CCW Weekend Open Thread

Posted: October 8, 2010 in CCW Nation, CCW Open Thread

Comments
    • Dre says:

      Jose, would you happen to know how Raiden became the cyborg he is in MSG4 (have you played it)? Is it revealed in that game or does in happen in MGS2 (a game I have yet to play)?

      • They explained it a little in MGS4. The new Metal Gear: Rising game that comes out next year tells the story of what actually happened to Raiden and how he rescued Sunny from the Patriots.

        Rising will take place between MGS2 and MGS4.

        J.

  1. Insideman says:

    Good evening!

  2. comicbookdude says:

    What’s everybody up to tonight? Me I’m just surfing the interwebs on my phone and finishing of unread volumes of manga and thining down my stack of unread comic books.

  3. kurumais says:

    more japanese wacky goodness

  4. ed2962 says:

    Shameless self promotion http://edward2962-welluh.blogspot.com/ tell me how bad I fail at public speaking

  5. Morlock50 says:

    So, I’ve made a decision as a comic collector that I’m basically going to purchase comics based on the quality of the artwork alone. Fuck the story and dialouge! This is a visual medium, after all. That means Green Lantern is back on the pull list, and I’m ready to drop Wonder Woman for the first time in years if Don Kramer can’t get his act together and finish an issue without help.

    • DeemarCCW says:

      Insanity! Man art & written word go hand in hand.

      reconsider, no need encouraging the Tony Daniels of the world

      • Morlock50 says:

        I hate Tony Daniels, so no worries there. Although Teen Titans #88 may have my name on it at the end of the month.

    • so you’re going to start getting avengers even though bendis is shit but romita’s artwork is good this is insane i can’t begin to understand this logic you have dear God that’s a mad idea. But of course it’s your choice i think it’s crazy but it’s your choice.

    • Insideman says:

      Morlock, Are you really gonna do that… Or are you just trying to spark a discussion?:-P

      • DeemarCCW says:

        I think we know the answer. heh

      • dammit he got me curses foiled again!

      • Morlock50 says:

        Yup. I’m really doing this. (Although if it sparks a discussion, that’s fine too.)

        This was my pull list yesterday:

        Batman Oddessy #4
        Freedom Fighters #1
        Batman: Hidden Treasures
        Superman: Secret Origins #6
        DC Legacies #4

        I’m basically sticking with DC mainstream books for now. Hey, at least I didn’t buy Justice League.

        • Deemar says:

          If I had too follow art only, I’d buy nothing but Marvel.

          DC art wise ain’t got nothing on Marvel, I’m sorry Marvel my be the Evil Empire, but they got a murders row of artists. Plus they have a good track record of finding new artists.

          • Morlock50 says:

            You’re right, Marvel’s artists are better overall. But I’m a converted DC fanboy at this point. Plus Gary Frank, Nicola Scott, Doug Manke, and J.H. Williams are nothing to sneeze at, my friend.

    • Mike F says:

      I feel the same with SUPERIOR, Its Mark, so bad. But Its Leinil, so Maybe Good…….

      • Morlock50 says:

        Mike, we each have to decide what’s the best use of our dollars, especially in this economy. I tried Invincible, for example, but Ryan Ottley just wasn’t doing it for me, so I dropped it despite the fairly strong story by Kirkman. It also depends on what kind of art you like to see in a comic. I lean towards the Finch/Lee/Benes stylized superhero stuff, although I’ve grown to appreciate Amanda Connor too. Lastly, I really like the DC universe, so until Bendis or Millar switch sides, I don’t have to worry about supporting writers who most of us here feel are bringing down the storytelling medium.

        Of course, there is still Geoff Johns to contend with….

  6. Stamps says:

    So I need a new game for my XBOX. My birthday is next week and I know I’m getting Dead Rising II but Id like to get another game for when I get done with that one. Here’s what I was thinking about getting after Dead Rising II:

    Preordering “Call of Duty: Black Ops”
    Spiderman Shattered Dimensions
    Preordering Star Wars The Force Unleashed II
    Madden 11

    Suggestions?

    And no an option isn’t getting a PS3 Jose lol 😛

  7. Nick Spencer and Bernard Chang on Supergirl starting in January? I’m in but for the love of Kirby redesign that fucking terrible costume.

    J.

  8. Morlock50 says:

    Of course, I also liked the Astros uniforms from the 80’s, so my fashion sense may not make alot of sense.

  9. ed2962 says:

    Is it just me or does anyone else think the re-design of Howard the Duck is awful?
    http://www.comicsalliance.com/2010/10/01/spider-man-howard-the-duck-comic/

  10. PILKK90 says:

    anyone getting the force unleashed 2 at the end of the month. its looking pretty good

  11. MicahSkin says:

    HANDS OFF! MINE! MINE! MINE!

  12. Hey guys! I can read manga on my phone! And it’s free! Reading Black Lagoon right now. 🙂 I can also read 278(something like that) chapters of Gantz 🙂 Good reading times are ahead! This won’t stop me from buying the actual volumes though. Digital comics may be cool, but it will never beat holding the book in your hands.

  13. kurumais says:

    quick nycc report

    its seems this free hugs thing is big with cosplayers i saw about 12 girls and 2 guys today with free hug signs

    also gothic lotitas were running rampart

  14. Heck says:

    NYCC was pretty fun, other than the hard time walking.

    DC and Marvel were both pretty uneventful. Robinson on Hawkman? Boo to that.

    I got to talk to a gal who was dressed as Wonder Woman and looked 100% the part. She spoke to me in character and told me how hard life is fighting crime and getting taken seriously by fanboys.

    All in all fun Saturday!

  15. SmokeyClocks says:

    I”M DRUNK! and its my birthday (10/10/10) which means im the Antichrist plus 444

  16. Deemar says:

    I’m not afraid to say I am pissy, mutha fuckin tanked and drunk.

    If I stand up too fast it’s like I’m in a Ditko Dr.Strange comic

  17. tomstewdevine says:

    Even though around here we know newsarama sucks, I am happy they have a live feed of NYCCC, It’s fun the watch. I just saw a interview with Dan Slott and it sounds like he doesn’t like the way spidy and black cat interact together (like others here on the blog) and is getting rid of her in spidy’s life.

    • Mike F says:

      Yeah but being there man, kinda sucked. lol, it was just so crowded, and was easy to get tiring, BUT was still more fun than anything!

      • tomstewdevine says:

        Ya, it looked very busy, but I would have loved to be there. What was some of the cool things at this con: any really cool cos players, any great deals on comics, any sketches; meet any of your favorite creators?

        • tomstewdevine says:

          aaand I just looked below and saw who you met there.

        • Mike F says:

          Yeah it was great, but man, that crowd really made it hard to get thru. Like, I saw Lenil Yu and he was probably 20 feet away and it took at least 4 minutes to get to him, hah.

          But yeah, costumes were wild! I will try to post them for the CCW nation to see, I mite on Twitter…

  18. Mike F says:

    I’ve returned from NYCC and am happy to have meet Cliff Chiang, JMS, and Lenil Yu 🙂

    ALSO the Sushi Typhoon panel was epic, more sexy gore films on there way!

  19. megamanx4ever says:

    Has anyone seen the new Hell’s Kitchen yet? I dont know about you, but I think this season probably has the worst chefs, but I still think it is fun to watch.

    • comicbookdude says:

      Yes I am watching the new season of HK.As far as entertainment its one of the best seasons yet. As far as the chefs…well the video speaks for itself… I must admit that I did like watching Ramsay yell at Raj all the time. It seems like Fox has gone out of there way to get crap cooks on the show… you can almost tell that they’re trying to boost viewers so they can get more viewers… still a good show though.

  20. Insideman says:

    HUGE COMIC BOOK HARDCOVER & GRAPHIC NOVEL RELEASE WEEK!

    A big dump!

    http://wp.me/pZr1Y-1oe

    Where is all this stuff coming from? 🙂

  21. kurumais says:

    http://www.icv2.com/articles/news/18557.html

    95000 people went to new york comic con everyone says comics are dying but comic cons are getting bigger and bigger

    the article says 2900 press passes were issued it jut amazes me how much coverage comics get
    i know most of it is websites cbr, comic alliance newsrama weekly crisis etc sort of small mom and pop fanboy stuff it just amazes me how many blogs podcasts etc there are about comics

Leave a Reply

