New Trailers from Tokyo Game Show 2010 Part 1

Posted: September 17, 2010 in Coming Soon, Geek Culture, Trailer, Video Games
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

The 2010 Tokyo Game Show has been up and running for a few days now. It is much like the annual E3 convention held in California every year with the exception that TGS tends to focus more on Japan based video game developers. Because of that fact, the news and trailers to come out of the Tokyo Game Show have always interested me far more as a gamer.

I am sure none of you will be surprised to hear that prefer games made in the East far more than I do the ones created in the West. The creativity, content and sensibilities of Japanese video games are just more to my liking. That’s not to say ALL games in these TGS posts will be solely Japanese. Devil May Cry 5, while being published by Capcom, is in fact developed by an English game company, Ninja Theory. But my thoughts and opinions on why I tend to love Japanese created games as opposed to American ones could fill in entire post, but that’s not what THIS post about.

THIS post is about highlighting the games being shown off at this year’s TGS. Games that I can not wait to get a hold of and play. Games that show that the Japanese game industry is NOT in fact one that is dying but one where creativity and fun still thrive. So, without further ado, on to the games.

Yakuza: To the End (aka Yakuza 5): To be released exclusively on the PS3

The Last Guardian: To be released exclusively on the PS3

Vanquish: To be released on PS3 and Xbox 360

Devil May Cry 5 (Tentative Title): To be released on PS3 and Xbox 360

TGS 2010 pic found on Tokyo Game Show 2010
Devil May Cry 5 pic found on Kotaku

Comments
  1. IronMuskrat says:

    Once again Jose taunts me with his PS3 awesomeness =)

    IM

  2. PILKK90 says:

    the new DMC looks like it has a lot of potential, even if there changing the charector alot. I think it will be fine in ninja theorys hands after all heavenly sword was pretty damn good.

  3. kurumais says:

    i saw that pic for the last guardian and said to myself “I’m Getting a PS3!”
    then i watched the trailer and im getting a ps3

  4. Deemar says:

    The Last Guardian looks amazing. Reminds me of Ico or Shadow of the Colossus

  5. Deemar says:

    Ok that DMC looked pretty damn badass, why am I not a gamer?

    Oh yeah time

  6. Deemar says:

    Twitter Notice:

    I think Elliot is about to start some shit with John “WORDBALLOON” Suintres on twitter!

    Please…JEEBUS! BATTLE ROYALE

    πŸ™‚

  7. Insideman says:

    WOW! (Serious) Great article.

    (NOT serious) I didn’t know you write, Jose!

    (Again NOT serious) Are we EVER gonna talk about comics again?

  8. megamanx4ever says:

    Holy crap Yakusa 5 looks awesome!

  9. Mike F says:

    YAKUZA 5???????????????????????????????????????

    WE STILL HAVEN’T GOTTEN 4!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    JESUS, SEGA US SUCKS!

  10. Mike F says:

    Altho I should add that YAKUZA 5 looks horribly awful. 4 Seems way better than that crap, but STILL!!!!!!!!!!!

  11. Urban Commando (Mac) says:

    I Love the Yakuza series! I have every game so far. 4 will still have some cuts though unfortunately: http://forums.highdefdigest.com/game-room/105309-yakuza-4-cut-well.html

  12. Urban Commando (Mac) says:

    You have to be F’ing kidding me! I just saw the trailer to Yakuza 5. I can’t wait to play 4 in March, but after that I’m done. Zombies? Guns? Whatever that mess is- it’s not a Yakuza game.

    • I still have a feeling that this game will not be Yakuza canon.

      J.

    • Mike F says:

      I use to think only Americans can take a great franchise (movies, games, comics) and totally fuck them up. Maybe, just maybe, Japan might have made the mistake as well…?

      At least its rare for Japanese games to fuck up but with the New Silent Hill changing and now this? Man… Still, Its Kazuma. He’s probably the last badass of this generation πŸ™‚

  13. Urban Commando (Mac) says:

    I haven’t seen a awful attempt at genre-crossing THIS bad since they took James Bond into outer-space in Moonraker! Roger Moore shooting a laser gun is enough to make me puke.

  14. kurumais says:

    god of war 4? still i like the look of it

    • Deemar says:

      Yeah I’d like too see a GoW with something other than Greek/Roman Gods, getting kinda tired of fantasy based on Greece and Euro/Tolkien.

      Other cultures have mythologies too.

  15. Brett says:

    Vanquish looks crazy! Gonna have to check that out.

Leave a Reply

