I’m buying more independant comics now…

      • megamanx4ever says:

        I know how you feel Joe Quesada and Marvel pissed me off so much that I am down to buyng 3 Marvel books instead of like 10. Also you actually read OMIT? You have my sympathies Im glad I didnt, I just read the Wiki article on OMIT because if I paid 16 dollars for that I would be fucking pissed and I would mail those issues to Joe Quesada himself and I will write FUCK YOU! on each issue of OMIT with a sharpie. Also my hatred of Marvel started when Marvel did that promo where if you rip off 50 Blackest comics and get a shitty Deadpool siege variant. One more thing FUCK Joe Quesada, and Tom Breevort nd thier Anti-Boner for DC.

        • No I just read Part 1 of OMIT. I have been reading summaries of the past 3 issues of ASM. My dislike of Marvel started with that BN promo as well. I love Marvel. I grew up with just Marvel. To see them today breaks my heart.

          I am a die-hard, bleed red and blue fan of Spider-Man. Looking back on what Spidey has been through the past 4-5 years is unbelieveable. I have a hard time believing Quesada and Stephen Wacker love the character like most of the fans do. If they don’t love Spidey or don’t have any respect for him then they should GTFO.

  11. Venom829 says:

    Because I had to do, or someone else would:

  12. megamanx4ever says:

    I dont know aboout you guys but Im definitely looking forward to this in November.

  13. my only problems is why would flash wear armor it’d only slow him down and i prefere john stewart as green lantern and where’s martian manhunter?

  14. phil says:

    Once again we join our show; Terror Beneath the TwitterDome already in progress

    Amanda: Welcome back everyone. I’m Amnanda Huugankiss and I’ll be filling in for the recently ailing NoahTahl who’s in the hospital suspended precariously 4 to 5 feet above above a hospital bed in what one could only describe as a Superman pose, although there was nothing “super” about how this “man” ended up in this state The only thing an onlooker was heard to say was Noah kept shouting WHAT ARE U PLANNING ON DOING WITH THAT FROZEN LOG OF SALAMI? Then silence, anyway back to the event. Hu who do you have with u at this time

    Hu: Well Amanda, we actually have royalty in our midst. So what brings u to this event Little King Ryan?
    LKR: I simply wished 2 see what the common folk found as entertainment and then I bore witness 2 the fact that two of my former subjects were going 2 verbally abuse each other I thought 2 myself, self how can I pass this upwith your inane questions and your oddly phallyc sound device that u’re thrusting into my face
    Hu: Back 2 u Amanda
    Amanda: Thank u Hu. Hmmm suddenly I want a chocalatty drink, but anyway as an added hi-light we have taped interviews with the two combatants and their corner men about what they exspect 2 happen from their epic encounter……………..let’s roll the clip

    Amanda: So u’re the cut man for Elliot….do u think that you have your work cut out 4 u?
    Ed2962: Not really, E’s a clotter Whenever he bleeds he practically seals himself up automatically I’m more concerned with his endurance He can out muscle Jose, but how long can he keep it up?
    Amanda: So what u’re sayin is if he can make it the distans that he might have a cha
    Ed2962: Nononononono…we all know that E is gonna get verbally murdered, our concern is 2 make sure (hope) he survives.

    meanwhile…in the other training room

    Hu: How do u beleve your guy will fare in this contest of wills, good sir
    IronMuskrat: By all rights this match is already won b4 either opponent enters the ring, but we have 2 keep Jose away from that kinda talk.
    Hu: Ah u don’t want him 2 b overconfident, right?
    IM: Incorrect. We don’t want him 2 b overly overconfident. Being over confident is just in his D.N.A. He can’t help it Look Hu, U, myself, everybody in this arena and E himself knows by all rights that E doesn’t stand a chance, but it’s my job 2 keep Jose motivated ’cause even a blind squirrel can find a nut if he’s hungry enough. Just gotta keep my guy’s eyes on the prize

    Hu: Thank u Mr. IronMuskrat and now
    IM: Hold on a minute Dahlin”. Just so we’re clear..when I said Jose’s my guy, I don’t want u gettin’ any funny ideas about editing that soundbite 2 make me come across as anything other than hetero. U got that? I’ve killed ppl 4 less. U take care now, Ms. GivzaZhit.
    Hu: um th th thanx….well b4 his predicament, Noah was able 2 procure interviews from the two combatants. Let’s roll the footage

    At stately Serrano manor

    Noah: Thank u 4 allowing us 2 film here in your abode, Mr. Serrano
    E: No problemo Noah. Pardon me while I take a slurp from my 711 big gulp cu
    Noah: So Elliot any wors for your opponent?
    E: Only that I have the utmost respect 4 Jose, and that I think we’ll both enter in2 this as gentlemen and will exit the same way
    Noah: Hahahahahahaha…………oh u were serious. My apologies. What do u think of your chances?
    E; well I outweigh by a few pounds
    Noah (surpressing laughter)
    E: And some tai chi techniques that I picked up from whatever city/state/country I’ve been in should prove 2 be beneficial. I just my pull it out. ….The victory that is. It’ll shock the world!! You’ll see, you’ll all see!!!

    Jose’s lair

    Noah: Thank u 4…
    Jose: Can we just get on with the questions. My God…I work with Elliot, I don’t need 2 hear useless hyperbole from someone else!!!!
    Noah: I’m sorry, Jose. I didn’t mean…
    Jose: No Noah, I’m sorry………I’m sorry that I granted u this sorry @$$ interview. Now that’s about 8 more minutes of my life I won’t get back. GOD, why me?
    GOD; Well my son:
    Jose: It was a rhetorical question.
    Noah: Anyway, Elliot says that he has a tremendous amount iof respect 4 u. Would u care 2 reciprocate?
    Jose: As for him having a tremendous amount of respect 4 me, well…as he should. As 4 reciprocating….Look I’ve been doing the heavy lifting since day 1…..all I’m gonna say is…I’m gonna savor every moment of torture that I’m gonna put him thru. If this goes past two rounds, it will be because I’m having so much fun decimating him Now if you’ll excuse me I’ve gotta catch up with my buds, J. Beam and J.W. Red…………..later
    Noah: And there u have it…2 ppl, contrasting personalities, contras..
    Jose: HEYYY!!! GET THE F**K OUTTA MY HOUSE, or no more Mr. NiceGuy

    And that concludes the pre-game festivities The only question that remains is who will emerge the victor and who will be…well let this final commercial say it, who will be…

  15. Stamps says:

    In honor of the new NFL season. 🙂 Any NFL fans in the CCW nation? If so who’s your favorite team?

  16. Gooey says:

    my first post hurray for me

  17. kurumais says:

    i read scalped high lonesome the other day damn i was not ready for that
    i think the people at fx must have seen that and collapsed in organismic throes of ecstasy. the first couple of pages i was like ho hum but starting from like page 3 or 4 i was hooked and had to read the whole trade threw jason arran keeps you moving switching characters and perspectives through the whole thing which is why im guessing this reads much better in trades not that it would be bad monthly, just better in big chunks. my only complaint is the art and or the coloring it can get very murky and its hard to tell the native americans from the african americans which is odd because i never have trouble with that in real life. and im not the only one i asked a few folks i knew that have read it and they agreed with me. but from now on scalped is on my trades to get list. if you liked tv shows such as the sheild, the wire and sons of anarchy i think scalped will be up your alley.

  18. Mr.Wrestling says:

    So Jose,I remember a little while ago you said you finally got around to picking up Wilson. I wonder what did you think of it?

    • A bit of a mixed bag for me. I loved the art. I loved the way Clowes used a few different art styles on every page. Didn’t care for the story being broken up into one page strips. I just had very mixed feelings about it. I would not say that it was bad but at the same time I don’t know if I would recommend it to anyone.

      It’s funny. I had a woman come into the shop today who bought Scott Pilgrim Vol 6. She asked for recommendations for what she should buy next. I listed a couple of things and then brought up Ghost World. I told her that I had just finished reading Wilson but that I couldn’t really recommend it and explained to her why. I told her that she should just stick to buying Ghost World and then maybe pick up Caricature or David Boring.

      Don’t get me wrong, I loved the art on Wilson but the overall story telling technique just didn’t do it for me.

      J.

      • Insideman says:

        Me loved Wilson. But I like comic strips. So to see a LATER artist adapt the format for a book was fun.

        Wilson was funny. What a clueless SOB.

  19. Deemar says:

    Jose

    Elliot wants a second Bout of the CCW Tweeter BATTLE ROYALE!

    He’s on now and yes he talking shit.

    🙂

  20. megamanx4ever says:

    *SPOILER WARNING DO NOT WATCH THIS VIDEO UNLESS YOU WANT TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENS IN EVANGELION!*

    Now that I got the disclaimer out of the way this is one of my all time faveorite Animes along with Gundam 08th MS Team, Zeta Gundam, Gundam 0080, and Code Geass.

  21. TheMSpot says:

    I know Millar is saying that Superior is his way of paying homage to Superman, but why when I hear the premise I think Shazam?

  22. TheMSpot says:

    Pride of Baghdad or Y: The Last Man.

  23. megamanx4ever says:

    Deemar I was just wondering if the Transformers drawing of me is finished? If its not finished I can understand because youre probably really busy, so please respond if you got time, thanks.

  24. TheMSpot says:

    Watching Bebop, Spike quoting Bruce Lee. Be water my friend.

  25. prying eyes says:

    anyone ever realize how much firefly is like outlaw star. both space outlaws, federation against rebels. space pirates flying around. girl with mysterious past both cryofrozen and main plot centers around them?
    captain and crew taking any job they can, bounty hunters, stealing stuff, smuggling weapons?

    just weird. i still love both of them.

    • SmokeyClocks says:

      yeah i noticed that as well. I thoroughly enjoy both series and the space western genre in general but the similarities are very apparent. Maybe joss was a fan

  26. cballsack says:

    This was rather sweet.

  27. Edward2962 says:

    Taking a page from M Spot, here’s shameless shameless self promotion #1

    and M, tell me if I got Lamont’s history wrong!

    • TheMSpot says:

      For the most part, but at first Lamont was a separate person that The Shadow would impersonate. In print The Shadow’s alter ego was ace fighter pilot Kent Allard but to keep in line with the radio and film serial versions and more streamline they dropped that in favor of the Lamont character.

      The power to cloud men’s minds or the power of invisibly was the only way back then to explain to a listening audience stealthiness. No ninjas back in the 30’s and that’s I how I viewed The Shadow a 1930’s ninja.

      Actually, Bill Finger’s first Batman story was taken from a old Shadow story.

      • TheMSpot says:

        No ninjas in 1930’s American pop culture just to be clear.

      • Edward2962 says:

        Ha! I didn’t think of this until just now, but that actually reminds me of 80’s Moon Knight! His real identity is a soldier, and he has alias of a millionaire and another as a blue collar worker (MK had Jake the cab driver and Shadow had Fritz the janitor,right?) Most people think of MK as marvel’s Batman, he really marvel’s SHADOW! Or he was in the 80’s, what do you think?

    • TheMSpot says:

      little known fact, Orson Welles was the voice of Unicron in The Transformers: The Movie (1986).

  28. Edward2962 says:

    An shameless self promotion #2
    http://edward2962-welluh.blogspot.com/
    I live in the midwest, bring on the fatty foods and the high gravity lager!

  29. Mr.Wrestling says:

    Getting ready to top off a surprisingly good weekend by finally watching The losers and The Girl with The Dragon Tattoo.

  30. Heck says:

    Bout to digg into some Mad Men. Just watched Beautiful Girls again, that flick never gets oldd.

  31. Heck says:

    Is it lame that I digg this song so much? They were sooo hot.

  32. Insideman says:

    My Pull List is up at the Swear All You Like Blog:

    http://wp.me/pZr1Y-1cs

    Plus a lot of COOL CONTENT found by a Mr. Jose Melendez!

  33. kurumais says:

    started watching dexter season 1 on netflix oh man is this show disturbing i even cringe during the opening credits not sure im going to make it that far

  34. Mike F says:

    http://robot6.comicbookresources.com/2010/09/daredevil-to-become-black-panther-the-man-without-fear/

    Doesn’t seem too bad, seeing that DOOMWAR ended, MAYBE this will work. IDK, I don’t know what to think anything I guess…

Leave a Reply

