Who’s Getting What This Week?

Posted: September 27, 2010 in DC Comics, Image, Marvel

I was always under the impression that the last week of the month was usually the biggest shipping wise. Doesn’t seem to be the case in September. What a pitiful new comic day. No wonder August industry sales numbers were so abysmal. If the companies don’t print and ship decent comics how are we supposed to buy them?

Before I go any further I would like a short moment of silence for what will probably be the last issue of Agents of Atlas ever.

Fuck you Marvel.

So, here’s what I will be buying this week:

Atlas #5 (Jeff Parker, Last Issue)
Chew #14
Secret Warriors #20 (Jonathan Hickman)
Wonder Woman #603

Maybe I’ll pick up a trade or two to make up for the not buying of too many monthly comics on Wednesday.

What are you getting this week?

J.

Comments
  1. megamanx4ever says:

    Action Comics #893 ( Sad to see your dropping this Jose. 😦 )
    Amazing Spider-Man #644
    Savage Dragon #164

    • To be honest I bought the last two issues and haven’t even read them yet. Whenever I have titles that are still in my “to read” stack that are a few months old it shows to me that I do not really care too much for them. I’ll probably still read it at the store if I have time. I am interested to see how Death will be used to.

      J.

      • megamanx4ever says:

        Okay, well definitley read it when you get the chance. 🙂

        Also is Sandman a pretty good comic?

        • Most people will say that it is but I just found it completely boring. I’m not a big Neil Gaiman fan.

          J.

        • Insideman says:

          Mega– Like Jose said, Sandman has its moments but overall it is entirely BLOWN OUT of proportion and does NOT even come close to living up to the hype

          • Deemar says:

            Yeeeaah…I’m gonna go ahead and dissagree with both you and Jose on this one.

            I’m judging Sandman by “replay” value and guess what it one of a few of my collected trades I re-reading over and over and over again.

            It’s to the point were I see it less as a comic and somethin akin to literature.

  2. Insideman says:

    American Vampire Vol 1 HC
    Archie Marries 70 Years in the Making HC
    Army of Two Vol 1
    Barney Google HC
    Carmine Infantino Penciler Provocateur
    Doctor Solar Man Of The Atom Vol 1
    Eerie Archives Vol 4 HC
    Farscape Scorpius
    Flash Chronicles Vol 2
    Franklin Richards Son of Genius Ultimate Collection
    Heralds HC
    Iron Man 2 Public Identity
    Lobo Highway To Hell
    Queen Sonja Vol 1
    Resurrection Vol 2
    Tomb of Dracula Vol 2
    X-Men Second Coming HC
    Yours Truly Jack The Ripper

    MANGA
    Black Gate Vol 1
    Dance in the Vampire Bund Vol 8
    Deadman Wonderland Vol 3
    Fairy Tail Vol 12
    Fate Stay Night Vol 9
    Hetalia Axis Powers Vol 1
    Neko Ramen Vol 2
    Oh My Goddess RTL Vol 36

    I go into depth on why what and where here: http://wp.me/pZr1Y-1jP

    • kurumais says:

      lol whenever this thread is up and i scroll down fast past your post im like WTF??? then it hits me oh thats got to be inside’s post with that long list of trades

    • Mike F says:

      I want that FLASH chronicles 2 really bad. I need a break from this FUCKING SHIT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Geoff Johns has been writing with the Flash.

      (altho in fairness, the previous issue wasn’t the worst)

    • iqy92 says:

      Are you a secret millionaire?

  3. TheMSpot says:

    Agents of Atlas #5

    Chew #14 (since I couldn’t find all of the first 10 issues, I got the hardcover, and issues 11-13. I can easily say one of the best comic book series out there)

  4. generaldark says:

    hey guys, i posted a new story on my blog, i no its been forever.

    atlas
    wonder woman
    spiderman 644 (love this arc)
    do androids dream of electric sheep dust to dust

  5. Matthew Guy (mguy1977) says:

    ACTION COMICS #893
    WONDER WOMAN #603
    AMAZING SPIDER-MAN #644
    X-MEN FOREVER 2 #8
    POWERS #6 (last issue for me as this is mega late back in June was issue 5 aka 3 months ago)

    Matthew

  6. Mike F says:

    IDK what I’m buying. I haven’t sleep in a long time. Been so crazy, studying, trying to compose, always busy…

    Action Comics will be good I bet tho, No doubt, its this years Detective comics with Paul taking the role of Rucka place.

    WW is at my JESUS level. JMS has done nothing good with the title so far for me. Its been nothing but the same old story, and he SAID he was gonna change things up… I don’t wanna drop it at all, but I’d like something different.

    • Pobra says:

      yeah, it sucks because i would like to support the character, but there hasn’t been a really solid run on WW for a while to hold my attention. So far, other than Brave and the Bold, JMS has been a big flop over at DC.

  7. Heck says:

    Ya’ll will have to fill me in on how Wonder Woman is doing at the mercy of JMS.

    • It’s pretty fucking boring so far. Nothing new. It’s not nearly as bad as his Superman though. His Supes is just terrible. I may be a bit biased. I would rather read a bad Wonder Woman story over a bad Superman story any day.

      J.

      • Bello says:

        Yeah i read the first issue of his arc on Superman and it was fucking boring as hell what a waste of time he’s putting into that book.

      • Heck says:

        I read the first issue of his Superman run, I have to say it was one of the biggest pieces of shit I’ve read in awhile. Superman didn’t sound anything like Superman, and following all the destruction of WoNK you would think that the big guy would have something better to do than just take a cross-country hike.

      • Stamps says:

        He needs to go back and make more babylon 5 is what he needs to do

        • generaldark says:

          wow im ithe minority here. i for one LOVE the superman issues right now. i like the idea of a mighty “god” figure interacting with mortals and it feels like its exploring his charecter more.

          • Heck says:

            That’s just it though. I don’t like Superman as a mighty god. One of Clark’s greatest assests is that he’s a god that thinks of himself as an average joe.

            I think there’s greater Crisises for the Man of Steel than a broken car alarm. I’m not against a story like this, I just don’t want it being the ONLY Superman book on the stands. That’s ridiculous.

  8. MicahSkin says:

    Hey! X-Men Second Coming HC is out! I’m totally picking that up!

    DID IT! I bet my friend I could type that without flinging myself out onto the the street for the sweet merciful release of death! Ho TOTALLY owes me 5 bucks!

    Might pick up Son of a Genius… I miss Calvin and Hobbes…

  9. Mike F says:

    I wish GANTZ wasn’t so dated. Vol 11 and 12 are so good and yet I think that they came out in 2004/2005 in Japan? Damn man, if only we could be up to date with Oku’s masterwork…

  10. Bboyce109 says:

    DC
    Detective Comics #869
    Green Arrow #4
    Justice Society of America #43
    Time Masters Vanishing Point #3
    Wonder Woman #603

    MARVEL
    Amazing Spider-Man #644
    Avengers Prime #3
    Captain America #610
    Secret Warriors #20

    So i got a question how many times has Agents of Atlas has been canceled. I know of Two, first from Dark Reign now this one.

    • It’s only really been canceled twice.

      There was the initial 6 issue mini, than a monthly that ran for like 12 issues, then a 2 issue X-Men vs Atlas mini, then a 4 issue Avengers vs Atlas mini and finally the newest monthly that only lasted 5 issues.

      J.

  11. kurumais says:

    Captain America 610
    Captain America the patriot loved the first issue cannot wait for this one
    Wonderwoman 603
    Action 893
    Avengers prime 3
    Powers 6
    And last and most definitely now leats ATLAS 5 the end of greatness

  12. Bello says:

    Hey what’s up guys?
    This week I’ll be getting:
    Action Comics 893
    Atas 5
    Chew 14
    Secret Avengers 5

    Solid week of comics. Atlas concludes this week unfortunately seriously gotta agree with JOSE FUCK YOU MARVEL…go make Bendis write another avengers book and keep filling us with shit.

  13. hackslash2020 says:

    Atlas #5
    Amazing Spider-Man #644 (terrible)
    Avengers Prime #3
    Franken-castle #21 (frankenstein story ends here)
    Secret Warriors #20
    Powers #6 (Deena Pilgrim is back!)
    X-Men Second Coming HC (I hope it doesnt suck)

  14. Here is what I shall be buying this Wednesday:

    – Atlas#5 (Don’t you just love how Marvel rubs it in your face that this is the last issue of Atlas with that ‘IT ENDS HERE’ crap).

    – Chew#14 (YAY! My hunger for a new issue of Chew is over! YAAAAY!!!)

    I might get the new Previews if that’s coming out.

  15. Stamps says:

    Light week for me as well:

    Detective Comics #869 (maybe)
    Gotham City Sirens #16
    Casanova #3
    Chew #14

    I second CBD, It’s good to have you back Jose!

  16. IronMuskrat says:

    Here are the comics I would be buying if I were back home, getting down to the last few days of school here, non-stop bug hunting and testing. I just don’t have the time to get out there and hunt books down and I wouldn’t have the time to really enjoy them anyway.

    Chew #14- Showdown with Savoy, I guess Tony didn’t take the threats he made again him seriously, this could end badly for Tony.

    Atlas #5= Hate to see the series go, the last issue seem a little sloppy with Marvel putting two or three artist on the book, to get things rapped up before issue #5. I just hope the artwork in the last issue isn’t as jarring and the last one.

    Wonder Woman #603- Not sure were JMS is going on this one, but I will give him a few more issues.

    I hope these books will still be on the shelf when I get back.

    IM

    • Stamps says:

      you bug hunt too? My bug hunting just ended for the season. Thank you weather under 52 degrees.

      • IronMuskrat says:

        Well, these bugs are electrical in nature =) When I say bug hunt its means my instructors screw up my machine(put a bug in it) and I have to find out exactly what the ‘Bug’ is. Usually they break a relay, interlock or some other electrical component of the machine. If they are really feeling nasty, they will cut a wire and watch the smoke come out of my ears. =)

        but they do have a lot of crickets here in Oklahoma, swarms of them, but I lucked out and got a room on the fifth floor, feel sorry for those suckers trying to sleep closer to ground level.

        IM

  17. tomstewdevine says:

    WEAK WEEK!

    Action 893
    W.W. 603
    Atlas 5
    Captain America
    Crossed Family Value’s

    AAANNNNDDD Fables from last week, because my store ran out.

    • Zorba_of_the_Morningstar says:

      You ARE getting Crossed FV’s,sSo it isn’t THAT weak of a week. That is one comic unlike anything else you can get on Any week.

      for me , also,
      Cap
      Atlas
      Amazing (at least Azteca draws Spidey like jumped off of the EC show and into action)
      and Namor

      • tomstewdevine says:

        It’s got to be more than one over-the-top book to make it a good week, but ya crossed is just crazy. But Cap and WW are real close to the chopping block, the only reason I am picking both up is because it’s a slow week.

        • Zorba_of_the_Morningstar says:

          Cap is VERY close to being dropped for me too! I skipped the 2 Americas arc and was content with not buying the book. Then Butch Guice comes on, does a fantastic first issue and I was interested in the book. For some reason, the art turned to shit and I find myself not carring about the book. I’ll see how this next issue ends to see if I’m staying with it.

    • Stamps says:

      I go trade with fables

  18. Pobra says:

    Amazing Spider-Man #644
    Chew #14
    Secret Warriors #20

    I might pick up the American Vampire HC, being that it’s a slow week. Although $25 is pretty expensive, holding out for the paperback might be the better option.

  19. SmokeyClocks says:

    light week all i got is

    ASM 644
    Green Arrow 4
    Chew 14

  20. Deemar says:

    Not a bad week for me.

    G.I. Joe Cobra is suprisingly good!

    Detective Comics #869
    Amazing Spider-Man #644
    Atlas #5
    Captain America #610
    Chew #14
    GI Joe Cobra Special #2
    Absolute Promethea Vol 2 HC

    • tomstewdevine says:

      I have never read any G.I. Joe books, but my friend told me that the Cobra mini by Costa is the best G.I. Joe comic EVER. So I’m thinking about checking it out.

  21. sai011 says:

    Probally nothing this week. Good thing I stop buying marvel comics a couple of years ago.

  22. Insideman says:

    I would like someone to put up this POLL up for me please. I’m sure other members of the CCW Nation would like to participate!

    In the CCW*TV Blog Logo do you think Jose is:

    A) Waving at you

    B) About to give the bent over Elliott a little slap & tickle before riding him like a stallion

    C) All of the above

  23. Johnny Cockburn says:

    NNNNNNNNNNOoooooooooooooooooOOOoooooooooooooooooOOOOoooooooooooOOO1111

  24. Insideman says:

    11 NEW Hardcover and Graphic Novels ADDED to this week’s release list: http://wp.me/pZr1Y-1jP

    Check ’em out if you get a chance! There’s some more good stuff coming out! (Additions at the BOTTOM of the list!)

  25. Constantanius says:

    Wow this has got to be the slowest week for me in a very long time.

    Action #893
    Green Arrow #4
    Wonder Woman #603
    Justice Society of America #43
    Time Masters Vanishing Point #3
    Atlas #5
    Chew #14

Leave a Reply

