CCW Question of the Week

Posted: October 7, 2010 in DC Comics, Press Release, Question of the Week
Tags:

This week’s question:

“How does the following press release from DC Comics make you feel?”

Beginning January 2011, DC Comics will implement a line-wide pricing adjustment, lowering the prices of all standard length 32-page ongoing comic book titles currently priced at $3.99 to $2.99, it was announced today by DC Comics Co-Publishers Jim Lee and Dan DiDio.

“Today’s announcement re-affirms DC Comics’ commitment to both our core fans and to comic book store retailers,” said Jim Lee, DC Comics Co-Publisher. “For the long term health of the industry, we are willing to take a financial risk so that readers who love our medium do not abandon the art form.”

“As Co-Publishers, we listened to our fans and to our partners in the retail community who told us that a $3.99 price point for 32 pages was too expensive. Fans were becoming increasingly reluctant to sample new titles and long term fans were beginning to abandon titles and characters that they’d collected for years.” said Dan DiDio, DC Comics Co-Publisher. “We needed a progressive pricing strategy that supports our existing business model and, more importantly, allows this creative industry to thrive for years to come. With the exceptions of oversized comic books, like annuals and specials, we are committed to a $2.99 price point.”

When taking into account mini-series, annuals and specials, more than 80% of DC’s comic books will be priced at $2.99.

As of January, the following titles standard length ongoing titles, previously priced at $3.99 for 32 pages/22 story pages, will be priced at $2.99 with 32 pages/20 story pages:

American Vampire
Batman: The Dark Knight
Batman Incorporated
Green Lantern: Emerald Warriors
JSA All-Stars

As of January, the following licensed titles, previously priced at $3.99, will be priced at $2.99:

Gears of War
God of War
Kane & Lynch
Ratchet & Clank

As of January, the following ongoing titles previously priced at $3.99 for 40 pages/30 story pages including co-features, will no longer include co-features and will be priced at $2.99 for 32 pages/ 20 story pages:

Action Comics
Adventure Comics
Batman: Streets of Gotham
Detective Comics
Doc Savage
Justice League of America
Legion of Super-Heroes
The Spirit

In January, five books are $3.99 for 40 pages/30 story pages:

Batman: Europa # 1
First Wave # 6
DCU: Legacies # 9
Weird Worlds # 1
World of Warcraft: Curse of the Worgen

The following oversized anniversary issue will be $4.99 for 48 pages/38 story pages:

Hellblazer # 275

“Fans of our co-features should stay tuned. Some of these characters will find a new platform,” said Dan DiDio. “Going forward, mini-series and special events may feature a different price point and page count to best allow writers and artists the flexibility of format and story pages they need to tell their stories best.”

As for my answer to the question… you will just have to wait a little longer.

This literally hit the internet as I was on my way out for the evening but I wanted to make a post before I left so all of you could discuss it on the blog. I would like to think that the CCW had something to do with this very good news. 🙂

J.

Thanks to Insideman and the Swear All You Like blog for providing the press release.

Comments
  1. DeemarCCW says:

    I guess I’ll be buying more DC now.

    DC ain’t playing around no’mo Marvel had best well counter this or game over.

  2. kurumais says:

    i was very happy till i read the 20 pages thing i think 22 pages is kind of short now we get 2 pages less at the old prices they are trying to tell us we are getting a good but but we are getting less for the same but i guess its better then paying an extra buck for those 2 pages

  3. Venom829 says:

    DC is back, the GOOOD DC! 🙂

  4. Blanchard says:

    Have they made any announcements about what will happen to any unfinished co-features? I was looking forward to the stories by Jeff Lemire and Nick Spencer.

  5. Type of news you dont hear everyday. I hope this will make Marvel nervous enough to counter.

    • Insideman says:

      hackslash– Let me reword that:

      Type of news you NEVER hear ANYDAY. 🙂

      Comic books have NEVER gone down in price. Ever.

      • DeemarCCW says:

        What do you think made this change happen?

        • Insideman says:

          I know EXACTLY why it happened. I tweeted about it.
          The August sales figures came in and for the first time in the MODERN ERA of comics NO DC or MARVEL book sold 100,000 copies or more. No matter how popular– book sales were down across the board.

          It was an immediate repudiation of the price increase. I totally believe Lee and Didio (never thought I would type that) when they say that long time collectors were suddenly stopping collecting.

          It also didn’t help that this price increase came into effect because some bean counter at Marvel said he thought that we could be squeezed for an extra dollar… In other words, they raised the prices because they could… Not because they had to– to maintain a certain profit percentage, etc. It was just an arbitrary increase… No different then you walking into the supermarket tomorrow and find the prices of everything you want increased by a dollar each.

          Then you have to factor in raising the price by 33% in the middle of a Recession/Depression.

          There’s one word for that: Insanity

  6. Constantanius says:

    Wicked cool! Thank you DC!I always knew DC would realize $3.99 was a bad idea. It will be interesting to see what Marvel does now, although to be honest I don’t read a heck of a lot of Marvel books so whatever that douche Quesada does really won’t affect me much.

  7. TheRichestManinTown says:

    It’s stuff like this that makes DC my favorite publisher. This is the best news I’ve heard in a long time, IF ONLY I HAD SOMEWHERE I COULD BUY COMICS! My LCS that got shut down and was bought by a card shop. Know how I can buy comic books still?

    • kurumais says:

      but you are the richest man in town? cant you just buy the shop?

    • DeemarCCW says:

      Dreanland comics online buddy!

    • Insideman says:

      Richest… Check out http://dreamlandcomics.com/html/index.htm

      Besides being the shop where Jose works– they are great people and give great discounts as well.

      35% Off on comics and 40% Off on hardcovers and graphic novels.

      I sure as hell wouldn’t tout them they I do if they weren’t A-1 Straight.

    • Stamps says:

      DC is pulling me back Richest. Image took over for these last 6 months, but DC is trying to win my heart back.

      • TheRichestManinTown says:

        I just recently got into Image Comics. Although there still isn’t a lot of stuff by them that I like. Invincible, Chew, and Morning Glories okay but I’m more into stuff like Forgetless which seems to be more of Vertigo’s bread and butter. I don’t think of myself as a DC fanboy, I just don’t like Marvel. Every other comic publisher is awesome, except for Marvel.

        • tomstewdevine says:

          Hey man Marvel right now has better books than DC, I hope this gives DC a chance to raise the quality of there books because they need it. Don’t get me wrong I enjoy plenty of current DC books, but there is plenty of room for improvment when flagship titles like JSA or JLA are unreadable.

          • TheRichestManinTown says:

            I completely disagree with you. Marvel has been unreadable since Warren Ellis left the Thunderbolts. Worse than Marvel’s writing is the art, it borrows from Manga in the worst way possible way. It’s all gone down hill and I won’t have anything to do with it anymore. I even tried the new Deadpool during the Thunderbolts crossover but he’s been ruined now that he has two inner dialogue boxes. DC easily has better books than Marvel.

            • tomstewdevine says:

              DC has plenty of good books but if your not reading SHIELD, FF, Thunderbolts, Punisher Max then I definitely think you your missing out.

          • Stamps says:

            I used to be a HUGE JSA fan and the last 2 years or so has just been so bad that I give up on it about a year and a half ago.

  8. Matthew Guy (mguy1977) says:

    While I enjoyed Sts. of Gotham w/ more story, DC is pulling a classy movie here. Losing 2 story pages for is bad but it is better than a buck higher on a few titles for 22 pages of art/story.

    I am likely dropping (the not so) Amazing Spider-Man at the end of 2010; I will pick up another DC book in its place.

    DC 1 readers 1 Marvel still 0.

    Matthew

  9. kurumais says:

    i dont like that they are dropping the back up features this means less exposure for some fun c and d characters and more batbooks at 3 bucks

    • tomstewdevine says:

      That is a downside, but I still think it is worth it. They will find different avenues for those stories. We got to give props to DC for doing this.

  10. comicbookdude says:

    This is the best news I’ve heard all month. Looks like DiDio wanted to do one last act before switching his title as EIC. Looks like I’ll be able to try out Batman,Inc. In good conscious in a few months and I’ll be able to continue buying American Vampire! This is great news!!!

    DC: 1, Marvel: 0

  11. Insideman says:

    There is no fucking way I see this as anything but a positive.

    Kuru– if Marvel follows suit… All your books will be a dollar less. That’s brilliant.

    And you MUST BELIEVE this: If DC thinks they can make money off of publishing those BACK UP FEATURES as their own books– they will do it as QUICKLY AS POSSIBLE.

    If some of those back-up features are that well liked– they’ll be in their own books… No question!

    • kurumais says:

      inside i was just about to ask you how long it takes you to read a 22 page comic DOH lol
      then i remembered you are the king of trades but a 22 page comic goes real quick 2 pages less quicker they cut the price AFTER raising and then cut content
      we are giving up something

      • ed2962 says:

        You’re kinda right Kuru, but in away it’s like what happened to kids in the early 70’s. Comics used to be 15cents for 20 pages of story, then went up to 20/25 cents for 17 pages of story. However, Marvel started re-numbering the pages to include the ads and editoral content so it appeared you got 32 pages. I’m sure some of those kids were like “I got jipped!”

      • Insideman says:

        Kuru– I TOTALLY AGREE.

        We are giving up 2 pages on MOST books. Go back and read the press release again. Some of the licensed books should still be 22 pages.

        Course most people couldn’t give a shit about licensed comics… But I would much rather pay a dollar less for 2 less pages than a dollar more for two more pages.

        You know what I think? I think this is going to force some of these lazy writers and artists to CUT DOWN on the number of unnecessary splash pages that they create now to pad a Trade or Hardcover.

        And I’m all for that. I’ve seen enough unnecessary splash pages and 2 page splashes to last me a lifetime.

        And to answer your question– depends on the book. A 22 page comic might take just 15 to 20 minutes to read– tops…And the longer time is normally to savor the art if it is any good.

        • kurumais says:

          i dont like the precedent and i thought the total opposite about splash pages that they would eat up even more of the book i hope you are right and we see less of them

          any word on digital comic prices? for some freaking reason they seem on the increase i think i just read a buck twenty five

        • Morlock50 says:

          I really hope you’re right that there will be less splash pages and more story content, Inside. But I have a feeling that the DC writers have gotten used to streching a 3 issue story into 6 in order to sell more content for less, I mean, when was the last time you really felt like you got your moneys worth with a monthly DC comic anyway?

  12. Insideman says:

    Hey everybody– please go vote in my 3 NEW POLLS!

    They all have to do with DC’s price decrease:

    http://tiny.cc/rbb3l

    I am going to send the POLL results and comments to my friends at all the comic companies. Somebody will read the info.

  13. ed2962 says:

    Weather DC did this out of concern for the industry and fans or as a last ditch marketing move I think it’s great! I’ll definitely check out more DC comics I would’ve previously let pass due to budget issues.
    Just saw on Insideman’s blog where Marvel may be following suit. Didn’t they just say they had no choice but to raise prices cuz of production cost? Now they say they can lower them cuz the sales of their digital comics are great…say what now?

  14. megamanx4ever says:

    Man DC comics kicks ass! now if only Marvel would do the same thing… nah Joe Q and company are too fucking greedy.

  15. generaldark says:

    shit, i was going to tell you guys bout this…damn insideman got to beat me too it….:'(

    • Insideman says:

      Sorry general… I heard about it and started blogging immediately. It was fun.

      Good news travels just as fast as bad news.:-)

  16. Locusmortis says:

    I knew the companies would crack eventually, read just about any of my columns from the last year, I always said that the fans needed to keep the pressure on the companies whether it be by blogging, complaining or dropping titles.

  17. Stamps says:

    It’s not that I’m buying flat out more. If I’m debating on picking up a book or putting it back on the shelf there is a greater possibility I’ll give it a try now.

    I said this on Insideman’s blog earlier. (it’s here http://swearallyoulike.com/ go you’ll enjoy his site if you haven’t already) I’m really, REALLY happy about all this.
    For me this means I have more room on my pull list for…you guessed it….all those batman books coming out soon! 😛

    • Pobra says:

      i might just check out one or two of those bat books now 🙂

    • comicbookdude says:

      Stamps are you really going to be buying ALL of the Batman books? I’m thinking of checking out 4 of them:

      Detective Comics- When Snyder and Jock take over
      Batman and Robin- When Tomasi and Gleason take over
      Batman Inc.- When it goes down to $2.99. Might get the first couple issues for $3.99 though. Not sure yet.
      Batman Beyond- I grew up on this show as a kid. I cannot wait for this!

      If you are buying all of those books Stamps I don’t have a problem with that. Also I’ve been meaning to ask you: What’s your fav Batman story?

      • megamanx4ever says:

        same thing with Batman Beyond, I grew up with this show as well and I cant wait for the ongoing. 🙂

      • sai011 says:

        Yeah its going to be nice collecting batman beyond and static shock next year.

      • Stamps says:

        Maybe. My book buying choices always depend on what I see when I get my hands on it at the store.
        No to Outsiders for sure. I’ve never been a big fan of that book.

        My favorite Batman story has to be The Black Glove from Morrison and JH Williams.(and surprisingly Tony Daniel) SO SO SO good. I love the whole trapped on an mysterious island angle.

  18. Pobra says:

    http://www.comicbookresources.com/?page=article&id=28740

    apparently marvel has responded, better than nothing i guess.
    and all i have to say to DC… *clap, clap, clap* bravo, you’re back in my good books 😉

  19. tomstewdevine says:

    Holy shit, that is fucking awesome, now DC just has to step up and create some phenomenal comics.

  20. TheMSpot says:

    With the folding of the Wildstorm imprint their licensed books and select former DC characters from Vertigo will be making their way back to DC allowing them to expand the DC line. The 3.99 books going down to 2.99 is a good incentive, but they’re still going to flood the market just with books at a more reasonable price.

  21. Heck says:

    I might start buying monthlies again. Marvel better meet this soon. Joey Q ain’t going down like no chump though. I bet Marvel goes up to $4.99.

    It’s like Starbucks and Dunkin’ Donuts. Dunkin D’s is cheaper and has better product, BUT Starbucks uses it’s ‘brand’ to charge more for shittier coffee.

    DC and Marvel; Marvel is the ‘brand’… DC is the better product (at the moment).

  22. sai011 says:

    I am glad I stick with dc. Good thing I stop buying marvel comics a couple of years ago.

  23. IronMuskrat says:

    This is amazingly good news… Insideman is right, the price of comics books have ‘never’ gone down.. to have the price of anything go down down by a dollar is unprecedented. At least DC saw the writing on the wall and realized what comic book fans have known for some time now… $4 dollars is too much money for a fucking 32 page comic!

    I love American Vampire.. but guess what, I didn’t buy it this week because as an responsible adult(heh)I had to draw the line at some point. I bought just ‘one’ new book this week and it wasn’t from Marvel or DC, it was Lady Mechanika from Aspen comics, you know why I took the chance on that book? It was only $2.50! Money matters, no matter how loyal the fan, there comes a point where you open up your wallet and the voice inside your head says, “Wait a minute, what the fuck am I doing here?”

    As cool as it is that DC is lowering the price of there books is, I have to lose my mind for a second and go on a mini rant here..

    “Fuck you Marvel and DC, you lying, money grubbing bastards!All this time you kept telling the fans out there that you didn’t want to raise prices, but you had to meet the rising costs of making comics.. Well, now that you are lowering the price I can call you all a bunch of dirty, no good cocksuckers now, and don’t tell me about the financial hit you are going to take by doing this! You just lowered the price of your books by 25%! Back down to your original pricing. not 25 cents or 50 cents, but all the way back to $2.99.. So I guess the price hike was just an attempt to see just how much money you could squeeze out of the fans, so now that it didn’t work, your being all.. “hey Guys, we are lowering the price as a service to our fans! Aren’t we cool? ” No, your not cool, because if you really cared about he fans you wouldn’t have tried to gouge us like that in the first place! So yes, please lower the price of comics because its the right thing to do, but spare us the sanctimonious bullshit about listening to the fans, you fucked up by overpricing your books to make more money. The fans gave you a collective “kiss my Ass!” and you folded like a cheap lawn chair, because you knew you were full of shit from the start.”

    Whew! OK, calm down…. breath!

    Anyway, I am glad that sanity has been at least temporarily restored to the comic industry.

    IM

    • Bello says:

      It’s exactly what Jose and Elliot talked about on the video’s if fanboys want to make a statement stop buying books. By decreasing the sales of books particularly ones that were $3.99 both DC and Marvel will have to drop the prices if they hope to keep many of their books on the shelves.

    • kurumais says:

      thanks iron your rant is exactly how i feel

    • Pobra says:

      haha, well said IM 🙂
      i still think it’s great that prices are going down, but you’re right, if they weren’t losing money they would still be charging 3.99. They don’t give a flying fuck about the fans.

    • Morlock50 says:

      Honestly, this was what I was thinking too, IM. I felt for a long time like I was getting ripped off when all the books were at $2.99. I mean, with decompressed storytelling, pointless splash and double splash pages, shitty art on all but just a handful of titles by the big two, and superhero torture porn shock devices, they should be embarrased to sell these things at 3 bucks. Fuck, why can’t we go down to 1.99 if we’re being serious here. I guess I’m happy, but I just don’t feel like being grateful right now.

    • DeemarCCW says:

      Now that’s a goddamn RANT! 🙂

      Oh and I agree

  24. Bello says:

    I’m very happy about this. Particularly with books such as American Vampire since Stephen King’s backup story is now over without the backup the book should not of been $3.99. The back-up features were very cool, but I’m a broke student and the price cut really makes a difference and I believe it will encourage reserved readers to pick up some of the smaller books at DC they couldn’t afford since the bigger books were $3.99.

    Although I could really care less what Marvel does since I only read 3 marvel books. Coincedentally all 3 books are $3.99 (Scarlet, Secret Avengers, and Thor). I haven’t been happy with Marvel’s price gauging and the fact that most books I read for DC were already $2.99 that was the reason I chose to read DC over Marvel not to mention the fact that DC’s books are much better than Marvel sorry guys, but we all know it’s true.

  25. DidioForever says:

    Really happy about this

    Batman Inc was all set to be the first regular-sized $3.99 comic for me to grit my teeth through, and now I won’t have to…I’m f’ing RELIEVED!

    I always knew the full dollar price-hike was a load of shit – If it was due to cost/inflation then realistically we’d be looking at a 20c hike or something (Which we’re probably looking at happening soon anyway, as they’ve been £2.99 for nearly a decade, but I’d be okay with that)

    Could this be f’ing over any Indie companies who probably set all their budgets according to the price hike? Thank Marvel for that one, and all the f’ing dorks who were happy to pay that much for two years

    • Mike F says:

      But will the first few issues be 4 dollars? That’s still kinda annoying but yeah its a nice change.

      • DidioForever says:

        I think there’s only two issues until January 2011 anyway, so fair enough really.

        But damnit, I just realised the REAL problem from all of this – Grant Morrison will getting -2 pages to work with…Neeearrghh I need more than 20 pages a month of his Batman, and I know he usually needs more than that!

        Prepare for ridiculous decompression / channel zapping / blog-deciphering shenanigans

  26. TheMSpot says:

    I think this brings up another interesting question, Print vs Digital. With Marvel and Dark Horse(oddly enough) both reporting record sales in the digital market, what direction will the industry go? I’d like to think that the price drop only helps fans of print, but also gaining a new audience with digital, but that’s just my thoughts. Whats yours?

    • Stamps says:

      I think that eventually we might see the end of floppies and just TBP and HC in print with digital downloads of the same book available.

  27. DidioForever says:

    And maybe we should all stop calling it a “price drop”

    More of a “shit we gotta rethink this”

    Only a handful of 32 page books went up to $3.99 and most of them haven’t even made it onto the shelves at this point

    • DidioForever says:

      [edit]

      Shit, the real story is that DC are axeing 2 pages from their comics. That’s actually all that’s changing, and that’s BAD news surely? If Marvel stay the course they’re already on, their (albeit few) $2.99 comics will be far more value for money than ANY DC titles on the shelves…fuck!

      • DidioForever says:

        (I apologise for for the deafening sound of cogs turning in these though process posts here, I’m just a very slow individual)

  28. DeemarCCW says:

    For Venom and Avengers Assemble.

    Works in progress! 🙂
    http://deemar325.wordpress.com/

  29. C4RL0Z says:

    These are amzaingly great news, i meant it however what´s going to happen with the creators involved in creating a book? i mean those involved in creating a 22 page book which has lost 2 pages will be affected. WHat will happen? does anyone knows if they´ve stated their decision about it? i mean some artists have said they receive barely enough money to live and how will they be affected because of this cut in pages. Will DC increase the page rate in order to help artists and creators maintain their monthly income or will they ignore this and keep the page rates the same.???

  30. tomstewdevine says:

    So Jose when will we hear your answer?

  31. DidioForever says:

    I hate spalsh pages as much as the next guy but….JH Williams? I’m not saying Batwoman won’t be worth reading as a 20 page book, but damnit, surely we’ll be losing out on 2 pages of awesome shit?

Leave a Reply

