CCW Open Thread

Posted: October 20, 2010 in CCW Nation, CCW Open Thread

Comments
  1. The Open Thread!!! What are all you guys doing tonight?

  2. agent42q says:

    So is does anyone think Squirrel Girl will get her own ongoing? (Here’s hoping for Loeb on writing and Leifeild on art, it’s a Golden Loeb winner for sure!)

  3. agent42q says:

    Wow, well I’ve had one too many, sorry only saw the typo through the drunk o vision while hitting send.

  4. I’m re-watching episodes of Thomas the Tank Engine and Shining Time Station (yes they are kids show, but I grew up with them) that are narrated by George Carlin. He was by far the best narrator on both shows.

  5. Venom829 says:

    New post. All you Grant Morrison fans here at CCW might wanna check this hot shit out:

    http://comicszone.wordpress.com/2010/10/18/grant-morrison-in-a-mcr-video/

  6. Venom829 says:

    I HAVE OFFICIALY AS OF YESTERDAY SWORN OFF MRVEL COMICS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I will soon make a post about this by the weekend!

  7. generaldark says:

    ok, i got a ps3. i traded in the 360. i got bayonetta, solid snake 4, fallout 3. i’ll get more soon but i think this is a good start. i love it more the the 360 so far especially the free online lol

  8. ed2962 says:

    I didn’t go to work today…

    still looking for that copy of PTA strike force #1

  9. kurumais says:

    did you see the marvel tron themed covers i think they look pretty good and are fun

  10. Mike F says:

    Today is “Wear Purple day: In honor of the all the gay teenagers who killed themselves from bullying”

    I’d recommend wearing purple. Being ridiculed is never fun, and to think that some people kill themselves over this is just such a sad thought.

  11. Blanchard says:

    I found this article over at Bleeding Cool

    http://www.bleedingcool.com/2010/10/20/numbercrunching-marvel-solicitations-from-december-to-january/

    Marvel is releasing fewer comics in January but there are still a ridicules number listed as $3.99. I thought the plan was to phase out 3.99?

    • Are there any Marvel titles confirmed that will have a price drop?

      • DidioForever says:

        I don’t think Marvel will drop the price of any existing titles, that’d be like Quesada saying “You Win Guyz” to DC. Ain’t gonna happen, no matter how many fans would appreciate the gesture.

        What I reckon could feasibly happen would be the gradual cancellation / relaunch / renumbering (yawn) of various titles in the future with the lower price tag

        And if they don’t even do *that much* to honour their fans, then they really are just a bunch of greedy scumbags who deserve to fail.

    • Deemar says:

      The plan is to appear like they phasing out $3.99 while simply pushing fewer books.

      • Blanchard says:

        That’s true, Marvel is pushing back the number of titles from 93 to 75 but that is still way too many comics. Of those 75 comics, 46 are 3.99. That’s only 10 less than DC entire line for January (which is still a pretty large number).

        It seems like Marvel thinks the only problem is that there are too many comics on the market, which I do agree with. But I think 3.99 per book is the bigger problem. As much as I love comics, 3.99 is just too expensive for a comic.

        I was wondering, do anyone know if the price increase in the floppies have affected the price of the trades?

        • Zorba_of_the_Morningstar says:

          You do know that DC is publishing a total of 84 books for Jan, right? Amazingly all but 5 seem to be 2.99. the (2) 3.99 books are 40p and the other (3) are retitled reprint DC Comics Presents’ books. They deserve credit for the pricing, but the “entire DC line” 56 books is misleading. DC amped up their game to publish as many or more books than Marvel after their editorial restructuring.

          • DidioForever says:

            I find it way easier to distinguish between what’s worth buying and what’s worth skipping with DC

            Plus a lot of those titles scheduled for Jan are one-shots, all at $2.99… I doubt they’ll be putting the same amount out each month. Even so, take ’em or leave ’em, but if you ask me it’s a nifty pull for new readers/jaded Marvel Zombie

            • Zorba_of_the_Morningstar says:

              Nov, Dec and now Jan have been pretty consistent in the amount of titles
              dc is publishing. You say “a lot of those titles are one-shots…I doubt they’ll be putting out the same amount each month” But the month before it was 5 Red one shots. DC will find books to publish every month to hit the number they want.

  12. Heck says:

    I’ve been wanting to see “It’s Kind of a Funny Story”.

  13. kurumais says:

    random stuff from around the web
    io9 has a report card for american made remakes of foreign horror movies

    tilting at windmills for oct 14 th about comic prices was interesting definitely brought up points i wouldnt have thought of

    gfest has a interesting premise on power girl what if she was asian? pulchritude abounds

  14. PILKK90 says:

    TOP COW DOESNT SUCK!!

  15. PILKK90 says:

    so where do people reckon wolfman will end up after his comic finishes? id like to see him join invincible if he survives or get a spin off with oliver and his tutor, think of the crazy adventures they could have.

  16. PILKK90 says:

    ninjas vs cowboys, who will win?

  17. Trailer to a French Movie which is actually based on the Eisner nominated Manga Books(2): A Distant Neighbourhood written by Jiro Taniguchi.

    Its about a middle-aged man that one day boards the wrong train and mysteriously transports back to time and relives his childhood as a 14 year old.

    There are plenty of easter eggs and hommages to comic related stuff(Moebius, Herge). Jiro(the writer) will make a cameo appearance just like Stan Lee does in the Marvel movies.

    I think i like it. Hopefully they will release the movie in a couple of months with subtitles. Maybe just maybe there is someone from the CCW that may like this too.

  18. Deemar says:

    New Deemar Do it! Do it!

    METAL GEAR JOSE

    http://deemar325.wordpress.com/

  19. Mike F says:

    I wish my local shop had more indie books… I can’t even find FORGETLESS :\

  20. 30daysofdarkness says:

    Ya know this has me excited for some reason. I know Dreamworks is pretty fail when compared to Pixar but still.

  21. DeemarCCW says:

    I need a raspberry beret

  22. TheMSpot says:

    I think I’ll join the purple people eaters.

  23. Mike F says:

    UNDERCOVERS by JJ ABRAM is alright. I’ve only seen one episode but so far it hasn’t been too bad…

  24. generaldark says:

    new B&R was sweeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeet plus i picked up torso, hope this book by bendis is good..

    • Hey I’m reading Torso as well! I’m almost done with it. Be prepared. Parts of it are pretty brutal and depressing and sometimes scary. Not saying it isn’t good, but just be aware that there are some disturbing scenes in it.

  25. comicbookdude says:

    I ended up not buying Hulk#26. Instead I bought Batman and Robin#13-15. I am glad I bought them because FINALLY things are starting to make sense! The Fraser Irving art matches the theme of Morrison’s writing.

  26. Mike F says:

    http://brianwood.tumblr.com/post/1362197442/for-my-retailer-friends

    Brian Wood is shaping up to be a favorite writer of mine… DMZ this week was very interesting. I enjoyed it more than almost all the mainstream books.

    • Then I highly recommend the FIRST trade of NORTHLANDERS (vertigo). You get a complete story and the cover price is only $9.99. I am not per se into history comics but this story was really entertaining.

  27. Deemar says:

    Ha!

    Hey Check this out!

    Bad Koalas! Elliot posted this on twitter.

    http://verybadkoalas.com/2010/10/06/episode-2/

  28. Morlock50 says:

    I was able to get all three Morning Glories issues and I just finished them. Holy Shit! This Spencer dude can write his fucking ass off! Anybody else blown away by issue #3?

  29. kurumais says:

    i am convinced the smart kid on no ordinary family is a rip off/copy/ clone of amadeus cho
    when ever he does super smarty things math equations light up on the screen just like when amadeus does in the comics
    which is cool because amadeus is the best new character at marvel since wolverine

  30. I am almost done with Batman of the Future#1! (my own Batman story for those of us not in the know) I’ll be done with it in about 30-45 minutes and if anyone is interested in reading it and giving me feedback just shoot me an email at: itsjustsomerandomgeek@gmail.com

    Thanks! No you may NOT steal my ideas 🙂 That would be rude.

  31. Bello says:

    been reading Ultimate Comics Spider-man and I’m watching Spectacular Spider-man and both of them have the Chamelean as Spider-man I don’t know how people feel about the Chamelean but personally I’ve never liked the character they do the same thing with him with everything I’ve seen.

  32. Heck says:

    http://www.comicbookresources.com/?page=article&id=28993

    “I’ve always wanted to diversify the DCU, but usually when I do it, James Robinson comes along and kills them all. [Laughs]”

    -Grant Morrison

  33. Venom829 says:

    So what were the top moments in this weeks comics CCW nation?

    • Haven’t finished them yet… I’ve only finished Kick-Ass 2#1 and B&R#13. I did like the scene in B&R#13 where Batman says he’s more worried for Joker than for Robin. I lol’ed.

  34. Matthew Guy (mguy1977) says:

    Marvel solicits came out yesterday & surprise no new ongoing comic at 3 bucks a pop. False promises & hot air from Marvel.

    Plus to add pain they are cancelling one of my favorite series, X-Men Forever 2 in January. That leaves only FF as the ONLY Marvel book I will pick in February.

    Matthew

    • TheMSpot says:

      I think one of the few things that interested me from those solicits was the Maberry Cap mini, and that was 2.99. So, I’ll be picking that up for sure.

  35. Skeemz says:

    I haven’t read this thread so forgive me for changing the subject. I’ve been watching you guys for months now and I must say….PLEASE GET SOME FORUMS! Maybe a decent site in general. Either way, you guys are awesome. So keep up the great reviews!

  36. I just ordered X’ed out at my lcs(that had troubles finding this comic in the database due to its name) and a hour later I think to myself: I am going to spend 20 bucks on a 56 pages comic book that is not even self-contained but a part of trilogy…hmmmm…well its Charles Burns…hmmm…thanks Insideman and Heck!

  37. vegedge says:

    anyone read batman and robin yet. holy shit i love this book.

    the reveals over the whole morrison run are so strange and out there but i find it greatt

  38. TheMSpot says:

    New segment: WAS IT WORTH IT? What comic book(s) did you buy this week that you thought was worth the 3.99 or over price tag, and why?

    • generaldark says:

      i thought carnage was great, the story was nice, spiderman was written well. the issues are coming out bi monthly so you wont have to waste 3.99 so fast.

  39. kurumais says:

    i read locke and key welcome to lovecraft last night pretty darn good and im not a horror fan
    i should have saved it for halloween

  40. Mike F says:

    The trailer is bad but the movie is amazing, and a wonderful choice for indie-flick Friday, in case anyone is looking for something new…

  41. kurumais says:

    anyone see RED?

    • DeemarCCW says:

      I think I’m gonna pass on RED.

      Helen Mirren boobage aside.

    • Heck says:

      Despite having Helen Mirren, Morgan Freeman, and Mary-Louise Parker the film just looks dull to me.

      Not a big Bruce Willis guy, and it just looks too slapstick for an adaption of a Warren Ellis comic.

      • Mike F says:

        Yeah, the minute I see its PG-13, I immediately know its not a Warren Ellis adaption. Its just more Hollywood. Altho, I’ll take RED over other Hollywood jokes…

  42. Matthew Guy (mguy1977) says:

    Part 2 of Last Rants coming soon???

    Thanks E & J for the update.

    Matthew

  43. Pobra says:

    makes me laugh every time, you just know there are so many idiots out there who actually think like this… parody at it’s finest. 🙂

    • Venom829 says:

      That would be funny if they asked the maple leafs to do that, and there response would be:”WE DON’T HAVE ANY!” lol, yeah that’s right Pobra, I’m attacking your undefeated maple leafs, WHOA! WAIT A MINUTE! THAT’S RIGHT! THEY LOST TO THE RANGERS LAST NITE!

      • Pobra says:

        😡 how dare you…

        just kidding, i’m so used to the leafs losing, that it really doesn’t phase me. It is nice to be behind a winning team for a change though.
        I meant to ask you before, who are you rooting for V?

        • Venom829 says:

          Pretty much any team that is Canadian, which is why I wanted the Blackhawks to beat the Flyers in last years cup final. I kind of like them now. If the leafs keep playing hard they should win their division, the only team that could pose a threat to them is Boston. The west is the badass place for NHL hockey for me at least, then again I live in central Canada, so the battle of Alberta is always awesome to enjoy, then again you have the battle of Ontario so that makes us even.

    • DeemarCCW says:

      Heh..

      this guy makes face muscles flex upward.

  44. Morlock50 says:

    Not a lot of responses from overnight. You guys are all mourning the Yankees losing to the Rangers like I am, eh?

  45. TheMSpot says:

    WTF? Where is everyone?

  46. Morlock50 says:

    Is there anybody out there?

    Is there anybody……out there?

  47. ed2962 says:

    The passion he puts into the Pokemon theme cracks me up. Also points for X-men.

  48. Pobra says:

    hey, have any of you guys seen this? For a fan made film it’s actually pretty good!
    I think Venom will dig it, Stamps too probably 🙂 Part 2 is up on youtube.

    • Morlock50 says:

      This is damn good for a fan made film. Looks like relatively high production costs.

    • Morlock50 says:

      Actually, the narrator makes a good point in the into about Arkham Asylum. They must have the absolute worst security of any mental health facility in comics. I understand there is some suspension of disbelief necessary with the Joker and co. constantly escaping, but I can’t believe that a facility with that lousy a track record would still be allowed to operate. Does anyone know if an attempt was made in the comics to address why AA is still used to house all the crazies?

      • kurumais says:

        i am with im done with arkam its been destroyed and rebuilt so many times plus everyone escapes how many staff members have been slaughtered its way over the top to believe even in a super hero comic

  49. kurumais says:

    philip tan draws a mean looking hawkman its up on bleeding cool if want to check it out
    he and james robinson will be doing a new hawkman series for dc
    i like hawkman comics

    • Morlock50 says:

      Is this the same hawkman who was killed in Blackest Night, or a new resurrected character? I always found that aspect of Hawkman/Hawkgirl to be confusing.

      • kurumais says:

        not sure im hoping its the current one carter hall but with the wackyness and dan didio and geoff johns being in love with the silver age maybe kartar comes back at the end of brighest day

  50. TheMSpot says:

    Since no one’s going to read this because everyone has gone missing: I’ll just say this, Joey Q(because I can’t say your name properly without my stomach turning), Jeph Loeb, Mark Millar, Brian Bendis (the superhero writer one), and Garth Ennis (I’ve never really been a fan of this guy so if your wondering how the fuck he got roped into this, well, there you go) where do you get off? There is a special level in comic book hell for the things you’ve done.

Leave a comment